Page 1 of 1

Extruder Offset X or Y??

Posted: Thu Dec 08, 2016 4:18 pm
by Omojesu
Can anyone explain what this means and how to adjust for it, thanks? ;)

Re: Extruder Offset X or Y??

Posted: Thu Dec 08, 2016 7:00 pm
by Billucas

Re: Extruder Offset X or Y??

Posted: Fri Dec 09, 2016 4:17 pm
by Vicky@Raise3D
That is for dual-extruder. For calibrating the distance between two nozzle.
ideaMaker thinks that the two nozzles have a distance of 25mm in X and 0 in Y by default. But every printer has a little different in nozzle position due to tolerance so that the real distance between two nozzles are not always (25,0). If the set distance is not the same as the real distance, when printing dual-extruder prints, gaps and overlapping will appear at the joint section of the two nozzle printed parts.
For find a perfect value for your printer, you need to do a calibration for dual-extruder. There are a lot choices for it on thingiverse. For example: http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:533814.
After you see the result of your dual calibration, adjust the X and Y offset in ideaMaker. Then apply one more calibration.
You may need to do several times to find out the perfect value.

Re: Extruder Offset X or Y??

Posted: Sat Dec 10, 2016 4:50 pm
by Omojesu
Hello and thanks for your help guys. Vicki your explanation is very clear.
I have attached photos of dual extrusion attempt:
Nos 1 and 3 are the dual extrusions showings gaps in the models; No 1 is of single extrusion with no gaps at all.
Looking at 1 and 3 arranged with X as horizontal and Y as vertical, it looks like both X and Y need adjustment???

Re: Extruder Offset X or Y??

Posted: Sat Dec 10, 2016 5:20 pm
by Vicky@Raise3D
Yes. Both X and Y needs adjustment. There are gaps in both vertical and horizontal directions.

Re: Extruder Offset X or Y??

Posted: Sat Dec 10, 2016 8:35 pm
by Omojesu
Thanks aplenty

Re: Extruder Offset X or Y??

Posted: Sat Dec 10, 2016 9:36 pm
by walshlg
BTW - use wipewall -> since those layers are supposed to line up on top of each other you can get a rough idea of offset error after just 2 layers- > to make it quicker I also start with the raft only 2 layers thick. To get the fine resolution, increase the Z scaling by 2x and print 100um layers at a printspeed of 20

Re: Extruder Offset X or Y??

Posted: Sat Dec 10, 2016 9:38 pm
by walshlg
also, I modified this object so the lower left corner is cutout. That helps figure out alignment when you go back a week later. Also keep notes on each alignment print
http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:1741265

Re: Extruder Offset X or Y??

Posted: Tue Dec 13, 2016 4:25 pm
by Omojesu
Thanks walshlg!

Re: Extruder Offset X or Y??

Posted: Fri Dec 28, 2018 5:45 pm
by bcindustrias.com.mx
Regards

I have a problem this is the same way due to the compensation? :shock:

pro 2 plus 3d printer

Re: Extruder Offset X or Y??

Posted: Fri Dec 28, 2018 8:02 pm
by Vicky@Raise3D
Please advise whether your printer is a N series printer or Pro2 series.
Please check whether the XY offset in your touchscreen has been set or not. It under More Settings -> Hardware -> Extruders.