Build Plate size

Thoughts about Raise3D, 3D printing and making in general.
Omojesu
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2016 6:21 pm

Build Plate size

Postby Omojesu » Sat Jul 06, 2019 10:43 am

Hello Guys,

I use an N2 with a 305 x 305mm build plate size but I have a model size 304.8 x 303.27 x 40mm and IDEAMAKER will just NOT accommodate the model.

Any realistic tweaks I can make, anyone?

Please don't tell me to go find a 500 x 500mm build plate printer, thats plan B.

Thanks

Jetguy
Posts: 2811
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 1:40 am
Location: In a van, down by the river

Re: Build Plate size

Postby Jetguy » Sat Jul 06, 2019 12:13 pm

As stated in several earlier identical topics there are design decisions on how the N2 series (both N2 and N2 Plus) that limit the build area.
#1 the build plate itself is larger than the area the nozzles can move. In other words, the plate in and of itself is not the limiting size- however there is a catch 22.

#2 The build plate is intentionally offset to the back and right of the nozzle homed position so that the nozzle clears the edge of the bed. The problem is, that then means that is LOST usable build area because the nozzle movement area is offset compared to the bed being underneath all that area.

#3 The nozzle movement area is physically limited by the frame of the printer. It simply was only ever designed at best for about 305mm with little to no margin to spare.

#4 The firmware places a soft limit on the movement such that greater than 305mm of movement cannot be commanded. While the N series motion control firmware is open source, modifications are not recommended for the average person. This is mostly a false gain anyway and path some people attempt to go down thinking they can solve a hardware problem (limited build area bound by hardware limits).

#5 Some people then 3d print new endstop switch mounting offset brackets to home the nozzle over the bed. All that does is use up the lost build area. You don't gain build area that way, without also moving or changing some of the physical hardware bump stops and limits.

#6 Ideamaker recent versions may have an offset that subtracts from the build area limit of theoretical 305mm in XY. You can lower or reduce this offset in hopes of having the slicer slice the file- but that does not mean you will be able to physically print it without mechanical modifications to the printer. See the setting change in this topic https://forum.raise3d.com/viewtopic.php ... 429#p46904
Keep in mind- this thread proved there is a massive difference between a Pro2 and an N2. The bed in a Pro2 is placed under the nozzle when homed or very nearly so. In the N series there is a definite offset of the bed compared to the nozzle travel area, coupled with the clips then also interfering. Those both further reduce the usable build area of the N series.

https://forum.raise3d.com/viewtopic.php ... lit=offset
https://forum.raise3d.com/viewtopic.php ... 90&p=36250

Modification topic
https://forum.raise3d.com/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=6054
Firmware mod info- Caution- run at you own risk and highly likely out of date firmware wise- no I'm not redoing it:
320mm limit firmware for N2 Plus already done for you in this post viewtopic.php?f=4&t=4571&p=21220&hilit=320mm#p21220
Also, includes details in configuration.h if you decide to go custom .

Also, did N2 dual extruder to 320 in the same thread. viewtopic.php?f=4&t=4571&p=21220&hilit=320mm#p21223


You have an uphill battle that requires modifications potentially to all 3 major systems- hardware, firmware, and the slicing software.

Omojesu
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2016 6:21 pm

Re: Build Plate size

Postby Omojesu » Sat Jul 06, 2019 6:41 pm

Thanks Jetguy, link below has made the difference, appreciated :lol:
https://forum.raise3d.com/viewtopic.php ... 429#p46904


Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests