Exported time-lapse video has 1 frame

Discussions about ideaMaker and other printing software.
Jolley110-UserB
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2019 5:39 pm

Exported time-lapse video has 1 frame

Postby Jolley110-UserB » Tue Jan 29, 2019 7:02 pm

Question/bug: exported time lapse video appears to have only one frame

Using IdeaMaker v3.3.0.2343
with Raise3D Pro2, update 1.1.0.1021, Firmware 0-0-66

Successfully printed jobs have time lapse video.
I can view the time lapse video remotely using IdeaMaker by clicking Print/Dashboard , selected a printed file, and clicking on the video icon. I can use the Play/Pause feature on this screen. When I click Export, I am prompted to save a file, which is saved in .mjpg format.
I have tried viewing this file with Chrome, which is supposed to open .mjpg files, and it only displays the first frame (the bed with nothing on it).I think hour print job should have 12 frames (6/hr).

Questions:
1) What viewer should I use after exporting the file (Windows 10, 64 bit operating system)?
2) How do I know how many .jpg frames are in the file?

Thanks for any help you can provide.

P.S. I can't attach the .mjpg file, your program won't accept the .mjpg extension

Online
User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 5062
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: Exported time-lapse video has 1 frame

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Wed Jan 30, 2019 1:52 am

You can have the video transfer to be .mp4. We will have the video export as .mp4 type in future version.
http://www.avi-mp4.com/mp4/mjpeg-to-mp4.htm

And you can check the frame with the software in the following link.
http://www.mediaplayerlite.net/

Jolley110-UserB
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2019 5:39 pm

Re: Exported time-lapse video has 1 frame

Postby Jolley110-UserB » Wed Jan 30, 2019 5:11 am

Thanks , that's very helpful.

I was able to use mediaplayerlite to verify that all the expected frames (1 every 10 minutes) were there.
The www.avi-mp4.com site wanted me to pay for a full conversion. I found another conversion tool that works from the command line and is free:
https://ffmpeg.zeranoe.com/builds/

After extracting the zip and adding the folder to my windows path, I could type:
C: ...> ffmpeg -i mytimelapse.mjpg mytimelapse.mp4

The mytimelapse.mp4 file is playable in the default Windows 10 movie player.

Online
User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 5062
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: Exported time-lapse video has 1 frame

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Thu Jan 31, 2019 6:54 pm

Thanks for your information.

mastersapo
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat May 26, 2018 3:13 am

Re: Exported time-lapse video has 1 frame

Postby mastersapo » Sun Mar 24, 2019 1:45 pm

Is there any update on when you will export to .MP4? No offense, but I don't really want to download a bunch of freeware to do conversions anytime I want to see a time lapse and .MJPEG isn't usable by a majority of standard media players like VLC.

Online
User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 5062
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: Exported time-lapse video has 1 frame

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Tue Mar 26, 2019 4:39 pm

We have already changed the MJPEG to be MP4 into the firmwar. You will see it in the next version of RaiseTouch.


Return to “Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Vicky@Raise3D and 1 guest