Resume after Power Loss doesn't print quite the same

Discussions about ideaMaker and other printing software.
JamesF
Posts: 83
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2021 2:50 pm

Resume after Power Loss doesn't print quite the same

Postby JamesF » Fri Jan 14, 2022 3:14 pm

I've experienced that the Resume after Power Loss feature doesn't print quite the same as before the power loss.

One part in the pictures had a Resume after Power Loss at about 4 layers up the column. The other part didn't have a power loss. Notice the differences at the corners. Seemingly some print settings are not the same after Resume.
Attachments
IMG_2301.JPG
IMG_2300.JPG

User avatar
Ryan@Raise3D
Posts: 432
Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2021 10:43 pm

Re: Resume after Power Loss doesn't print quite the same

Postby Ryan@Raise3D » Sat Jan 15, 2022 1:51 am

Can you let me know how long the printer was sitting due to the power loss?

JamesF
Posts: 83
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2021 2:50 pm

Re: Resume after Power Loss doesn't print quite the same

Postby JamesF » Thu Jan 20, 2022 8:37 pm

Ryan@Raise3D wrote:Can you let me know how long the printer was sitting due to the power loss?


In the neighborhood of 5 minutes.

User avatar
Ryan@Raise3D
Posts: 432
Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2021 10:43 pm

Re: Resume after Power Loss doesn't print quite the same

Postby Ryan@Raise3D » Tue Feb 01, 2022 1:56 am

Thank you for the update. Can you let me know what printer this is so I can see if the issue can be replicated.

JamesF
Posts: 83
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2021 2:50 pm

Re: Resume after Power Loss doesn't print quite the same

Postby JamesF » Mon Feb 07, 2022 1:22 pm

Ryan@Raise3D wrote:Thank you for the update. Can you let me know what printer this is so I can see if the issue can be replicated.


E2

0.3.1026

User avatar
Steven@Raise3D
Posts: 575
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2020 11:24 pm

Re: Resume after Power Loss doesn't print quite the same

Postby Steven@Raise3D » Fri Feb 11, 2022 2:19 am

JamesF wrote:
Ryan@Raise3D wrote:Thank you for the update. Can you let me know what printer this is so I can see if the issue can be replicated.


E2

0.3.1026


Would you also be able to provide the Gcode file for this model as well as what material was being used?

JamesF
Posts: 83
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2021 2:50 pm

Re: Resume after Power Loss doesn't print quite the same

Postby JamesF » Fri Feb 11, 2022 5:07 pm

Steven@Raise3D wrote:
JamesF wrote:
Ryan@Raise3D wrote:Thank you for the update. Can you let me know what printer this is so I can see if the issue can be replicated.


E2

0.3.1026


Would you also be able to provide the Gcode file for this model as well as what material was being used?


Using PLA and can I PM you the 2.5mb zipped code file.

User avatar
Ryan@Raise3D
Posts: 432
Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2021 10:43 pm

Re: Resume after Power Loss doesn't print quite the same

Postby Ryan@Raise3D » Fri Feb 11, 2022 9:24 pm

Thank you for the update. If the issue is a bit more sensitive I recommend that we move over to the ticket system as that way we can share files privately and diagnose the issue directly with one of our tech support agents.

JamesF
Posts: 83
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2021 2:50 pm

Re: Resume after Power Loss doesn't print quite the same

Postby JamesF » Mon Feb 14, 2022 1:48 pm

Okay, I'll move to the ticket system. How do I do that? Do I merely start over again, but submit through the ticket system, or is there some sort of acutal 'move' procedure from the forum to the ticket system?

User avatar
Ryan@Raise3D
Posts: 432
Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2021 10:43 pm

Re: Resume after Power Loss doesn't print quite the same

Postby Ryan@Raise3D » Tue Feb 15, 2022 1:47 am

Unfortunately there is no move procedure. What you can do however is link this forum post in your response so all of the previous information is still visible. You can make a support ticket here https://help.raise3d.com/support/home

JamesF
Posts: 83
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2021 2:50 pm

Re: Resume after Power Loss doesn't print quite the same

Postby JamesF » Tue Feb 15, 2022 1:20 pm

Thank you.

JamesF
Posts: 83
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2021 2:50 pm

Re: Resume after Power Loss doesn't print quite the same

Postby JamesF » Mon Feb 21, 2022 2:22 pm

I wound up in a PM with support and here's their findings. Not sure when this will be fixed, but at least the problem has been identified.

"Thank you for the update. After a bit more testing we found the issue here, the issue is the Pressure advance setting that is built into the machine that is helping with the quality of the start and end points is getting lost when the machine power cycles during a print. This is a bug in the system and I am going to be reporting the issue to our development team. Thank you for the detailed pictures as it did help point is in the direction of the pressure advance setting having the issue."

User avatar
Ryan@Raise3D
Posts: 432
Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2021 10:43 pm

Re: Resume after Power Loss doesn't print quite the same

Postby Ryan@Raise3D » Wed Feb 23, 2022 1:08 am

The problem has been reported to our development team and they are currently working on a solution.


Return to “Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests