Bltouch on Raise3d

Topics around mechanical design, controller and electronics. Mods & hacks welcome.
sylus
Posts: 108
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2016 9:47 pm

Re: Bltouch on Raise3d

Postby sylus » Mon Nov 27, 2017 12:25 pm

awegavrn wrote:Hi.
Set Bltouch on Raise3D N2 Dual strictly according to instructions. The sensor works, the printer prints. But sensor works weird. Every time you have to put a new Z-offset. Same file the printer prints different from the first layer. In different corners of the table as the first layer is also different. Little bit helps restart the printer, the first measurement of the table is the most accurate. Starting to regret installing this sensor.
Please tell me what I did wrong and how to fix it.

Did you activate eeprom?to set offset I recommande you to attach an reprap discount LCD to manage it until Raise3D implement it in Raisetouch.

awegavrn
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Sep 14, 2017 4:07 am

Re: Bltouch on Raise3d

Postby awegavrn » Mon Nov 27, 2017 12:30 pm

Hi.
I installed the firmware from the support BLTouch. If it is enabled in the EEPROM it should work for me. The firmware is closed, I cannot edit it. This firmware with this theme, if it works for others it should work for me. I didn't do anything different from the instructions.

Tim
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2017 3:26 pm

Re: Bltouch on Raise3d

Postby Tim » Fri Dec 15, 2017 3:39 pm

sylus wrote:Firmware was an moded offcial github Raise3D marlin.
It include:
-Disable reversing Z enstop
- Activation of servo driving (M280)
-Activation of auto bed leveling and safe homing (set to grid 5 points per line:20 points)
-Setting of Z offset (M851)
-Setting of probe offsets from the left noozzle
-Activation of eeprom (memory storing value override firmware original setting eg Z offset)

An separated start gcode is required to implement probe safe mangment and autocalibration before each print)

For wiring
Brown (G) and Red (5v) plug into 5v pin (picture 3)

Orange (S) plug into the 3rd EXP3 pin from the top to the bottom on the right (picture 2)
Black an White in the Z- connector (picture 1)


Hey Sylus,

would you please tell me which wire of the Bltouch (the black and the white one) connects to which Z- pin of the controller board? I was wondering if that matters or not, so i stopped the wiring for now.
Thank you so much for your instructions, I appreciate that.

sylus
Posts: 108
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2016 9:47 pm

Re: Bltouch on Raise3d

Postby sylus » Sun Dec 17, 2017 8:02 pm

As the motherboard installed Z min pin is down and ground up

Hapsis
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2017 2:27 pm

Re: Bltouch on Raise3d

Postby Hapsis » Tue Dec 19, 2017 2:34 pm

Can someone send me his fff file, because i install the btc but when i start printing my endstops break? My printer is n2+

Raess
Posts: 150
Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2017 8:35 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Bltouch on Raise3d

Postby Raess » Fri Jan 05, 2018 9:22 am

Have a BLTouch laying around at home.
Would You guys recommed to install it?
Is it working good on the printer?

I have been reading though the topic and can someone please provide a better step by step guide for this installation? ;-)
Follow the construction of the Valify robot lawnmower [http://valify.se]

Raess
Posts: 150
Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2017 8:35 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Bltouch on Raise3d

Postby Raess » Mon Jan 08, 2018 11:07 pm

Never mind I figured it out. ;-)
It took around 4 hours to get it installed, doing the cabling in a nice way was the most time consuming. I have some finishing touches left and the Z-offset.
Attachments
385A0268-B996-4A5D-B453-F086D636993E.jpeg
9F05017B-2EDB-456F-9507-4B2CE5F27D69.jpeg
C308E679-6BB0-4093-B6A3-69D727676CB6.jpeg
Last edited by Raess on Tue Jan 09, 2018 5:02 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Follow the construction of the Valify robot lawnmower [http://valify.se]

Raess
Posts: 150
Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2017 8:35 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Bltouch on Raise3d

Postby Raess » Mon Jan 08, 2018 11:14 pm

34364F2D-39C5-4C70-B663-197BB5C1DFDD.jpeg
9CD15FD6-55F7-454D-84B5-96192AB65A40.jpeg
Follow the construction of the Valify robot lawnmower [http://valify.se]

bobs737
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2018 11:44 pm

Re: Bltouch on Raise3d

Postby bobs737 » Tue Feb 06, 2018 1:46 pm

Hi, would it be possible for you to put together something that explains how to set up the BLtouch with the Raise3d N2? I'm afraid to try anything based on what I have read so far.

Thanks

bobs737
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2018 11:44 pm

Re: Bltouch on Raise3d

Postby bobs737 » Tue Feb 06, 2018 6:01 pm

Hi, I wonder if you could explain the code changes you need to make since I am not clear on what folks did and I'm afraid I'll damage something.

