Feature request: Visual adjustment of fixed seam like rotation/move

Discussions about ideaMaker and other printing software.
FOGD.NO
Posts: 182
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2020 7:42 am

Feature request: Visual adjustment of fixed seam like rotation/move

Postby FOGD.NO » Sat May 16, 2020 10:13 am

When I place a model I have small room where I could place the seam and get a perfect print. So a place where the seam does not matter. Now I have tried wity some X/Y setting by using numbers, but when I placed two models the first got correct placement, while the other got it placed somewhere else. I think this could be done much easier if you get a rotation tool for the start-stop and have choice of from-to Z heigh, each layer or for the whole model.

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 7389
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: Feature request: Visual adjustment of fixed seam like rotation/move

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Tue May 19, 2020 12:42 am

Are you looking for different starting point solutions on different models? Or different solutions on different sections of one model?
Would you mind to share some pictures of gcode preview which is having issues with us to show us the issue?

FOGD.NO
Posts: 182
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2020 7:42 am

Re: Feature request: Visual adjustment of fixed seam like rotation/move

Postby FOGD.NO » Tue May 19, 2020 7:00 am

Vicky@Raise3D wrote:Are you looking for different starting point solutions on different models? Or different solutions on different sections of one model?
Would you mind to share some pictures of gcode preview which is having issues with us to show us the issue?


https://youtu.be/Nsgcj4Iypvk

If you notice here, it is very cumbersome method to adjust the position of the fixed seam, and the position is the same for several models.

So a visual aid where you could move a X or dot to the place where you want the seam for each object would be perfect.

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 7389
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: Feature request: Visual adjustment of fixed seam like rotation/move

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Sat May 23, 2020 12:28 am

Would you like to advise whether you are looking for:
1. Using 3D mode to show the starting points of all the models with 3D Brush.
2. Using Top View Mode to show the starting points XY values.

FOGD.NO
Posts: 182
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2020 7:42 am

Re: Feature request: Visual adjustment of fixed seam like rotation/move

Postby FOGD.NO » Sat May 23, 2020 8:08 am

Vicky@Raise3D wrote:Would you like to advise whether you are looking for:
1. Using 3D mode to show the starting points of all the models with 3D Brush.
2. Using Top View Mode to show the starting points XY values.


Both method if possible, but the 3d view and then just click on the position would be great. Then you could just rotate the model and find the best spot.

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 7389
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: Feature request: Visual adjustment of fixed seam like rotation/move

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Wed May 27, 2020 2:19 am

Thanks for your confirmation. We will add it into developing list.

FOGD.NO
Posts: 182
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2020 7:42 am

Re: Feature request: Visual adjustment of fixed seam like rotation/move

Postby FOGD.NO » Wed May 27, 2020 4:11 pm

Vicky@Raise3D wrote:Thanks for your confirmation. We will add it into developing list.


Awesome.. This would be a good improvement for sure :-)

neslekkim
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2020 4:48 pm

Re: Feature request: Visual adjustment of fixed seam like rotation/move

Postby neslekkim » Fri Nov 20, 2020 10:48 am

Is there any progress on this?, an visual way of placing seam would be very nice.
In the latest Alpha for PrusaSlicer, one can now paint where one want the seam, it's not quite easy to put it accurately yet, but it's atleast much easier to control placement.

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 7389
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: Feature request: Visual adjustment of fixed seam like rotation/move

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Sun Nov 22, 2020 12:39 am

Thanks for the feedbacks.
The request has already been added into developing list. But not the top few priority ones.


Return to “Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests