Filament not detected - Print Paused - Ideas as to why?

User avatar
red
Posts: 108
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2019 7:57 pm

Filament not detected - Print Paused - Ideas as to why?

Postby red » Fri Jun 14, 2019 2:08 pm

Hey folks - so I started a print last night on my Pro2, only to find via RaiseCloud this morning that it was paused. No amount of hitting play would start it back up. Eventually, the printer just displayed as "busy", appearing to hang.

Come into the studio, and the LCD displays that "filament not detected". I'm running a brand-new spool of MatterHacker's Glow-In-The-Dark. There was no jam that I could see, the feeding tube appeared to be properly seated, etc.

I hit ok, and it displayed "resuming print". However it never did and just hanged. Temps were where they should be. I turned off detect filament, to no avail. Eventually I cycled the power. Fortunately, it gave me the option to resume (thank the heavens.)

What could be causing this? Translucent filament? Could it be the feed tube wasn't completely seated? I can't afford for this to happen too many times, and opinions would be appreciated. Thanks.

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 6939
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: Filament not detected - Print Paused - Ideas as to why?

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Fri Jun 14, 2019 5:53 pm

It is hard to guarantee that the run-out sensor works with all kinds of material in the market perfectly, different colors, different diameters of the spools we haven't tested may cause mis-triggered the sensor. I would recommend test the sensor's function with our filament first to make sure it is a working sensor. If the sensor is confirmed as a working one, and you still see that the sensor doesn't work with one filament well, please disable it when using this filament.

User avatar
red
Posts: 108
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2019 7:57 pm

Re: Filament not detected - Print Paused - Ideas as to why?

Postby red » Fri Jun 14, 2019 6:19 pm

Vicky@Raise3D wrote:It is hard to guarantee that the run-out sensor works with all kinds of material in the market perfectly, different colors, different diameters of the spools we haven't tested may cause mis-triggered the sensor. I would recommend test the sensor's function with our filament first to make sure it is a working sensor. If the sensor is confirmed as a working one, and you still see that the sensor doesn't work with one filament well, please disable it when using this filament.


That makes sense. Thank you for the timely response.

Cotty
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2019 12:42 pm

Re: Filament not detected - Print Paused - Ideas as to why?

Postby Cotty » Thu Jun 20, 2019 1:37 pm

I had a similar issue this week with PVA and now yellow PLA today. The filament's approach to the sensor path appears to effect whether the sensor can detect it. I moved the guide tubes that they ride against the lid in front of the print head rather than behind it. so far it seems to be working.

User avatar
red
Posts: 108
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2019 7:57 pm

Re: Filament not detected - Print Paused - Ideas as to why?

Postby red » Thu Jun 20, 2019 6:19 pm

Cotty wrote:I had a similar issue this week with PVA and now yellow PLA today. The filament's approach to the sensor path appears to effect whether the sensor can detect it. I moved the guide tubes that they ride against the lid in front of the print head rather than behind it. so far it seems to be working.


That's weird. Glad you got around it. I'm 2 days into a print with Raise3D grey, and so far so good.

User avatar
Jay_Omega
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2018 2:37 am

Re: Filament not detected - Print Paused - Ideas as to why?

Postby Jay_Omega » Thu Jun 20, 2019 10:26 pm

I've had the same thing happen using glow in the dark, UV and temp color change filament.

I suspect that the sensor is infrared based, and some of these filaments are more or less transparent to that wavelength.

Turning off the filament sensor worked for me.

:D

User avatar
red
Posts: 108
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2019 7:57 pm

Re: Filament not detected - Print Paused - Ideas as to why?

Postby red » Fri Jun 21, 2019 6:21 pm

Jay_Omega wrote:I've had the same thing happen using glow in the dark, UV and temp color change filament.

I suspect that the sensor is infrared based, and some of these filaments are more or less transparent to that wavelength.

Turning off the filament sensor worked for me.

:D


That sound about right to me. I turned it off for a second print with the glow stuff, and had no problem.

Mobynick01
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2020 10:55 pm

Re: Filament not detected - Print Paused - Ideas as to why?

Postby Mobynick01 » Sat Jun 13, 2020 3:43 pm

I am currently having the same issue with Raise3d white filament that came with the printer. I turned off the run out sensor and it seems to be working fine, but I would really like to have the sensor activated. It is my hope that the white filament that is shipped with the printer was one of the filaments that were tested with the sensor...

So that being said, could this be a wiring issue for me or something other than "you are using a filament that we haven't tested"?

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 6939
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: Filament not detected - Print Paused - Ideas as to why?

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Tue Jun 16, 2020 6:28 pm

If inseting filament manually, can you see the red indicator lights on the sensor flash on and off?
And please try re-align the sensor by loosening and re-tightening the two front screws on the runout sensor and see whether result changes or not.

Mobynick01
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2020 10:55 pm

Re: Filament not detected - Print Paused - Ideas as to why?

Postby Mobynick01 » Sat Jun 20, 2020 6:52 pm

When I insert the filament manually, the light does not come on. I have noticed now, that when the head is in the home position, the light comes on and stays on. If I shift the guide tube toward center, the light goes off. The guide tube is in as far as it can go. I am guessing the guide tube shifting while the printer head moves is what is causing the run out sensor to trip due the the filament being shifted as well. Would it help to get a guide tube that is ever so slightly thicker in diameter to get a more firm fit?

I have yet to try loosening ad re-tightening the sensor screws. but will try that after this print I have going finishes.

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 6939
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: Filament not detected - Print Paused - Ideas as to why?

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Tue Jun 23, 2020 12:15 am

It is probaly a bad FRS cable. Please open a support ticket and have our support team to help you diagnose.


Return to “Pro2 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests