Ideamaker 3.1.7 Impossible to print with raft

Discussions about ideaMaker and other printing software.
Lorenzo
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2018 9:32 am

Ideamaker 3.1.7 Impossible to print with raft

Postby Lorenzo » Mon Jul 09, 2018 11:44 am

Al ready created a support ticket, but wanted to open up the discussion here as well. When I get a fix, i'll post it here too.

It seems impossible to create Gcode with a raft in 3.1.7. Instead of a raft, it prints a brim. No matter what I do, it always reverts to brim instead of raft.

What did I check?
* No group or layer settings overriding the raft
* Raft only was selected in the main template and was not changed in the advanced settings
* Ideamaker preview also shows a brim, not a raft.
* Tried reinstalling the software
* Made a completely new template; same result

Is anyone else experiencing the same problem?

Kind regards,

Lorenzo

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 4564
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: Ideamaker 3.1.7 Impossible to print with raft

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Sat Jul 14, 2018 1:57 am

May I ask your .data file to take a look?

Lorenzo
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2018 9:32 am

Re: Ideamaker 3.1.7 Impossible to print with raft

Postby Lorenzo » Mon Jul 16, 2018 11:40 am

Hello Vicky,

I already sent the data and gcode file for one of my prints to Rachel on the 12th of july. The data and Gcode file both say it should be printed with a brim, but I can assure you that the profile I'm using for slicing says raft and the brim options are even greyed out. When I do a print preview in Ideamaker, I see it is going to print a brim instead of a raft. No matter what I do, it always prints with the rim instead of the raft.

This doesn't only happen with this particular file, but any file I'm slicing.

Kind regards,

Lorenzo

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 4564
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: Ideamaker 3.1.7 Impossible to print with raft

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Tue Jul 17, 2018 10:28 pm

I sliced a cube for your with Raft enabled in ideaMaker 3.1.7.
Print the first several layers to see whether the Raft has been printed properly.
If so, import the .data file attached together into ideaMaker as a new slicing profile. And slice a model with this profile to see whether you can get Raft this time or not.
20mm_Calibration_Box.rar
(37.01 KiB) Downloaded 17 times

Lorenzo
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2018 9:32 am

Re: Ideamaker 3.1.7 Impossible to print with raft

Postby Lorenzo » Mon Jul 23, 2018 11:11 am

Hello Vicky,

The 20 mm Gcode file works perfectly, with raft. I imported the data file as a profile. I sliced a part with that profile and again, no raft.
I added the files from the part I sliced to this message.

Kind regards,

Lorenzo
Attachments
RFX Part.zip
(323.07 KiB) Downloaded 20 times

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 4564
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: Ideamaker 3.1.7 Impossible to print with raft

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Tue Jul 24, 2018 8:03 pm

Please double confirm whether you have set anything under Filament Settings, Per-Layer and Per-Group Settings.

Lorenzo
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2018 9:32 am

Re: Ideamaker 3.1.7 Impossible to print with raft

Postby Lorenzo » Wed Jul 25, 2018 9:23 am

I double checked Per-layer and Per-Group settings. Both were empty. I also checked the filament settings for the left extruder, again no over rides were active. I'm only printing with the left extruder but I did check the right extruder filament settings as well, PVA was selected there, eventho I do not use it at this time. I saw that overrides were in effect. When disabling those overrides I can print with raft again.

I had it on by default, so apparently when you install IdeaMaker and choose PVA as secondary filament, it automatically enables the override and you can only print with brim anymore.

In any case, for me this issue is now solved. Thanks Vicky for the help!

Kind regards,

Lorenzo

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 4564
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: Ideamaker 3.1.7 Impossible to print with raft

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Thu Jul 26, 2018 11:56 pm

Thanks for your update! That makes a lot sense.


Return to “Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests