N2 Y Axis not working

Topics around mechanical design, controller and electronics. Mods & hacks welcome.
pearson222
Posts: 69
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2017 2:14 pm

N2 Y Axis not working

Postby pearson222 » Tue Mar 10, 2020 5:30 pm

Hi there -

I have a weird issue where my Y axis stopped working. I have replaced the Main Board, ALL stepper drivers and the motor itself - still nothing. I get no errors or anything to aid in diagnosis. Any suggestions?

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 6464
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: N2 Y Axis not working

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Tue Mar 10, 2020 9:53 pm

Have you tried to swap the drivers on X and Y?
If the motors are enabled, are you still able to move the extruder in Y direction?

pearson222
Posts: 69
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2017 2:14 pm

Re: N2 Y Axis not working

Postby pearson222 » Mon Mar 23, 2020 10:46 pm

Vicky@Raise3D wrote:Have you tried to swap the drivers on X and Y?
If the motors are enabled, are you still able to move the extruder in Y direction?


Yes, the extruders/gantry move freely in both axis with the motors disabled. This is not a mechanical issue. When jog or home commands are given through the touchscreen the Y axis is totally unresponsive. The homing process will only move the X and Z axis. I am wondering if something has shorted out in the system that I have not already replaced.

I have already replaced: main motion controller board, ALL stepper drivers, Y axis motor.

zemlin
Posts: 480
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2017 2:02 pm

Re: N2 Y Axis not working

Postby zemlin » Tue Mar 24, 2020 12:57 am

How 'bout if you swap X and Y motor cables on the controller board. It could be a wiring issue. You won't want to let an axis plow into the limit switch, but you could start a home from the middle of the bed and quickly kill power when things start moving.

If you swap cables and Y doesn't move while X does, then it's probably the wiring to the motor - not likely the motor since you've already replaced that. If Y does move and X doesn't, then it's something prior to the motor cables.

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 6464
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: N2 Y Axis not working

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Tue Mar 24, 2020 11:25 pm

Would you like to share some pictures of your motion board? We are thinking about whether the issue is related to endstop or not.

pearson222
Posts: 69
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2017 2:14 pm

Re: N2 Y Axis not working

Postby pearson222 » Thu Apr 16, 2020 9:01 pm

Vicky@Raise3D wrote:Would you like to share some pictures of your motion board? We are thinking about whether the issue is related to endstop or not.


I will take some pictures of the motion board tomorrow and pass them along. The motion board is a brand new replacement from Raise3D that I had in our backup/spare parts storage. I double-checked that all inputs were in their correct places by referencing our other N2's motion board.

zemlin wrote:How 'bout if you swap X and Y motor cables on the controller board. It could be a wiring issue.


I gave that a try and still got no response from the Y-axis. It's suspicious that the Y-axis stopped working immediately after a coworker had checked the X and Y stepper drivers voltage with a multimeter... That is why I am wondering if there could be any other components affected if something shorted out at the motion board. I have seen shorts occur when a multimeter is set on an incorrect setting before and am thinking that might be the case here.

I wish I knew how to tag Jetguy as he would be wonderful resource to help troubleshoot this.

zemlin
Posts: 480
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2017 2:02 pm

Re: N2 Y Axis not working

Postby zemlin » Fri Apr 17, 2020 1:56 am

pearson222 wrote:
zemlin wrote:How 'bout if you swap X and Y motor cables on the controller board. It could be a wiring issue.

I gave that a try and still got no response from the Y-axis.


Can you clarify? You swapped the X and Y motor cables on the controller board.
You say no response from the Y axis - do you mean the MOTOR on the Y axis (which now would have been connected to the X axis output), or the Y axis output on the board - which was connected to the X axis motor?

Jetguy
Posts: 2989
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 1:40 am
Location: In a van, down by the river

Re: N2 Y Axis not working

Postby Jetguy » Fri Apr 17, 2020 1:59 pm

Just joining in on this since you asked.
I'm kind of at a loss trying to fix this remotely.

My first guess, the stepper driver is blown. They are fragile.
Second this is, you cannot and should not JUST go by where the potentiometer is on the stepper driver for orientation.
We just had someone blow yet another mainboard and all stepper drivers for that exact mistake when new stepper drivers didn't match original ones. I can't solve how to tell you the orientation, it's different for every stepper driver. I need pictures and details.

No pictures, we are just flapping in the wind trying to guess what is going on.
And Zemlin had a very good troubleshooting suggestion, so what's the status on that test? Good, not good, don't understand?
Where's a meter in all this to check at the stepper cable unplugged from the mainboard, basic 2 coil test for continuity. Pins 1-2 and 3-4 should show continuity to and THROUGH the motor coils. No continuity between 1-4, 2-4, 1-3, 2-3.

Again, you replaced the Y axis motor. Not smart IMO, unless I tested and 100% knew the OLD motor was damaged.
The new motor might have a different pinout and thus not be making the required correct connections and we are chasing tail for no good reason. Stepper motors rarely go bad. In fact, most bad ones are fixable. One moving part, no moving electrical connection, it's just 2 coils of wire and a connector. So replacing one just because it doesn't work is insane to me. Know why it doesn't work before spending $$.
Second part is, over time, Raise 3d like most manufacturers, didn't sole source components, so replacements might not exactly match between batches. They don't tell you this and gladly sell you the part. I'm also not impressed with their tech support who does try but ultimately they don't know when we get into some of these.

Like any 3 part system, we have to start somewhere and walk it through. Either start at the motor, do proper continuity coil tests and then the wiring harness and then, at the mainboard, if we have one known channel that works- say X, we know the motor checks out, the cable checks out, it should work in the channel driven by the known working driver. Then via process of elimination the other Y channel driver can be validated to be dead or alive. But again, caution on the replacement- do not assume anything as far as orientation. Pictures before power on for us to double check you.


Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests