Storage Box For V2 Hot Ends

Show off your prints, mods, etc.
JoeyC
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2018 5:57 pm

Storage Box For V2 Hot Ends

Postby JoeyC » Mon May 07, 2018 6:04 pm

After looking at the process to swap nozzles I decided it was simpler to get a few extra hot end assemblies and set each one up with a different nozzle size. Now it just takes a minute to swap to a new nozzle.

Of course now I needed something to store the unused hot end assemblies in, so I created this storage box using openSCAD. You can print a box for 1,2,3,4, or however many extra hot ends you have.

rack.jpg


All the files are up on Thingiverse: https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:2897262

Alex M.
Posts: 171
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2018 4:59 pm

Re: Storage Box For V2 Hot Ends

Postby Alex M. » Mon May 07, 2018 10:05 pm

Great idea on both counts! 8-)

JoeyC
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2018 5:57 pm

Re: Storage Box For V2 Hot Ends

Postby JoeyC » Mon May 07, 2018 11:20 pm

Thanks

User avatar
Korni
Posts: 207
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2018 8:11 am

Re: Storage Box For V2 Hot Ends

Postby Korni » Tue May 08, 2018 5:27 am

But will not fit for the Pro2 Hot Ends, right?
Pro2+ Image

JoeyC
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2018 5:57 pm

Re: Storage Box For V2 Hot Ends

Postby JoeyC » Tue May 08, 2018 3:00 pm

Korni wrote:But will not fit for the Pro2 Hot Ends, right?


Only if they are exactly the same size/shape as the V2 hot ends.

User avatar
Korni
Posts: 207
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2018 8:11 am

Re: Storage Box For V2 Hot Ends

Postby Korni » Tue May 08, 2018 3:07 pm

JoeyC wrote:
Korni wrote:But will not fit for the Pro2 Hot Ends, right?


Only if they are exactly the same size/shape as the V2 hot ends.

I do not think so ...
Pro2+ Image

User avatar
jetdillo
Posts: 137
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 5:10 am

Re: Storage Box For V2 Hot Ends

Postby jetdillo » Tue Jun 05, 2018 1:25 pm

Neat idea and +1 for using OpenSCAD :)

Jetguy
Posts: 2700
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 1:40 am
Location: In a van, down by the river

Re: Storage Box For V2 Hot Ends

Postby Jetguy » Wed Jun 06, 2018 6:05 pm

Korni wrote:
JoeyC wrote:
Korni wrote:But will not fit for the Pro2 Hot Ends, right?


Only if they are exactly the same size/shape as the V2 hot ends.

I do not think so ...


The pro2 is slightly smaller in the heatsink and upper mounting boss, but the heater block is the same.
Point being, I think it would fit or be relatively easy to adjust the size- just have "extra" room at the top.
V2-Hot-End-Assembly-6_600x600.jpg
V2-Hot-End-Assembly-6_600x600.jpg (8.6 KiB) Viewed 632 times

VS
PRO2 HOTEND ISSUE.JPG

User avatar
jetdillo
Posts: 137
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 5:10 am

Re: Storage Box For V2 Hot Ends

Postby jetdillo » Thu Jun 07, 2018 7:24 am

It shouldn't be too hard to adjust the size of the various features since this is done in OpenSCAD.
I'll take a look at it this weekend if I have some time.

User avatar
jetdillo
Posts: 137
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 5:10 am

Re: Storage Box For V2 Hot Ends

Postby jetdillo » Thu Jun 07, 2018 3:34 pm

Jetguy wrote:
Korni wrote:
JoeyC wrote:
Only if they are exactly the same size/shape as the V2 hot ends.

I do not think so ...


The pro2 is slightly smaller in the heatsink and upper mounting boss, but the heater block is the same.
Point being, I think it would fit or be relatively easy to adjust the size- just have "extra" room at the top.
V2-Hot-End-Assembly-6_600x600.jpg

VS
PRO2 HOTEND ISSUE.JPG


Is there a CAD model for the new hotends ?
Has anybody taken measurements ?

Jetguy
Posts: 2700
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 1:40 am
Location: In a van, down by the river

Re: Storage Box For V2 Hot Ends

Postby Jetguy » Fri Jun 08, 2018 3:06 pm

jetdillo wrote:Is there a CAD model for the new hotends ?
Has anybody taken measurements ?

From this discussion where that picture came from viewtopic.php?f=2&t=8426#p30754
I would ask Hellsbellsidaho


Return to “User's Gallery”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 4 guests