Page 1 of 1

Raise3D E2 - shift in the print head during printing.

Posted: Wed Mar 03, 2021 8:18 am
by Picaudp
Hi
I observe a recurring problem on my E2 printer, a shift in the print head during printing, whatever extruder I choose.

The problem is very random and I can't find the source of the problem. The product offset has different layer heights and I don't see any mechanical blockage or warping that could explain the jamming.
Has anyone ever had a similar problem before?

I have never had a similar problem on the Pro2.

Re: Raise3D E2 - shift in the print head during printing.

Posted: Fri Mar 05, 2021 11:23 pm
by Steven@Raise3D
Picaudp wrote:Hi
I observe a recurring problem on my E2 printer, a shift in the print head during printing, whatever extruder I choose.

The problem is very random and I can't find the source of the problem. The product offset has different layer heights and I don't see any mechanical blockage or warping that could explain the jamming.
Has anyone ever had a similar problem before?

I have never had a similar problem on the Pro2.


Based on the image it looks like you are using the right printhead. Do you notice that the shifting also occurs with the left? Also, is it consistent throughout every model or does the shifting happen randomly?

Re: Raise3D E2 - shift in the print head during printing.

Posted: Mon Mar 08, 2021 10:40 am
by Picaudp
Yes, I also notice the defect on the left as well as with the mirror print.
In the photo, if it is attached, the defect is on one of the first layers and the offset is similar.
The problem is that my offset is on both the X and Y axis, so I can't tell if it's due to the movement of the bed or the print head. One of the defects must be causing the other.

Re: Raise3D E2 - shift in the print head during printing.

Posted: Tue Mar 16, 2021 1:28 am
by Steven@Raise3D
Picaudp wrote:Yes, I also notice the defect on the left as well as with the mirror print.
In the photo, if it is attached, the defect is on one of the first layers and the offset is similar.
The problem is that my offset is on both the X and Y axis, so I can't tell if it's due to the movement of the bed or the print head. One of the defects must be causing the other.


Can you please try to print this file using PLA and let me know the results?

Re: Raise3D E2 - shift in the print head during printing.

Posted: Tue Mar 23, 2021 8:16 am
by Picaudp
Steven@Raise3D wrote:
Picaudp wrote:Yes, I also notice the defect on the left as well as with the mirror print.
In the photo, if it is attached, the defect is on one of the first layers and the offset is similar.
The problem is that my offset is on both the X and Y axis, so I can't tell if it's due to the movement of the bed or the print head. One of the defects must be causing the other.


Can you please try to print this file using PLA and let me know the results?



Hello,
I have started printing and nothing to report.
I have run several small prints that went well with my settings but I still have the problem that appears from time to time, especially on longer prints.

Re: Raise3D E2 - shift in the print head during printing.

Posted: Fri Mar 26, 2021 12:53 am
by Steven@Raise3D
Would you be able to attach the Gcode file of the model that you are experiencing shifting issues with?



Picaudp wrote:
Steven@Raise3D wrote:
Picaudp wrote:Yes, I also notice the defect on the left as well as with the mirror print.
In the photo, if it is attached, the defect is on one of the first layers and the offset is similar.
The problem is that my offset is on both the X and Y axis, so I can't tell if it's due to the movement of the bed or the print head. One of the defects must be causing the other.


Can you please try to print this file using PLA and let me know the results?



Hello,
I have started printing and nothing to report.
I have run several small prints that went well with my settings but I still have the problem that appears from time to time, especially on longer prints.

Re: Raise3D E2 - shift in the print head during printing.

Posted: Wed Mar 31, 2021 7:20 pm
by Bikeracer
Just curious as to which version of Ideamaker you are running ?

I had something similar today after I installed the latest Beta verson, went back to the previous version and printed without a problem.

Re: Raise3D E2 - shift in the print head during printing.

Posted: Thu Apr 01, 2021 9:26 am
by Picaudp
Steven@Raise3D wrote:Would you be able to attach the Gcode file of the model that you are experiencing shifting issues with?



Picaudp wrote:
Steven@Raise3D wrote:
Can you please try to print this file using PLA and let me know the results?



Hello,
I have started printing and nothing to report.
I have run several small prints that went well with my settings but I still have the problem that appears from time to time, especially on longer prints.


It is not a model that is causing problems but a material problem.
On the attached photo you can see the printout from the same Gcode, no changes were made between the two parts, they were run one after the other on the same roll (PLA Raise 3D), one with a decallage, the other without.
I have never had a similar problem with the Raise Pro 2.

To answer Bikeracer's question my Ideamaker version is 4.0.1.4802

Re: Raise3D E2 - shift in the print head during printing.

Posted: Tue Apr 06, 2021 12:59 am
by Steven@Raise3D
Would you be able to attach a few images of the hotend assembly that printed these models? If possible with the printhead cover removed.


Picaudp wrote:
Steven@Raise3D wrote:Would you be able to attach the Gcode file of the model that you are experiencing shifting issues with?



Picaudp wrote:

Hello,
I have started printing and nothing to report.
I have run several small prints that went well with my settings but I still have the problem that appears from time to time, especially on longer prints.


It is not a model that is causing problems but a material problem.
On the attached photo you can see the printout from the same Gcode, no changes were made between the two parts, they were run one after the other on the same roll (PLA Raise 3D), one with a decallage, the other without.
I have never had a similar problem with the Raise Pro 2.

To answer Bikeracer's question my Ideamaker version is 4.0.1.4802