Filament stepper not turning during printing

printilio

Filament stepper not turning during printing

Postby printilio » Wed May 12, 2021 6:26 am

I've got a Raise3D Pro2, SN 10131828082. I've never used it before; trying to get it up and running after it was put in storage. Judging by the scraps I found along with it, it's had ... issues.

I followed the getting started guide, downloaded a random 3D model from the 'net, sliced it, printed it, and ... nothing. The head is moving and the printer thinks it's printing, but nothing is coming out of the nozzle. I'm using the Raise3d Premium Red PLA.

The funny thing is that the feeding works. With the nozzle at 260, the motor is definitely pulling on the filament, and plastic is oozing out. I followed the procedure in the wiki to set the tension on the extruder and basically the second that screw is in at all, it's already grabbing the filament.

I put a sharpie dot on the shaft of the extruder motor to verify that it's simply not rotating during printing. Nozzle is set to 205. Any ideas?

ccclarke

Re: Filament stepper not turning during printing

Postby ccclarke » Wed May 12, 2021 11:40 pm

Your thread title says, "Filament Stepper Not Turning During Printing" yet your description of the problem states, "the feeding is working". These statements contradict each other. Which is it?

IT's difficult to determine from what you've written if you've followed the correct sequence. If it isn't laying down filament, you've got some preliminary steps to complete before you get to the point of slicing and printing something.

The sequence to get the left hot end running is:

1. Home the print head.

2. Set the nozzle height.

3. Load filament until it flows from the nozzle. If you can't pass this step, you have troubleshooting to perform.