Thanks

newraiseuser
Posts: 108
Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2018 2:58 am

Re: Bltouch on Raise3d

Postby newraiseuser » Sun Mar 04, 2018 2:25 am

Hello, is this a 3rd party add-on to allow auto-leveling? Does it work well?

jvingaard
Posts: 56
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2016 10:01 am

Re: Bltouch on Raise3d

Postby jvingaard » Mon May 07, 2018 7:21 pm

Is the v1.1.6-rev1 source code with BLtouch available anywhere?

Phife
Posts: 77
Joined: Thu May 12, 2016 3:47 pm

Re: Bltouch on Raise3d

Postby Phife » Mon May 07, 2018 7:44 pm

jvingaard wrote:Is the v1.1.6-rev1 source code with BLtouch available anywhere?

Should be here,
https://github.com/ABH10/Marlin-for-Rai ... 3D_BLTouch

jvingaard
Posts: 56
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2016 10:01 am

Re: Bltouch on Raise3d

Postby jvingaard » Mon May 07, 2018 7:59 pm

Phife wrote:
jvingaard wrote:Is the v1.1.6-rev1 source code with BLtouch available anywhere?

Should be here,
https://github.com/ABH10/Marlin-for-Rai ... 3D_BLTouch


Many thanks. :-)

JK_TechCom
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 3:06 pm

Re: Bltouch on Raise3d

Postby JK_TechCom » Thu Nov 08, 2018 3:20 pm

Hello All,

I modded the config file from ABH 1.1.8 BLTouch build and now one of my programmable fan ports is not sending power to the pins? Any tips?

JK_TechCom
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 3:06 pm

Re: Bltouch on Raise3d

Postby JK_TechCom » Wed Nov 28, 2018 7:07 pm

Has anyone figured out the pause resume feature yet for resuming print and power failures?

User avatar
jetdillo
Posts: 212
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 5:10 am

Re: Bltouch on Raise3d

Postby jetdillo » Wed May 27, 2020 5:31 pm

So, from reading this, it looks like I have to give up the Z-Home endstop detector in order to install the BLTouch on my N2+. Is that correct ?
Is there a reason you can't use the Z+ socket(Which is unpopulated on my board) vs. Z- ?
(Other than the Marlin code hasn't been compiled for that)
It looks like the last postings on this thread are from a couple years ago. Are there any more recent install guides or details ?

Thanks!

Jetguy
Posts: 3085
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 1:40 am
Location: In a van, down by the river

Re: Bltouch on Raise3d

Postby Jetguy » Wed May 27, 2020 8:54 pm

You can use it how you want but- a tip I found on my big printer- keep your physical limit switch and wire it into the motion board as an "Oh poop" switch.
It is possible for scenarios of a BL-touch to fail (example, not over the bed, bracket bent or melted, wiring failure, etc). You CAN and WILL then ram the bed up into the nozzles unless you also then wire the old limit switch in some way to kill the machine- example wire to reset of the motion board- thus killing the operation. You do it such that under normal logical conditions the Z limit is never hit, but in failure, it gets tripped. By reseting the motion board, by definition- the Z motion will stop- no special firmware version required. I say this because again, I have seen both conditions possible and had I not been right there, bad things could have happened. Not to mention, adding wiring that flexes to the printhead to wire a Z probe is asking then for a future failure. It's not if it fails, it's when it fails. Be prepared.

Again, my advice.
Do not attempt custom firmware unless you really know what you are doing and then test it over and over.
Not worth the effort of trying to remap the Z- limit switch location to some kind of emergency stop in firmware. By definition, again, asking for failure. You re depending on code to read a pin status and do something.
Opposite, moving the old mechanical Z limit switch to reset pin and ground (2 wires)- relatively easy, and extremely robust in that no matter what firmware is loaded, I assure you motion will stop. This leaves you then with standard wiring, pin configuration, and firmware from the BL-touch example others have installed. Obviously, what you will do is lower the thumbscrew the bumps the endstop switch slightly, such that it only trips when the nozzle kisses the bed slightly. It's a fine line touch but again, the idea is to prevent a full on rising bed jamming into the nozzles and continuing to drive upward when the BL-touch fails to sense.

Jetguy
Posts: 3085
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 1:40 am
Location: In a van, down by the river

Re: Bltouch on Raise3d

Postby Jetguy » Wed May 27, 2020 9:19 pm

Somewhere around here, I diagrammed the motion board. https://forum.raise3d.com/download/file ... &mode=view
Motion%20board%20connectors%20updated.jpg

Also, it's derived from RUMBA open source, so details like the extra sockets match https://reprap.org/wiki/RUMBA

Expansion port 1 (upper left side of the board labeled in green wording in the picture) pins 8 and 9 are ground and reset.
Screen Shot 2020-05-27 at 5.15.27 PM.png
Screen Shot 2020-05-27 at 5.15.27 PM.png (40.6 KiB) Viewed 607 times

Jetguy
Posts: 3085
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 1:40 am
Location: In a van, down by the river

Re: Bltouch on Raise3d

Postby Jetguy » Thu May 28, 2020 2:56 am

And, Being user Zemlin just posted about using BL-touch, you might ask him for recent pointers and how he did it?
https://forum.raise3d.com/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=20506


Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests