Missing Lines/Gaps after Slicing

Share your successful printing settings with others here. If you have any question about the parameters or printing skills of some filament, please find here.
Skydesigne
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2018 12:43 pm

Missing Lines/Gaps after Slicing

Postby Skydesigne » Wed Mar 28, 2018 1:12 pm

Hi guys,
I have a problem with missing lines and gaps after slicing even if I set Infill to 100% and Shells to 4.
What can I do, which settings can I change to completely fill the component.
In the picture you see an arrow that consists of two shells, but it should be completely filled with material.
I also have this problem with other files. :(

Missing Lines.png

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 3495
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: Missing Lines/Gaps after Slicing

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Thu Mar 29, 2018 2:37 am

Have you ever given this option a try?
1.png

Skydesigne
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2018 12:43 pm

Re: Missing Lines/Gaps after Slicing

Postby Skydesigne » Thu Mar 29, 2018 9:24 am

Thank you for your response!
Yes, I have already tried this function.
The gaps still appear, you see no change by activating the function and re-slicing.
I once again attached a picture of the Benche, where the problem also occurs.

Missing Lines Benche.png

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 3495
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: Missing Lines/Gaps after Slicing

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Thu Mar 29, 2018 11:04 am

Skydesigne wrote:Thank you for your response!
Yes, I have already tried this function.
The gaps still appear, you see no change by activating the function and re-slicing.
I once again attached a picture of the Benche, where the problem also occurs.

Missing Lines Benche.png


Change the infill type from rectilinear to line can fix your problem.
Since the gap is too small to let the rectilinear type to turn direction.

Skydesigne
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2018 12:43 pm

Re: Missing Lines/Gaps after Slicing

Postby Skydesigne » Thu Mar 29, 2018 11:30 am

Thank you!
That fixed the problem!
I think that the slicer is the best currently and I would be glad if in the future the algorithm would be a little better in this respect.
Cura uses very fine lines and extends shells when fill layers are not worth it.

Many thanks for the help!

Missing lines Benche solved.png

User avatar
Noren
Posts: 362
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2016 12:54 am
Location: Borås, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Missing Lines/Gaps after Slicing

Postby Noren » Thu Mar 29, 2018 7:21 pm

If fill gap in shells doesn’t work with rectilinear infill shouldn’t the activation of this option show a warning about this and automatically switch the infill type to linear? We can’t educate everyone on this. At least put in a text warning in the hi beneath the option.

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 3495
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: Missing Lines/Gaps after Slicing

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Sat Mar 31, 2018 5:44 am

Noren wrote:If fill gap in shells doesn’t work with rectilinear infill shouldn’t the activation of this option show a warning about this and automatically switch the infill type to linear? We can’t educate everyone on this. At least put in a text warning in the hi beneath the option.


Actually ideaMaker cannot do the identify of whether the final result with different types of infill type with different model is proper or not. It can only do the generating of the infill based on the settings and model shape you choose.

User avatar
Noren
Posts: 362
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2016 12:54 am
Location: Borås, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Missing Lines/Gaps after Slicing

Postby Noren » Sat Mar 31, 2018 7:12 am

Vicky@Raise3D wrote:Actually ideaMaker cannot do the identify of whether the final result with different types of infill type with different model is proper or not. It can only do the generating of the infill based on the settings and model shape you choose.


But it knows if I press the “fill gaps in shell” and could show a recommendation to change the infill.

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 3495
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: Missing Lines/Gaps after Slicing

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Sat Mar 31, 2018 12:25 pm

Noren wrote:
Vicky@Raise3D wrote:Actually ideaMaker cannot do the identify of whether the final result with different types of infill type with different model is proper or not. It can only do the generating of the infill based on the settings and model shape you choose.


But it knows if I press the “fill gaps in shell” and could show a recommendation to change the infill.


We will try to improve this feature in future versions.


Return to “Printing Settings”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests