Page 1 of 2

Retraction Settings?

Posted: Wed Jul 18, 2018 2:41 pm
by dd4v3
Hello, I'm new here, just bought a Pro2.
I've installed IdeaMaker, loaded a model and started printing with default settings (Standard Profile, 0,20 mm layer).
The result is far from expected!
As you may see from pictures 20180714_074240.png and 20180714_073854.png (Orange MOAI) there is a lot of "extra material" on the layer junction.
It seems that when it stops printing the layer some extra filament gets droppoed and causes this behaviour.

I've raised the retraction speed (from 40mm/s to 50 mm/s) and set the *Retraction Material Amount* parameter to 1mm (was 1,5mm).
Once again the result is not what I expect from a Pro2.
See pictures 20180717_225217.jpg and 20180717_225225.jpg (White MOAI).

Can you please give me a hint on which parameter should I modify in order to get a perfect print?

Thank you, regards

DD4v3

Re: Retraction Settings?

Posted: Thu Jul 19, 2018 10:24 pm
by Vicky@Raise3D
Increasing the retraction amount and speed, decreasing the nozzle temperature a little may help.

And seems the dots are layer starting points. Changing their position to be close together or be random will make them not such clear to be found.

Re: Retraction Settings?

Posted: Fri Jul 20, 2018 6:37 am
by dd4v3
Thank's Vicky@Raise3D for answering.

As you may see I've raised the retraction speed (from 40mm/s to 50 mm/s) and set the *Retraction Material Amount* parameter to 1mm (was 1,5mm).

From your suggestion I understand I acted on the wrong way, as I've reduced the material amount (from 1,5 to 1 mm).

Shall I go with 2 mm or more, then?
Can this cause a clog in the extruder?

About retraction speed, I went from 40 to 50 mm/s. Shall I increase even more?

Thank you,

Re: Retraction Settings?

Posted: Fri Jul 20, 2018 9:55 pm
by Vicky@Raise3D
I will suggestion to increase once a little bit, like 5-10% more than last try to see whether it helps.

Re: Retraction Settings?

Posted: Tue Jul 31, 2018 5:20 pm
by dd4v3
Hello,
Just a quick update to let you know how things are going.

After having played a while with some parameters I've decided to contact Raise3D Support.
They suggested to modify Coasting Distance parameter,set it to 0.30 mm.
The first attempt didn't produce the quality expected.

I'm currently printing with right extruder in order to understand if it can be an extruder issue. I'm quite confident I can exclude it...

ATM I'm printing with:

55mm/s Retraction Speed
0,30 mm Coasing Distance
185 °C Right Extruder Temp
60 °C Bed Temp

using FormFutura EasyFil PLA, which has always behaved well with my previous custom made Delta.

I'll let you know as soon as the prin is finished.

Regards,

DD4v3

Re: Retraction Settings?

Posted: Tue Aug 07, 2018 3:31 pm
by Giubb
Hi,
were you able to fix that problem in the meantime? Because I have exactly the same problem with my brand new Pro2 Plus, so I was hoping to get the solution from you :-)
Thanks in advance!

Re: Retraction Settings?

Posted: Sun Feb 02, 2020 6:56 pm
by Michal80
Hi
I have exactly the same problem on my Raise Pro2. Did you find the reason? All information is priceless.
Regards.Image Image

Re: Retraction Settings?

Posted: Tue Feb 04, 2020 3:01 am
by Vicky@Raise3D
Michal80 wrote:Hi
I have exactly the same problem on my Raise Pro2. Did you find the reason? All information is priceless.
Regards.Image Image


What settings you are using to print these out? Have you tried default templates?

Re: Retraction Settings?

Posted: Fri Feb 07, 2020 3:12 pm
by Michal80
There are no effects on the default templates, despite many modifications of the effect is still bad Image Image Image Image Image Image

Re: Retraction Settings?

Posted: Fri Feb 07, 2020 7:35 pm
by Vicky@Raise3D
Please try decreasing nozzle temperature and increase retraction material ammount by 0.5mm.
And slow down restart speed under the extruder tab by 5 or 10mm/s and see whether the result is better or not.

Re: Retraction Settings?

Posted: Fri Feb 07, 2020 7:39 pm
by Michal80
I will check and let you know

Re: Retraction Settings?

Posted: Mon Feb 10, 2020 6:12 pm
by Michal80
The temperature lowered to 190 the amount of retraction material increased for each test more and more, the return speed decreased. The effect is miserable despite many shocks. I am running out of ideas. Image Image Image

Re: Retraction Settings?

Posted: Tue Feb 11, 2020 1:00 am
by Vicky@Raise3D
Do you have caliper can measure the thickness of the extruded filament?
Would you like to share us some pictures of nozzle tip from different direction?

Re: Retraction Settings?

Posted: Tue Feb 11, 2020 6:08 pm
by Michal80
Measured material coming out of the 0.50 nozzle at standstill. I printed the same effect on two other nozzles. On my other Anycubic i3 mega printer I released the model cut into ideamaker and the effect is the same as on Raise, the model cut into cura on Anycubic looks very good, the starting points of the layer are not visible.Image Image Image

Re: Retraction Settings?

Posted: Wed Feb 12, 2020 2:15 am
by Vicky@Raise3D
The issue can be possibly caused by the 3rd party nozzle you are using.
Do you have any Raise3D nozzle on hand to run some test prints with default settings to compare the result?

Re: Retraction Settings?

Posted: Wed Feb 12, 2020 7:23 pm
by Michal80
All test prints that I showed were made on the original nozzle, measured material on the Raise nozzle. The problem occurs on all types of nozzles. I don't know how to solve this problem, no idea. :cry:

Re: Retraction Settings?

Posted: Wed Feb 12, 2020 11:55 pm
by Vicky@Raise3D
We sliced a file for you. Would you like run test print with Raise3D 0.4mm nozzle and show us the result?

Re: Retraction Settings?

Posted: Thu Feb 13, 2020 6:27 pm
by Michal80
I printed the model and I think it is very good :) Please tell me where I am making a mistake what to do. I am still wondering how your settings would work on a model where we have idle movement. Can you send me this model? Print it on your settings. Good job.Image

Re: Retraction Settings?

Posted: Thu Feb 13, 2020 11:24 pm
by Vicky@Raise3D
Do you mean you want the STL file of this print?
Actually we just sliced it with default Pro2 1.75mm PLA High Quality templates. You can restore your settings back to default and try a slice for PLA print.

Re: Retraction Settings?

Posted: Fri Feb 14, 2020 8:35 am
by Michal80
That's how I mean this STL model. I will print my model on high quality. We'll see what the effect will be. I will send pictures.