Pro2 Extruder Clicking Without Filament

adahl5
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Sep 15, 2020 7:49 pm

Pro2 Extruder Clicking Without Filament

Postby adahl5 » Tue Sep 15, 2020 7:54 pm

Hello everyone, I have 2 Pro2's at my work, and currently both are having issues with an extruder clicking while both loading and unloading filament even when there is no filament in the extruder. My current theory is that there is broken off filament stuck below the filament sensor, but as this isn't my personal printer, I don't want to take apart the extruder without it having to be a last resort. If I do have to take apart the extruder, are there resources available to aid me with that? Thanks for your help!

Also, I will mention that both extruders were noted to be clicking when trying to work with PVA filament, so that might be something.

Markus64
Posts: 249
Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2020 4:57 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Pro2 Extruder Clicking Without Filament

Postby Markus64 » Wed Sep 16, 2020 7:07 am

I've had the same problem several times. After a factory reset everything worked again.

Online
User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 7291
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: Pro2 Extruder Clicking Without Filament

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Wed Sep 16, 2020 6:34 pm

Would you like to help confirm whether the issue happens on both left and right sides or only one side?

adahl5
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Sep 15, 2020 7:49 pm

Re: Pro2 Extruder Clicking Without Filament

Postby adahl5 » Fri Sep 18, 2020 2:04 am

The issue happens on the left side of both printers I believe.

Online
User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 7291
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: Pro2 Extruder Clicking Without Filament

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Fri Sep 18, 2020 9:22 pm

But if you only use right side to print, the result was fine?
Would you like to try to swap the hotend on left and right with each other and see whether the issue will change to the right side or not?

Blamejane
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2020 1:31 am

Re: Pro2 Extruder Clicking Without Filament

Postby Blamejane » Sun Oct 11, 2020 3:05 pm

I hear clicking on my new pro2 plus with the right extruder loaded with pva. Not sure if this is the same thing. Not sure if I should factory reset either?

Online
User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 7291
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: Pro2 Extruder Clicking Without Filament

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Tue Oct 13, 2020 2:01 am

Do you mean that it is clicking with the filament loaded or without it loaded? Also, could you provide a short video?

Blamejane
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2020 1:31 am

Re: Pro2 Extruder Clicking Without Filament

Postby Blamejane » Sat Oct 17, 2020 5:09 pm

Thanks Vicki, I figured out it was the pva breaking due to the cold environment where my printer is located. The filament would just bend and snap right of the spool. I dried the filament and warmed the room and the clicking/breaking stopped.


Return to “Pro2 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests