Pro2 Printing from Filament Dryer

Thoughts about Raise3D, 3D printing and making in general.
User avatar
Vagulus
Posts: 169
Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2019 5:27 am

Pro2 Printing from Filament Dryer

Postby Vagulus » Fri Oct 04, 2019 10:25 pm

My recently purchased desiccator (Printdry Filament Dryer FD-770https://www.cubictech.com.au/products/printdry-3d-print-filament-dryer?variant=28234501455977&currency=AUD&cmp_id=690597483&adg_id=38170791964&kwd=&device=c&gclid=CjwKCAjw29vsBRAuEiwA9s-0B48ggnxgFdtKzh9KET1SuJrw8DeI1u1igiddNN5orRRtP4aP8lUy9BoCZ6oQAvD_BwE) has convenient outlet holes so filament can be fed directly from the desiccator to the printer. Problem is that I want to print in Nylon (eSun EPA https://www.cubictech.com.au/products/esun-epa-nylon-3d-print-filaments-1-75mm-1kg?variant=33782068105&currency=AUD&cmp_id=690597483&adg_id=38170791964&kwd=&device=c&gclid=CjwKCAjw29vsBRAuEiwA9s-0ByYY_qv1igD1710GPuEX2SWaa8BjRTn07Uy3vulbPeIMUPO3_dNE2xoCrP4QAvD_BwE and I have been advised that that means putting the lid on my Pro2 printer. Obviously I can't run filament into an enclosed printer.

Does anyone have some experience/solution to this conflict of interest?
--------------------------------------------
God so loved the World that
He did not send a Committee

Patronus
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2019 11:09 am

Re: Pro2 Printing from Filament Dryer

Postby Patronus » Thu Oct 10, 2019 8:05 pm

My Pro2 Plus has two inlet holes close to the bottom of the side door through which the filament can enter from an external dryer. Doesn't your Pro2 also have those holes?

In my experience the inside of the Pro2 becomes something of a filament dryer itself when printing. I dry my filaments externally (I also use a Printdry which by the way doesn't nearly get as hot or dry inside as they advertise but it still works). Then I print normally with the filament inside the printer. When I'm done it goes back into the sealed bag.

User avatar
Vagulus
Posts: 169
Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2019 5:27 am

Re: Pro2 Printing from Filament Dryer

Postby Vagulus » Thu Oct 10, 2019 9:39 pm

You're right :shock: . Silly me :oops: ! Thanks.
--------------------------------------------
God so loved the World that
He did not send a Committee

mdana
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2019 1:36 am

Re: Pro2 Printing from Filament Dryer

Postby mdana » Fri Oct 18, 2019 9:58 pm

I ran into issues printing PVA from a polybox with the tube routed through the ports on the right door. Halfway through a long print, the filament started to cut into the guide tube near the top of the printer (Pro2 Plus) and stopped feeding into the extruded. I’m thinking about mounting the polybox above the printer and running the tube through a hole in the cover. In the meantime, I’ve been drying the spool between prints and using the built in spool holders.

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 6492
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: Pro2 Printing from Filament Dryer

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Mon Oct 21, 2019 9:48 pm

Normally we don't print PVA with top cover on as PVA is not a moisture sensitive filament but also sensitive to temperature.
We have a PVA setup guide on our website. You can check the pictures inside to see how we normaly setup Polybox and feeding tube for printinger Polyflex.
https://support.raise3d.com/Pro2-Series ... 4-366.html


Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests