Custom Extruder Switch Gcode

Discussions about ideaMaker and other printing software.
0__Felky__0
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu May 19, 2022 9:44 am

Custom Extruder Switch Gcode

Postby 0__Felky__0 » Thu May 19, 2022 10:01 am

Hi.

I need to create e custom Gcode on Extruder Switch routine and I would need to use the previous temperature and next temperature variablesto set it on extruder P0 and P1 (my printer uses T0 / T1 for tool selection and P0 / P1 to define temperatures).

I can't find it under runtime variables, is there a wai to add and use it on my gcode??

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 8552
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: Custom Extruder Switch Gcode

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Fri May 20, 2022 10:05 pm

Would you like to share us some .gcode files as example to show the purpose to change temperature during nozzle switch?
If you are only looking for editing codes for temperature you can use PostProcess to replace.

0__Felky__0
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu May 19, 2022 9:44 am

Re: Custom Extruder Switch Gcode

Postby 0__Felky__0 » Mon May 23, 2022 9:24 am

Hi Vicky, thank you for your reply.

This is what IdeaMaker does on extruder switch by default with Cool Down Inactive Extruder checked

Code: Select all

G0 F12000 X750.000 Y649.000   ;move to park position
;PRINTING: default-box.3mf
;PRINTING_ID: 0
G1 F1500 E-10.0000          ;retraction amount of extruder-switch
M109 T1 S225                             ; Set work temperature for "Tool 1"
T1
M104 T0 S180                ; Set inactive temperature for "Tool 0"
G0 F12000 X619.517 Y343.550    ;back to print

with this code my printer doesn't waith for temperatures to rise. I need to use "P0" and "P1" only in combination with command M109 so it should be:

Code: Select all

G0 F12000 X750.000 Y649.000   ;move to park position
;PRINTING: default-box.3mf
;PRINTING_ID: 0
G1 F1500 E-10.0000          ;retraction amount of extruder-switch
M109 "P1" S225                ; Set work temperature for "Tool 1"
T1
M104 T0 S180                ; Set inactive temperature for "Tool 0"
G0 F12000 X619.517 Y343.550    ;back to print


My idea was to use a custom gcode in extruder switch,i'll use T for select tool and P to set temperatures but temesature it would be a variable by the tool that will be selected in next job. Is there a simple way to do this in IdeaMaker?

0__Felky__0
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu May 19, 2022 9:44 am

Re: Custom Extruder Switch Gcode

Postby 0__Felky__0 » Tue May 24, 2022 6:21 am

Sorry i made some more tests and this is the proper order needed for a tool change on my machine

G1 F3600 E-2.5000 ;Retraction
G0 F12000 X752.550 Y651.700 ;move to park position
G1 F1500 E-10.0000 ;extruder switch retraction
T0 ;select next tool
M104 P1 S180 ;set prewous tool inactive temperature
M109 P0 S220 ;set and wait next tool work temperature (i can't recreate this line with RUNTIME VARIABLES under
extruder switch GCode)
G0 F12000 X775.518 Y298.282 ;back to print

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 8552
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: Custom Extruder Switch Gcode

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Tue May 24, 2022 10:54 pm

If you need M109 replacement, you can use Postprocess.
Image_20220524155256.png
These two lines are for Left and Right.
Image_20220524155311.png
Image_20220524155311.png (9.08 KiB) Viewed 1276 times

0__Felky__0
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu May 19, 2022 9:44 am

Re: Custom Extruder Switch Gcode

Postby 0__Felky__0 » Wed May 25, 2022 5:53 am

ok, this is good but before doing this i need to get T0/T1 working temps see img below.


I need it because I must change IdeaMaker comands order

G1 F3600 E-2.5000 ;Retraction
G0 F12000 X752.550 Y651.700 ;move to park position
G1 F1500 E-10.0000 ;extruder switch retraction
T0 ;need to select next tool before set temperature
M104 T1 S180 ;set prewous tool inactive temperature
M109 T0 S220 ;set and wait next tool work temperature (i can't recreate this line with RUNTIME VARIABLES under
extruder switch GCode)
G0 F12000 X775.518 Y298.282 ;back to print
Attachments
Immagine 2022-05-25 073226.png

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 8552
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: Custom Extruder Switch Gcode

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Fri May 27, 2022 12:35 am

The main reason selecing endpoints of segments as Start Points instead of anywhere in middle is to not break the integral shell segments down.
For belt printer, ideaMaker will add extra process for Belt Wall to pick the start points in middle of Belt Wall. The other structures will be still be the endpoints of segments.
We are trying to developing more tools to give users more freedom to pick the start points on surfaces of the model.

0__Felky__0
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu May 19, 2022 9:44 am

Re: Custom Extruder Switch Gcode

Postby 0__Felky__0 » Fri May 27, 2022 2:24 pm

I'm not sure what you mean by your last answer, it seems we can't understand each other.
I really appreciate your efforts to solve this issue. it's really hard to explain for me because english is not my first language.

i'll try to explain you my issue in a different way:

- We bought a custom large-format 3D printer with Duet 3 Mini 5+ control board (img. 1)

- the printer need T0/T1 for select job tool and P0/P1 to set heater temperature

-Please see the simple gcode that i made (img.2), i can't find the variable wrote in red. This simple script is what i need under Extruder Switc GCode
Attachments
img 1.jpg
img 2.png

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 8552
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: Custom Extruder Switch Gcode

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Sat May 28, 2022 5:09 am

Are you looking for a new placeholder to represent next temperature value?
If so, we can create a beta version software with a new Placeholder created for you.

0__Felky__0
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu May 19, 2022 9:44 am

Re: Custom Extruder Switch Gcode

Postby 0__Felky__0 » Sat May 28, 2022 7:13 am

I'm not sure what you mean when you say "placeholder", but yes, I need what in IdeaMaker is called runtime variable to get the next extruder working temperatures for both because it's not always true that are the same value.

For example if I work with support material and regular PLA i set temperatures value at 225 for support and 200 for PLA.

So if extruder 0 have PLA and extruder1 have support my GCode should be:

start print with PLA

G0 X725 Y625
T (new extruder) --->T0
M104 P(old extruder) S180 --->M104 P1 S180
M109 P(new extruder) S(new extruder temperature) --->M109 P0 S200

start print with support

G0 X725 Y625
T (new extruder) --->T1
M104 P(old extruder) S180 --->M104 P0 S180
M109 P(new extruder) S(new extruder temperature) --->M109 P1 S225

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 8552
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: Custom Extruder Switch Gcode

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Wed Jun 01, 2022 11:01 pm

We have added new Placeholder {new_temperature} to replace the new target temperature of nozzle.

0__Felky__0
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu May 19, 2022 9:44 am

Re: Custom Extruder Switch Gcode

Postby 0__Felky__0 » Thu Jun 02, 2022 6:56 am

oh ok...how can I get it??

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 8552
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: Custom Extruder Switch Gcode

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Fri Jun 03, 2022 2:19 am

Download link sent via PM.

0__Felky__0
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu May 19, 2022 9:44 am

Re: Custom Extruder Switch Gcode

Postby 0__Felky__0 » Fri Jun 03, 2022 7:07 am

Ok...I did some tests with Beta that you sent to me.

Here what comes from:

- Under GCode - Extruder Switch tab I write these few lines (img1)

- Under Temperature I set Left Extruder to 225 and Right Extruder to 200 (img2)

- As you can see in the resulted GCode (img3/4) new temperature is always set to 0.

Hope I set target temperatures in the right place, New Temperature should be 225 when is selected T0 and 200 when selected T1.

Thanks a lot for your work.
Attachments
img1.jpg
img2.jpg
img3.jpg
img3.jpg (16.67 KiB) Viewed 589 times
img4.jpg
img4.jpg (11.45 KiB) Viewed 589 times
img2.jpg

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 8552
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: Custom Extruder Switch Gcode

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Wed Jun 08, 2022 7:37 am

I will share an updated fix version with you via PM.

0__Felky__0
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu May 19, 2022 9:44 am

Re: Custom Extruder Switch Gcode

Postby 0__Felky__0 » Wed Jun 08, 2022 9:18 am

Hi, Vicky and thank you so much. That's great, just what I was looking for.


Return to “Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests