Installing a Timer

Topics around mechanical design, controller and electronics. Mods & hacks welcome.
Kobar
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2019 10:56 am

Installing a Timer

Postby Kobar » Tue Nov 12, 2019 11:09 am

Hello,
Our Raise is based in the university and I don't have access in the nights or weekends to turn the machine off.
We also can't use RaiseCloud for some reasons ...

I want to ask if it is a problem to use a timer which simply turns the machine off.
Since it doesn't have a shutdown process it should be okay shouldn't it?

Best wishes,
Matthias

Kobar
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2019 10:56 am

Re: Installing a Timer

Postby Kobar » Wed Jul 29, 2020 3:46 pm

*bump*

In case you didn't know what I exactly mean:

The missing term is "digital electric timer"

:)

Blue21
Posts: 66
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2020 8:04 am
Location: Switzerland

Re: Installing a Timer

Postby Blue21 » Wed Jul 29, 2020 9:58 pm

Maybe you should indicate what model of printer it is ? Mine is an E2 and I turn it on and off for the power distribution block it is connected, I cannot easily access power switch at the rear of the printer. Do sounds to me to be a problem, it is even able to recover in case of AC power loss during a print, up to now never has to test it.
E2 + Prusa Mini (soon) <- UM 2+ <- Replicator2

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 6973
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: Installing a Timer

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Thu Jul 30, 2020 12:15 am

Unfortunately, at this time there is no way to completly power off the machine for the Pro2 series. The E2 is equipped with a power saving feature that can power off the LED's and touchscreen.

Markus64
Posts: 163
Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2020 4:57 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Installing a Timer

Postby Markus64 » Thu Jul 30, 2020 4:07 am

There are switchable sockets or socket strips via WiFi. That could solve your problem.


Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests