Help dialing in settings

Share your successful printing settings with others here. If you have any question about the parameters or printing skills of some filament, please find here.
tech108

Help dialing in settings

Postby tech108 » Mon Apr 02, 2018 8:06 pm

I'm new to 3D printing and trying to get settings dialed in. I have an N2 Plus and have been using the PLA that came with the printer. I tried default settings, turned extruder temp up, turned build plate up, reduced flow by 4%, then I tried these settings posted by Kazzar13 in another topic...

For PLA I use 210 nozzle, 62 bed, 45mm/s speed, 0.2mm layer height, 0.16mm first layer (thanks Jetguy et al https://3dprinterwiki.info/tips/first-layer-settings/ 1.0mm retraction at 40mm/s

And I'm just not getting acceptable prints.

The top turned out ok for this frog but the underside looks awful.

The supports for this failed from the start but I let it go since they weren't really necessary for this model. It started pealing up from the build plate (glass with glue stick @62c) after a while. Also, right at the boundry between the fill and the wall you can see buildup (flow reduced to 90%).

And I woke up this morning to this mess. But I have a feeling this was caused by the strings from the failed supports getting stuck in the motors.

So I guess my question is, where do I even start to address these issues?

Jetguy

Re: Help dialing in settings

Postby Jetguy » Tue Apr 03, 2018 12:54 pm

Let's address the first thing on the frog which is the underside is called overhang. Why overhang? Because you have a sloped surface hanging out in space with nothing but air underneath to try and print. It overhangs opens space. The frog was modeled with a slope and angle that if and only if extruder temperature and sufficient layer cooling is provided, the hot plastic as it comes out of the nozzle cools and becomes solid before gravity can pull it down.

Some known things here specific to your printer.