E2: Echo on Y Axis

User avatar
Oleksiy
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Jul 11, 2020 6:06 am

E2: Echo on Y Axis

Postby Oleksiy » Sat Jul 25, 2020 9:45 am

Hi Raise3D,

I printed small test example with new filament from Extrudr (PLA NX2) and was a bit confused because of echo on Y axis (table movement):

EchoYAxis.jpg


X axis seams to be ok

NoEchoXAxis.jpg


Also the printed part has strange gap on the right corner

GapRightBottomCorner.jpg


The question is, how I can fix the echo and gap?

User avatar
eXcelonPrime
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2020 5:48 pm

Re: E2: Echo on Y Axis

Postby eXcelonPrime » Sat Jul 25, 2020 11:07 am

What profile are you using, e.g., Standard - E2 - PLA and have you made any changes to it? It looks like you're under extruding in that last picture. How many perimeters (shells) was it printed with and what was the infill %?

User avatar
Oleksiy
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Jul 11, 2020 6:06 am

Re: E2: Echo on Y Axis

Postby Oleksiy » Sat Jul 25, 2020 11:24 am

Hi, thank you for replay. Yes, I used Standard - E2 - PLA Profile with only three changes:
1) Nozzle Temperature from 205C to 215C (because Extrudr recommends temperatures from 200C till 230C for PLA NX2, I take just the middle - 215C )
2) I increased flow from 96% (standard setting in Standard - E2 - PLA Profile) to 100%. The filament is new for me and I decided to start with 100% flow.
3) Shell Perimeters from 2.5 to 2. Also it was printed with 2 perimeters.

Снимок экрана 2020-07-25 в 13.22.37.png

User avatar
eXcelonPrime
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2020 5:48 pm

Re: E2: Echo on Y Axis

Postby eXcelonPrime » Sat Jul 25, 2020 11:34 am

I'd definitely change the flowrate back to 96% and see how it turns out. I rarely need to change it and even when I do it's only up or down by 1 or 2%.

User avatar
Oleksiy
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Jul 11, 2020 6:06 am

Re: E2: Echo on Y Axis

Postby Oleksiy » Sat Jul 25, 2020 4:02 pm

Ok, I reseted Standard - E2 - PLA Profile completely:

IMG_20200725_173855.jpg


And it seams that flow rate 100% was better. But still the right bottom corner is more under extruding as all other parts. And actually it should be 3 perimeters here (because of 2.5 shell perimeter value).

User avatar
eXcelonPrime
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2020 5:48 pm

Re: E2: Echo on Y Axis

Postby eXcelonPrime » Sat Jul 25, 2020 4:42 pm

Did you switch to this from running a higher temp filament, like PETG maybe? It still looks under extruded so maybe a partial clog?

User avatar
Oleksiy
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Jul 11, 2020 6:06 am

Re: E2: Echo on Y Axis

Postby Oleksiy » Sat Jul 25, 2020 4:49 pm

No, the printer is pretty new and till now I used only Raise3D Premium PLA (Rot and White). Also if I change the filament - it extracts very nice, no reason to think about a clog or partial clog.

User avatar
eXcelonPrime
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2020 5:48 pm

Re: E2: Echo on Y Axis

Postby eXcelonPrime » Sat Jul 25, 2020 9:24 pm

Ok, if you’ve been printing fine with the spools that came with your E2, it makes me think the problem is with this filament’s diameter consistency. It looks like it might be a lot lower (overall) than 1.75mm. Do you have a different brand you can try?

User avatar
Oleksiy
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Jul 11, 2020 6:06 am

Re: E2: Echo on Y Axis

Postby Oleksiy » Sun Jul 26, 2020 11:17 am

The filament has actually pretty gut quality (and not cheap at all), I use it many years (E2 is not my first printer). But I took measurements in several different places
IMG_20200726_125049.jpg


and it has overall 1.72mm, its not 1.75mm but the deviation is very small and constant.

This part was printed with 100% flow rate but still unter extrusion (kick on the picture to see it in fool size) :(

IMG_20200726_125522.jpg


but was is interesting - more under extrusion near sides and less in the middle.

Maybe it has sense to try 105% flow rate for this filament ... hm ...?

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 6907
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: E2: Echo on Y Axis

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Tue Jul 28, 2020 1:39 am

You mean the =side wall ghosting or the corners being rounded?
Would you like to share your printing settings with us? We can help check whether there's any room to improve or not.

User avatar
Oleksiy
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Jul 11, 2020 6:06 am

Re: E2: Echo on Y Axis

Postby Oleksiy » Tue Jul 28, 2020 7:10 am

Yes, exactly, I mean side wall ghosting and I hope it should be a room to improve because the printer is not the cheapest on the market!

But ok, to be objective I printed common acceptable model from Thingiverse for such test (https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:1278865)
IMG_20200728_085543.jpg
IMG_20200728_085532.jpg


and I hope you can see the difference between Y and X axis finish quality.

The print settings:
xyzCalibration_cube.idea
(29.67 KiB) Downloaded 3 times

[Extrudr] Базовый PLA-export.bin
(21.36 KiB) Downloaded 3 times


But you can use just Standart - E2 - PLA Profile, the result is the same and I think, that is more mechanical problem as software problem.

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 6907
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: E2: Echo on Y Axis

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Thu Jul 30, 2020 12:17 am

Actually from your picture, the ghosting doesn't look very bad.
But if you want to see whether it's possible to make it less noticable, you can try slowing the down the printing speeds a bit.

User avatar
Oleksiy
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Jul 11, 2020 6:06 am

Re: E2: Echo on Y Axis

Postby Oleksiy » Thu Jul 30, 2020 5:18 am

The ghosting doesn't look very bad on the X axis and it's ok for me, but it looks bad (not very bad but still bad enough) on the Y axis. My expectation from this 3D Printer is to have the same print quality with the same print speed on all axises.
Outer shell speed was 35mm/s - what is already pretty slowly ...
Do you have other suggestions?
Where can I find the instruction for checking and tightening the belts on E2?

PS: if we are discussing a 3d printer for 250$ - I will immediately agree with you, but it's not the case.

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 6907
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: E2: Echo on Y Axis

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Fri Jul 31, 2020 1:33 am

The Y-axis will be a little heavier than the small printhead on the X-axis so there will enevidably be more ghosting on the Y-axis.
If you are using a 3rd party material you will need to tune the pressure advance value in the start Gcode as it is currently set for our materials. For more information on pressure advance here is a breif description of what it is; https://duet3d.dozuki.com/Wiki/Pressure_advance


Return to “E2”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests