Page 1 of 1

[Bug] 3.4 Beta - sequential printing

Posted: Tue Apr 02, 2019 9:13 pm
by cht47
There is a logical error in the sequential printing.

im_bug1.png


From you blog it should work
Image

##First Bug##
What I did:
I measured the offset of my Ender 3 with Bullseye Mod which is 40-40 left-right and about 34-25 back-front

What I expect:
The mask can't touch another 3D model, but it can overlap another mask.
As the mask represents the printing head it wont touch the print.

What happens:
the software throws an error if I overlap two masks but works if nothing overlaps.

It seems that wasn't in the version which you used to make the blog screenshots.

## Second Bug / Not best solution ##
Gantry height is limiting build height instead using it as "3D mask"

im_bug2.png


What I did:
I measured the height from the build plate to my Z Gantry. Which is very low with 25 but I would add the gantry to the nozzle offset (in my case back of the nozzle)

What I expect:
My sample should be easy printable. If I start the print in the front there is no way it will hit it while printing the second model. With a higher y offset its also save to start in the rear of the build plate (in this example it would work perfectly).

What happens:
I can't get it working without using a fake gantry height and just working with proper offset (if bug 1 is fixed).

Don't get me wrong, it makes sense to me in some cases, but not if you have a gantry this way:
im_bug3.png

No matter what height it is, the model in the front is always printable and the second is also printable.
Now this one wouldn't work:
im_bug4.png


My advice is, add 3 options to the gantry height:
X aligned
y aligned
both
im_bug5.png

With that information given you know if it collide.
Currently it is like I would select both, then the height is always important. But if I set x aligned then every model printing from from rear to front or front to rear is no problem.

Re: [Bug] 3.4 Beta - sequential printing

Posted: Thu Apr 04, 2019 12:32 am
by Vicky@Raise3D
Would you like to confirm whether you have enable "auto update printing priority"?

Re: [Bug] 3.4 Beta - sequential printing

Posted: Thu Apr 04, 2019 7:21 pm
by cht47
Vicky@Raise3D wrote:Would you like to confirm whether you have enable "auto update printing priority"?


Enabling "auto update printing priority" helped to know why it didn't work.

After some further testing it isn't a "touching" bug, its the order. From top right to bottom left. Any other order will not work. (At least in this case)

Works:
works.png


Doesn't work:
doesnt_work.png


That works too:
works_too.png


But that not:
not_working.png

Re: [Bug] 3.4 Beta - sequential printing

Posted: Sun Apr 07, 2019 10:48 pm
by Vicky@Raise3D
cht47 wrote:
Vicky@Raise3D wrote:Would you like to confirm whether you have enable "auto update printing priority"?


Enabling "auto update printing priority" helped to know why it didn't work.

After some further testing it isn't a "touching" bug, its the order. From top right to bottom left. Any other order will not work. (At least in this case)

Works:
doesnt_work.png


Doesn't work:
works.png


That works too:
works_too.png


But that not:
not_working.png


Different print sequence will cause different nozzle moving path, some may cause print failure, such as nozzle hits the printed models when printing, pause, resume printing after pause or power loss.