E2 Paused printing

Proschi3d
Posts: 138
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2020 7:13 am
Location: Deutschland
Contact:

Re: E2 Paused printing

Postby Proschi3d » Sat Jan 16, 2021 9:11 am

There's a simple reason not to share it. Raise 3d pretends the problem doesn't exist and doesn't bother. Why should we make it so easy for you? If it's cheaper for Raise to change printers, so be it
Raise 3D E2, Prusa i 3 Mk3s Mmus2

https://www.instagram.com/proschi3d/

Blue21
Posts: 149
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2020 8:04 am
Location: Switzerland

Re: E2 Paused printing

Postby Blue21 » Sun Jan 17, 2021 8:41 am

Proschi3d wrote:There's a simple reason not to share it. Raise 3d pretends the problem doesn't exist and doesn't bother. Why should we make it so easy for you? If it's cheaper for Raise to change printers, so be it

So you are not open source :D
E2 + Prusa Mini <- UM 2+ <- Replicator2

Proschi3d
Posts: 138
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2020 7:13 am
Location: Deutschland
Contact:

Re: E2 Paused printing

Postby Proschi3d » Sun Jan 17, 2021 10:06 am

Blue21 wrote:
Proschi3d wrote:There's a simple reason not to share it. Raise 3d pretends the problem doesn't exist and doesn't bother. Why should we make it so easy for you? If it's cheaper for Raise to change printers, so be it

So you are not open source :D


But only if it is both sides :lol:
Raise 3D E2, Prusa i 3 Mk3s Mmus2

https://www.instagram.com/proschi3d/

ww007
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2020 7:56 pm

Re: E2 Paused printing

Postby ww007 » Sun Jan 17, 2021 10:12 am

Proschi3d wrote:There's a simple reason not to share it. Raise 3d pretends the problem doesn't exist and doesn't bother. Why should we make it so easy for you? If it's cheaper for Raise to change printers, so be it


Who is “we” and “you”? If I’m understanding you correctly, you’re not willing to share the information because you’re upset that Raise3d is “ignoring” the issue?

The whole point of these forums is that it serves as a community where other Raise3d users can share their experiences and help each other out. I don’t think withholding useful information from other users just to spite Raise3d is the right approach here... Maybe by sharing, they can finally fix the problem to the benefit of all users.

It seems that they are willing to help, as evidenced by Vicky asking you to start a support ticket. Now I live in North America so I can’t speak to how their support is in other areas, but if you’re unable to start a support ticket, it seems like posting a possible fix on these forums is the best solution.

Proschi3d
Posts: 138
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2020 7:13 am
Location: Deutschland
Contact:

Re: E2 Paused printing

Postby Proschi3d » Sun Jan 17, 2021 10:52 am

Attachments
20210117_163617.jpg
20210117_120257.jpg
20210117_115259.jpg
Raise 3D E2, Prusa i 3 Mk3s Mmus2

https://www.instagram.com/proschi3d/

Proschi3d
Posts: 138
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2020 7:13 am
Location: Deutschland
Contact:

Re: E2 Paused printing

Postby Proschi3d » Mon Jan 18, 2021 8:34 pm

I now use Repetier-Server and get great results with it. I will install it on a Raspberry with LCD display for the next few days and report again.
Attachments
20210118_213012.jpg
20210118_212955.jpg
Raise 3D E2, Prusa i 3 Mk3s Mmus2

https://www.instagram.com/proschi3d/

Proschi3d
Posts: 138
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2020 7:13 am
Location: Deutschland
Contact:

Re: E2 Paused printing

Postby Proschi3d » Tue Jan 19, 2021 5:00 pm

It works great :D
Attachments
20210119_175637.jpg
20210119_175646.jpg
20210119_175652.jpg
20210119_175703.jpg
Raise 3D E2, Prusa i 3 Mk3s Mmus2

https://www.instagram.com/proschi3d/

Proschi3d
Posts: 138
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2020 7:13 am
Location: Deutschland
Contact:

Re: E2 Paused printing

Postby Proschi3d » Thu Jan 21, 2021 12:10 pm

20210120_180747.jpg
20210120_180747.jpg (27.38 KiB) Viewed 1742 times
After successfully installing the hardware, I am very satisfied.

No transmission errors in the Gcode as with the original controller board.
Now i'm open source :D :D :D
Raise 3D E2, Prusa i 3 Mk3s Mmus2

https://www.instagram.com/proschi3d/

Markus64
Posts: 333
Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2020 4:57 pm
Location: Germany

Re: E2 Paused printing

Postby Markus64 » Thu Jan 21, 2021 3:21 pm

I wish this would work on my Pro2 too! 8-) You did a great job !!! :mrgreen:

mgramos
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2021 3:37 pm

Re: E2 Paused printing

Postby mgramos » Thu Jan 21, 2021 5:58 pm

Duuuude!!!! Please do a how-to for us plebes!!!!

Proschi3d
Posts: 138
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2020 7:13 am
Location: Deutschland
Contact:

Re: E2 Paused printing

Postby Proschi3d » Fri Jan 22, 2021 5:37 am

mgramos wrote:Duuuude!!!! Please do a how-to for us plebes!!!!


You can easily try it out.
remove the cover behind the motion board, then connect a PC or laptop to the motion board via USB.
You can now install the Repetier server and connect to the printer.
Now follow the instructions of the Repetier Server, done.

The motion board is a Duet wifi clon, but unfortunately the wifi and network module was moved to the control board.
But to set up the printer, and the Gcode commands are the same as with Duet Wifi.
The Config.g file is located on the SD card in the Motionboard, in the SYS folder.
Copy the original data from the SD card to return to the original state

abdeckung.jpg

motinboard.jpg


You can also disconnect the controller board power wire.
The display would only show an error message anyway

Controllerboard.jpg


Now have fun printing without errors :lol:

Instructions on how to do it with a Raspberry Pi with an LCD touchscreen, I'll write when I have time.
first I want to try Klipper;)
Last edited by Proschi3d on Fri Jan 22, 2021 6:31 am, edited 1 time in total.
Raise 3D E2, Prusa i 3 Mk3s Mmus2

https://www.instagram.com/proschi3d/

Bikeracer
Posts: 132
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2020 11:54 am

Re: E2 Paused printing

Postby Bikeracer » Fri Jan 22, 2021 6:21 am

Thanks very much for sharing your solution with us, much appreciated.

I live in the UK and have the same issue of not being in the USA for direct support, I bought my E2 from 3DGBIRE in the UK and their support is truly impressive but the fact that Raise3D will sell a machine abroad and then basically wipe their hands of it is appalling.

If I had been aware of this at the time I purchased the printer it would have made me seriously consider buying from a different manufacturer.

Your solution to the problem is excellent and when my warranty runs out I might be inclined to try it if I get the problem.

Is there any way to revert to the original set up?

Not being very computer savvy, does the PC have to be connected by the USB cable all the time?

Proschi3d
Posts: 138
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2020 7:13 am
Location: Deutschland
Contact:

Re: E2 Paused printing

Postby Proschi3d » Fri Jan 22, 2021 6:26 am

Bikeracer wrote:Thanks very much for sharing your solution with us, much appreciated.

I live in the UK and have the same issue of not being in the USA for direct support, I bought my E2 from 3DGBIRE in the UK and their support is truly impressive but the fact that Raise3D will sell a machine abroad and then basically wipe their hands of it is appalling.

If I had been aware of this at the time I purchased the printer it would have made me seriously consider buying from a different manufacturer.

Your solution to the problem is excellent and when my warranty runs out I might be inclined to try it if I get the problem.

Is there any way to revert to the original set up?

Not being very computer savvy, does the PC have to be connected by the USB cable all the time?


With the Pc solution, the Pc must of course be connected to the printer via the Repetier server.
If the Repetier server is connected to an LCD via a Raspberry Pi, a PC is no longer required.
in order to get back to the original state only the controller board has to be connected to the motion board again
Raise 3D E2, Prusa i 3 Mk3s Mmus2

https://www.instagram.com/proschi3d/

ww007
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2020 7:56 pm

Re: E2 Paused printing

Postby ww007 » Sat Jan 23, 2021 5:10 pm

Thanks for sharing!

So is the problem in the logic or motion controller? And what is the issue exactly? Can it be corrected with a firmware update?

Any Raise3d employees also feel free to answer...

Proschi3d
Posts: 138
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2020 7:13 am
Location: Deutschland
Contact:

Re: E2 Paused printing

Postby Proschi3d » Sat Jan 23, 2021 6:14 pm

It's up to the logic controller; the motionboard does a good job. I think there are problems with the gcode transfer to the motionboard.

I don't know if it can be fixed by a firmware update or if the hardware is just too bad. I didn't try to get access to the logic board
Raise 3D E2, Prusa i 3 Mk3s Mmus2

https://www.instagram.com/proschi3d/

Proschi3d
Posts: 138
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2020 7:13 am
Location: Deutschland
Contact:

Re: E2 Paused printing

Postby Proschi3d » Mon Jan 25, 2021 3:48 pm

I fixed the bug as it looks in its original state. I'll do a few more tests and then I'll publish it for you. Maybe Raise 3d can send me the pinout to the surprise;)
Raise 3D E2, Prusa i 3 Mk3s Mmus2

https://www.instagram.com/proschi3d/

Timo
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2020 10:05 pm

Re: E2 Paused printing

Postby Timo » Tue Jan 26, 2021 3:57 pm

I'm really satisfied with the print quality in my E2 Raise 3D printer, and my printer has never failed to print. Printer makes the same freeze every now and then, when printing. Printer wont freeze when I reduce the accuracy of the Inventor model, when I send it to the ideamaker program. The accuracy of the model is 0.005mm by default, and I know from experience, as a former machinist that that dimension is really really small. 3D printing does not require so small dimensions and accuracy.
I have reduced the accuracy up to 0.02mm. I also use templates made for the raise 3d E2 printer and i use high quality template.
Last edited by Timo on Thu Jan 28, 2021 3:53 pm, edited 5 times in total.

Proschi3d
Posts: 138
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2020 7:13 am
Location: Deutschland
Contact:

Re: E2 Paused printing

Postby Proschi3d » Tue Jan 26, 2021 5:27 pm

If you are satisfied with a 3500 € printer, it's ok.
Raise 3D E2, Prusa i 3 Mk3s Mmus2

https://www.instagram.com/proschi3d/

Timo
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2020 10:05 pm

Re: E2 Paused printing

Postby Timo » Thu Jan 28, 2021 4:02 pm

Difficult for me to compare when this is my first printer to other printer problems. All I know is that the printer is reliable. That print freeze will of course need to be fixed when the printer is so expensive.

Tfmcnellist
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2021 1:26 pm

Re: E2 Paused printing

Postby Tfmcnellist » Sat Jan 30, 2021 1:30 pm

Same problem here. Months later and my 3500.00 printer is outperformed by my 700.00 printer.


Return to “E2”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest