switchable / dimmable LED-Strips

Please post your suggestions for hardware features
L_T
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2019 9:59 am

switchable / dimmable LED-Strips

Postby L_T » Mon Jun 17, 2019 10:09 am

Hello everyone,

we are using a Pro2 at work for a few month now. It is a quite nice experience to use the printer.

One feature we are missing is a function to switch off the LED-strips inside the build area.
While the camera is nice for remote controlling the printer, its quality isn't that great anyway, the further back area of the printing surface can hardly be seen as there are to many reflections from the LED-lights..
A Button to switch of the LED-Strips would be a nice thing, maybe even via remote control.

Greetings,

Lutz

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 5733
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: switchable / dimmable LED-Strips

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Mon Jun 17, 2019 7:26 pm

Thanks for your feedbacks. Will forward to developing team.
For the current Pro2 series printer, there is no available controllable ports for LED strips on motion board. Sorry for the inconvenience.

FreedomRules
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2018 4:34 pm

Re: switchable / dimmable LED-Strips

Postby FreedomRules » Tue Aug 27, 2019 5:53 pm

Wouldn't take much with something like an adjustable DC-DC buck converter to allow adjustment via a pot. All a buck converter does is allow you to control the DC output voltage from what the input is down to zero volts. You can get them on Amazon one ebay pretty cheap. One could take it a step further and just install a LED controller to adjust the brightness of the LED's. adafuit.com has a lot of LED control stuff. If your comfortable with Arduino it's pretty simple to use them to control LED's with an app even. If the Pro2 was still Marlin firmware you can use it to control LED's. Not sure if anyone has hacked the new Pro2 firmware as to what it is and make mods to it yet.


Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests