extruder switch don't make sense

Discussions about ideaMaker and other printing software.
Steadipanda
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri May 10, 2019 11:41 pm

extruder switch don't make sense

Postby Steadipanda » Sun Nov 24, 2019 7:31 pm

is there a way to set a extruder switch position, and specify the extruder switch sequence?

to simplify my problem, here is the current sequence in ideamaker

1. nozzle 1 retracts
2.switch to nozzle 2
3. move to wipe wall/tower
4. start printing

in an ideal world would be

1. nozzle 1 retracts
2. move to wipe wall /tower
3. switch to nozzle 2
4. start wipe tower/wall

other wise it makes no sense to have this beautiful retracting hotend, cuz all the ooze from inactive extruder will get pushed right back into the part as nozzle switching happens.


PS. Vickey I know you will suggest the cool down inactive extruder method. Ive tried it, biggest problem is
1. nozzle switch happens right after nozzle 1 finishes, before nozzle 2 reaches the temp
2. both nozzle oozzes at where nozzle 1 finishes to wait for nozzle 2 reaches temp, therefore creating a giant Blop for no reason
3. even if preheat setting turns on and gives 60sec of preheat time, it still waits there for about 5-10 sec


IF move to park position turns on, the sequence is
1. nozzle 1 retracts
2. switching to nozzle 2, no x/y movement
3. wait for nozzle 2 temp to reach, extruder at same place. oozing....oozing....oozing....
4. move to park position
5. comes back to print wipe tower

Damage is done at this point already, This function is so useless.

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 5733
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: extruder switch don't make sense

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Tue Nov 26, 2019 12:07 am

From my understanding, if you enable Cool Down, the nozzle will move to Park Position first then do retraction.
0191125160657.png
0191125160657.png (5.01 KiB) Viewed 344 times

Steadipanda
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri May 10, 2019 11:41 pm

Re: extruder switch don't make sense

Postby Steadipanda » Tue Nov 26, 2019 4:16 am

im on 3.50 beta tho.

mine goes like this


;HEIGHT:0.300
G92 E0
G1 F3300 E-10.0000
G1 F1200 Z1.150
T0
M109 T0 S260
M104 T1 S210
G0 F6000 X191.961 Y135.455
;TYPE:WIPE-WALL
;WIDTH:0.600

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 5733
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: extruder switch don't make sense

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Tue Nov 26, 2019 11:17 pm

Would you like to double confirm whether Move to Park Position has been enabled or not?

Steadipanda
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri May 10, 2019 11:41 pm

Re: extruder switch don't make sense

Postby Steadipanda » Wed Nov 27, 2019 5:03 am

it was not enabled in this case

but in my test it was same either way. extruder switch happens, then wait to heat up or move to park position

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 5733
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: extruder switch don't make sense

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Thu Nov 28, 2019 12:44 am

Would you like to confirm the Move to Park Position enabled and slice a file and share the Gcode and Data files with us?
Nozzle switch needs heat the nozzle temperature up first. So nozzle will heat up at the park position then switch.


Return to “Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest