Can't use full build volume of the N2+

Topics around mechanical design, controller and electronics. Mods & hacks welcome.
LonV
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2016 8:55 pm

Can't use full build volume of the N2+

Postby LonV » Sat Apr 02, 2016 12:20 am

Hey guys, trying to print something that takes up the whole build volume (x and y) and I'm running into trouble. Center in ideaMaker is not centered on the printer, which causes the printer to print weirdly where it runs into the min X. See these pics (not sure why the uploaded upside down):

This shows the whole bed and the raft should be 4 squares of equal size:

IMG_0388.JPG


This shows a good square:

IMG_0390.JPG


This shows how it's mushed the left square and is dumping more material where it thinks it needs to print but can't go any further because we're at X 0 (zero).

IMG_0389.JPG

MikeWall
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2016 4:35 pm
Location: Las Vegas, NV

Re: Can't use full build volume of the N2+

Postby MikeWall » Sat Apr 02, 2016 3:59 pm

I believe. You have a duel head printer, which reduces the X print area by 25mm. 50mm if printing with both extruders...I think.
N2 KS-Raise3d'er

Zettlinger
Posts: 412
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2016 11:48 am
Location: Roosendaal, Netherlands

Re: Can't use full build volume of the N2+

Postby Zettlinger » Sat Apr 02, 2016 7:36 pm

Yes dual extruder has 280x305x608 (with V2 and 610 with V1 )

User avatar
jmp
Posts: 215
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2016 12:20 pm

Re: Can't use full build volume of the N2+

Postby jmp » Sun Apr 03, 2016 12:29 am

Zettlinger wrote:Yes dual extruder has 280x305x608 (with V2 and 610 with V1 )

I don't believe that is true. Raise 3d has insisted on 305x305 for the dual extruder and I have printed items on my dual extruder that were 305 wide. This was an item I was very particular about in the kickstarter phase.
RL Name: Jason Preuss Thingiverse: JMP Youtube:http://youtube.com/c/patterntoprint Website: http://www.patterntoprint.com

Zettlinger
Posts: 412
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2016 11:48 am
Location: Roosendaal, Netherlands

Re: Can't use full build volume of the N2+

Postby Zettlinger » Sun Apr 03, 2016 12:43 am

the dual extruder will have 25 mm less room as far as i know (spacing between the 2 nozzles) .

john or derek will probably chime in a bit later and give you the definite answer but for now i hold to 280x305 (x-y) for the dual :)

Zettlinger
Posts: 412
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2016 11:48 am
Location: Roosendaal, Netherlands

Re: Can't use full build volume of the N2+

Postby Zettlinger » Sun Apr 03, 2016 12:48 am

official statement from edward on kickstarter comments oct 25, 2015 :

Single extrusion vs. dual extrusion print volume for each model of the N-Series
N1:
Single - 205mm*205mm*205mm
Dual - 180mm*205mm*205mm
N2:
Single - 305mm*305mm*305mm
Dual - 280mm*305mm*305mm
N2 Plus:
Single - 305mm*305mm*610mm
Dual - 280mm*305mm*610mm


With V2 extruder you might lose max 2 mm in height

User avatar
jmp
Posts: 215
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2016 12:20 pm

Re: Can't use full build volume of the N2+

Postby jmp » Sun Apr 03, 2016 10:19 am

I think you are confusing 2 different things. He is not doing a dual extrusion print, he is doing a single extrusion print on a double extrusion printer.
From the kickstarter comments
----------------------------------
Edward@Raise3D on October 24

@Jason Preuss
Space is only lost for dual extrusion prints and only in the X-Axis. We describe our dual extruder system as a compact dual extruder because the space between the nozzles is 25mm (0.97 in.) The reduction in build volume in the X for a dual extrusion print is 25mm (0.98 in.). The average dual extruder system has a 40mm or greater spacing between the nozzles which causes a 40mm (1.57 in.) reduction in build volume.

Single extrusion vs. dual extrusion print volume for each model of the N-Series
N1:
Single - 205mm*205mm*205mm
Dual - 180mm*205mm*205mm

N2:
Single - 305mm*305mm*305mm
Dual - 280mm*305mm*305mm

N2 Plus:
Single - 305mm*305mm*610mm
Dual - 280mm*305mm*610mm
RL Name: Jason Preuss Thingiverse: JMP Youtube:http://youtube.com/c/patterntoprint Website: http://www.patterntoprint.com

User avatar
Trhuster
Posts: 394
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 6:01 am
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Can't use full build volume of the N2+

Postby Trhuster » Sun Apr 03, 2016 10:33 am

I have to agree with Jason. If you only print with one extruder it should be able to do 305mm in X-Axis.

Zettlinger
Posts: 412
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2016 11:48 am
Location: Roosendaal, Netherlands

Re: Can't use full build volume of the N2+

Postby Zettlinger » Sun Apr 03, 2016 12:51 pm

i will gladly stand corrected if Derek or John can tell us , i too would love the extra 25 mm to print if its possible with one extruder....

User avatar
Derek@Raise3D
Site Admin
Posts: 138
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2016 5:34 am

Re: Can't use full build volume of the N2+

Postby Derek@Raise3D » Sun Apr 03, 2016 1:46 pm

LonV wrote:Hey guys, trying to print something that takes up the whole build volume (x and y) and I'm running into trouble. Center in ideaMaker is not centered on the printer, which causes the printer to print weirdly where it runs into the min X. See these pics (not sure why the uploaded upside down):

This shows the whole bed and the raft should be 4 squares of equal size:

IMG_0388.JPG


This shows a good square:

IMG_0390.JPG


This shows how it's mushed the left square and is dumping more material where it thinks it needs to print but can't go any further because we're at X 0 (zero).

IMG_0389.JPG


Even if you're using the dualhead setup, you can still get a full 305mm width when you're printing with a single head. If you're using two separately, you will lose 25mm build width.
=================
Derek@Raise3D.com
I'm a lazy engineer. So I want everything automated.
Image

User avatar
Derek@Raise3D
Site Admin
Posts: 138
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2016 5:34 am

Re: Can't use full build volume of the N2+

Postby Derek@Raise3D » Sun Apr 03, 2016 1:54 pm

LonV wrote:Hey guys, trying to print something that takes up the whole build volume (x and y) and I'm running into trouble. Center in ideaMaker is not centered on the printer, which causes the printer to print weirdly where it runs into the min X. See these pics (not sure why the uploaded upside down):

This shows the whole bed and the raft should be 4 squares of equal size:

IMG_0388.JPG


This shows a good square:

IMG_0390.JPG


This shows how it's mushed the left square and is dumping more material where it thinks it needs to print but can't go any further because we're at X 0 (zero).

IMG_0389.JPG


I have to dig it up a little bit later, maybe a small bug on raft. Raft is bigger than the print area, so it may comes offline.
=================
Derek@Raise3D.com
I'm a lazy engineer. So I want everything automated.
Image

Zettlinger
Posts: 412
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2016 11:48 am
Location: Roosendaal, Netherlands

Re: Can't use full build volume of the N2+

Postby Zettlinger » Sun Apr 03, 2016 3:31 pm

Thank you for the info Derek, i was in the assumption that even when using only one head you would lose the build room. Good to know that if i only extrude from one i can still use 305x305 :)

LonV
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2016 8:55 pm

Re: Can't use full build volume of the N2+

Postby LonV » Mon Apr 04, 2016 1:23 am

I think the problem lies within the fact that in ideaMaker when max the build volume and the part is centered, that that center doesn't translate to the printer. The printers "center" is offset to the left.

Behold
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2017 3:59 am

Re: Can't use full build volume of the N2+

Postby Behold » Fri Mar 16, 2018 12:47 pm

What did you find out about the issue? Was it raft related?

zemlin
Posts: 527
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2017 2:02 pm

Re: Can't use full build volume of the N2+

Postby zemlin » Fri Mar 16, 2018 8:57 pm

Behold wrote:What did you find out about the issue? Was it raft related?

Are you having an issue? I have printed a circular part just a touch under 12" diameter.


Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests