flowrate

Discussions about ideaMaker and other printing software.
mr_b
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2019 7:04 pm

flowrate

Postby mr_b » Sun Mar 29, 2020 2:50 pm

Flow rate questions:

I adjust the flow rate under the Advanced tab in Ideamaker, and as far as i understand this overrides the flow in the filament menu.

BUT, how about flow rates for infill, first layer, solid fill, surface etc.
for example:

i set my flow rate (under the Advace tab) to 92%
infill flowrate 100%
Solid fill flowrate 100%

does this mean the flowrate for infill/solid fill will be higher than the "overall flowrate" (actually 100% and not 92%)? or will the flowrate under the advance tab override all?

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 6529
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: flowrate

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Mon Mar 30, 2020 11:05 pm

The flowrate for certain struction will be overall flowrate for the filament * flowrate for that structure.
If you set Flow Rate for certain filament as 90%, infill flowrate as 80%, the final infill will be printed out at 72% flowrate.

FOGD.NO
Posts: 105
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2020 7:42 am

Re: flowrate

Postby FOGD.NO » Thu Apr 02, 2020 12:15 pm

If my flow rate while printing is adjusted to 94% even if I have 100% in all settings. Where could it be that override?

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 6529
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: flowrate

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Thu Apr 02, 2020 6:19 pm

You mean you adjust the FlowRate on touchscreen during printing?
Then all flowrate in this task will be multiple 0.94 time onto the original value it being set to slice.
If it was 100% on certain structures before, it will be 94% now.
If it was 90% on certain structures before, it will be 84.6% now.

FOGD.NO
Posts: 105
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2020 7:42 am

Re: flowrate

Postby FOGD.NO » Fri Apr 03, 2020 10:16 am

Vicky@Raise3D wrote:You mean you adjust the FlowRate on touchscreen during printing?
Then all flowrate in this task will be multiple 0.94 time onto the original value it being set to slice.
If it was 100% on certain structures before, it will be 94% now.
If it was 90% on certain structures before, it will be 84.6% now.



I do not follow. If I set 100% in the slicer and then upload a model to the printer from the slicer then the printer should print with 100% flow. Not 96% or 94%. The machine override the settings or what is displayed on the machine don't follow the settings I set when slice. Don't you understand how "not logic" this mindset is?.

Even if I tick the "override filament flow rate" the machine is at 94% when printing. Where is the logic?

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 6529
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: flowrate

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Sat Apr 04, 2020 12:19 am

Flowrate option on touchscreen and Flowrate settings in ideaMaker are different values. The touchsreen flowrate value won't overrider the slicing settings but multiply onto the gcode E values. The E values in gcode are set during slicing according to the flowrate settings you input in ideaMaker.


Return to “Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests