New IdeaMaker user - Extruding too much plasttic for intro line and skirt

Discussions about ideaMaker and other printing software.
Jan_P
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2019 4:06 pm

New IdeaMaker user - Extruding too much plasttic for intro line and skirt

Postby Jan_P » Tue Jan 22, 2019 4:27 pm

Hi,

I'm a new user of IdeaMaker, a hopeful convert from Cura, and have a problem getting IdeaMaker set up correctly.
I'm sure it's a setting that wrong, or me doing something wrong, but I can't find the issue.

I'm trying to set up IdeaMaker for use with my CR-10 (I wish I had Raise printer, but it's out of my price range).
Problem is, that the printer is trying to push out far too much filament for the intro line and skirt. The extruder is pushing all it can, skipping and complaining loudly. It's as if it's trying to use the entire spool at ones. :D
It plasts out line of plastic almost 3mm wide.

I have checked the filament width, and I tried setting the e-steps directly, but it's still doing it. Looking at the G-Code, it looks like it did realize, that it's a 1.75mm filament, a 0.4mm nozzle, and e-steps is set as well.
The printer worked fine both before and after with g-code generated by Cura, so it's not a clog or anything like that.

I've listed the top part of the g-code below. Any tips to what I may have wrong in my settings is greatly appreciated.

Code: Select all

;Sliced by ideaMaker 3.3.0.2343, 2019-01-22 01:26:59 UTC-0600
;Dimension: 300.000 300.000 400.000 0.400
;Plate Shape: 0
;Extruder Offset #1: 25.000 0.000
;Filament Diameter #1: 1.750
;Filament Diameter #2: 1.750
;Filament Compensation #1: 100.00
;Filament Compensation #2: 100.00
;Filament Density #1: 1240.00
;Filament Density #2: 1240.00
;Model Gap: 0.000
M92 E95.00000
M221 T0 S100.00
M140 S60.00
M104 T0 S215.00
M109 T0 S215.00
T0
M190 S60.00
M115 U3.1.0 ; tell printer latest fw version
M83  ; extruder relative mode
M104 S215 ; set extruder temp
M140 S60; set bed temp
M190 S60; wait for bed temp
M109 S215 ; wait for extruder temp
G28 W ; home all without mesh bed level
G80 ; mesh bed leveling
G1 Y-3.0 F1000.0 ; go outside pritn area
G1 X60.0 E9.0  F1000.0 ; intro line
G1 X100.0 E12.5  F1000.0 ; intro line
M1001
;LAYER:0
;Z:0.200
;HEIGHT:0.200
M106 S0
M104 T0 S220
G1 F2700 E-6.5000
;BEFORE_LAYER_CHANGE
;1
G0 F7200 X124.548 Y124.421
G0 F1500 Z0.200
G0 F7200 X125.255 Y125.127
;TYPE:SKIRT
;WIDTH:0.400
G1 F1200 E0.0000
G1 F1800 X125.643 Y124.752 E0.0179
G1 X126.197 Y124.350 E0.0407

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 5061
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: New IdeaMaker user - Extruding too much plasttic for intro line and skirt

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Wed Jan 23, 2019 5:15 am

May I ask the .bin file of your ideaMaker and .gcode file generated by ideaMaker to have a look?

Jan_P
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2019 4:06 pm

Re: New IdeaMaker user - Extruding too much plasttic for intro line and skirt

Postby Jan_P » Wed Jan 23, 2019 7:13 am

Thank you for getting back to me so quickly.
I have attached the files in the zip archive (the forum would not allow me to upload files with gcode or bin extensions.)

I also tried to start fresh, and create a new setup, but I still get the same issue.
Attachments
Creality CR-10 Bed Leveling Knob.zip
BIN file and GCode and Data file generated by IdeaMaker
(1.02 MiB) Downloaded 10 times

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 5061
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: New IdeaMaker user - Extruding too much plasttic for intro line and skirt

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Thu Jan 24, 2019 7:29 pm

May I have the gcode file which can print properly sliced by Cura to compare the Start Code?

Jan_P
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2019 4:06 pm

Re: New IdeaMaker user - Extruding too much plasttic for intro line and skirt

Postby Jan_P » Thu Jan 24, 2019 9:43 pm

Sure thing.
I've also included two pictures, thinking maybe that could help identify the configuration issue.
The one with only a short line of the skirt is from the Ideamaker sliced gcode, the second, with a more complete first layer before I stopped it, is from Cura.
I realized after that I didn't take the pictures from the same distance, so it can be hard to compare, but the "blobs" on the ideamaker print, are as much as 2.9mm wide, while the extruded lines from Cura is right around 0.45mm.
Attachments
Photos.zip
(3.4 MiB) Downloaded 12 times

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 5061
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: New IdeaMaker user - Extruding too much plasttic for intro line and skirt

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Fri Jan 25, 2019 3:48 am

We find that Cura there is no StepE code in StartCode. Please remove code M92 E95 from StartCode generated in ideaMaker to match it.
And Cura is using code M82 to define the whole positioning system as absolute coordinates, but ideaMaker uses M83 for relative coordinates. Please update ideaMaker to use M82.


Return to “Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests