offset y layer consistent & repeatable

Topics around mechanical design, controller and electronics. Mods & hacks welcome.
stewart
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Dec 08, 2017 2:17 am

offset y layer consistent & repeatable

Postby stewart » Sun Dec 10, 2017 8:35 pm

I have a simple model that I've tried to print a couple of times. On the 4th layer, the y axis shifts as if it's missing a move. The gcode is correct, so it's clearly something in the way the printer is interpreting it (or dropping instructions). Has anyone had a similar experience or found a workaround?
Attachments
box-bottom-causes-y-skip-layer-8.gcode.zip
repeatable example
(603.63 KiB) Downloaded 105 times
IMG_4816.JPG
IMG_4817.JPG
IMG_4818.JPG

Tinkerer
Posts: 176
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2017 8:30 pm
Location: Germany

Re: offset y layer consistent & repeatable

Postby Tinkerer » Sun Dec 10, 2017 11:23 pm

In the first picture I can see a shift in layer 7.

If that always happens at the same height, with the same amount of offset, that might be a mechanical thing.


What I know from my own experience with the N2:
- the stepper motor drivers can be causing shifts/lost steps
- the mechanical construction of the N2 is prone to misalignments and consequent errors
- the support will always assume it is a nozzle hit;-)
...there's nothing like the smell of fresh ABS in the morning...

stewart
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Dec 08, 2017 2:17 am

Re: offset y layer consistent & repeatable

Postby stewart » Sun Dec 10, 2017 11:29 pm

It hasn't happened in any other models. Just this one. So it's not mechanical at that Z offset. It's likely a software skip. Thus the sample file that someone else should be able to repeat (support?) on their N2 ...

Tinkerer
Posts: 176
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2017 8:30 pm
Location: Germany

Re: offset y layer consistent & repeatable

Postby Tinkerer » Mon Dec 11, 2017 12:30 am

My N2 would not be a good reference here, since it is buggy as hell...;-)
...there's nothing like the smell of fresh ABS in the morning...

User avatar
Michael.P@Raise3D
Posts: 225
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2016 4:51 pm
Location: Costa Mesa
Contact:

Re: offset y layer consistent & repeatable

Postby Michael.P@Raise3D » Mon Dec 11, 2017 7:04 pm

Hi Stewart,

If it is on the same model every time you print but not on any other models then it might just be a software hiccup. Try reslicing the model, I tend to give the part an angle of 15* in x/y to change the pattern of the slice. In the past this helped remove the hiccup in the slice.

@Tinkerer, come on man, we dont always assume it is a nozzle hit on the supports!
Michael Petitclerc, Technician
Tel: +888 963 9028
Web: http://www.raise3d.com

Tinkerer
Posts: 176
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2017 8:30 pm
Location: Germany

Re: offset y layer consistent & repeatable

Postby Tinkerer » Mon Dec 11, 2017 7:32 pm

Michael,
I apologize for my grim sense of humor;-)
...there's nothing like the smell of fresh ABS in the morning...

stewart
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Dec 08, 2017 2:17 am

Re: offset y layer consistent & repeatable

Postby stewart » Tue Dec 19, 2017 8:54 pm

Michael.P@Raise3D wrote:Hi Stewart,

If it is on the same model every time you print but not on any other models then it might just be a software hiccup. Try reslicing the model, I tend to give the part an angle of 15* in x/y to change the pattern of the slice. In the past this helped remove the hiccup in the slice.

@Tinkerer, come on man, we dont always assume it is a nozzle hit on the supports!


Yes, it is a software bug *in the printer*. I've resliced it with different settings and it works. The gcode generated both times was fine.

User avatar
Michael.P@Raise3D
Posts: 225
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2016 4:51 pm
Location: Costa Mesa
Contact:

Re: offset y layer consistent & repeatable

Postby Michael.P@Raise3D » Tue Dec 19, 2017 10:05 pm

All good Stewart, lets keep the good prints rolling. If you find anything else along those lines that can shed some more light on the issue from before please update us.
Michael Petitclerc, Technician
Tel: +888 963 9028
Web: http://www.raise3d.com

stewart
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Dec 08, 2017 2:17 am

Re: offset y layer consistent & repeatable

Postby stewart » Tue Dec 19, 2017 10:16 pm

Michael.P@Raise3D wrote:All good Stewart, lets keep the good prints rolling. If you find anything else along those lines that can shed some more light on the issue from before please update us.


I would like it if you tried this on one of your printers. It should fail early in the print (per the pics). Then your dev team would have a bug that's easily reproducible.

User avatar
Michael.P@Raise3D
Posts: 225
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2016 4:51 pm
Location: Costa Mesa
Contact:

Re: offset y layer consistent & repeatable

Postby Michael.P@Raise3D » Tue Dec 19, 2017 11:11 pm

Sounds good, toss me a file at me email michael.p@raise3d.com
Michael Petitclerc, Technician
Tel: +888 963 9028
Web: http://www.raise3d.com

stewart
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Dec 08, 2017 2:17 am

Re: offset y layer consistent & repeatable

Postby stewart » Tue Dec 19, 2017 11:20 pm

Michael.P@Raise3D wrote:Sounds good, toss me a file at me email michael.p@raise3d.com


It's attached to my first post


Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests