Conductive Filament

Share your successful printing settings with others here. If you have any question about the parameters or printing skills of some filament, please find here.
luizmof
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2018 7:26 pm

Conductive Filament

Postby luizmof » Thu Jan 04, 2018 7:39 pm

Hi,

I've used conductive filament (ABS) with a MakerBots Replicator 2X, however now my project is bigger than before and I need a bigger printer too. I will use a Raise 3D N2 and I've the doubt if is there any kind of restriction to conductive filament? Can I use the same ABS, or there is any recommendation from the Raise3D about conductive filament?

Thanks in advance,
Luiz

User avatar
Casale8
Posts: 119
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2017 5:17 pm
Location: The Real Upstate New York

Re: Conductive Filament

Postby Casale8 » Fri Jan 26, 2018 8:21 pm

I apologize for not having seen this before to help or add insight. We have an N2 Dual.
I haven't worked with conductive ABS, yet. I have worked with two Conductive PLA's.

The Proto-Pasta's https://www.proto-pasta.com/collections/new-releases-favorites/products/conductive-pla
and
https://www.blackmagic3d.com/.

Proto-Pasta's stuff prints really nice for us when it works. The sample we received was beautiful. The spools thereafter require some work. 'The material is inconsistent by nature' per the manufacturer and soft so the friction on the spool to the gear is iffy. I'm about to replace the filament gear to see if I can work it better.

The Black Magic material is so inconsistent and coarse I couldn't get it to print more than RAFT. I have spent about 8 hours trying. I will someday make another attempt.

What Conductive ABS have you used?
-SCC
“One man's "magic" is another man's engineering. "Supernatural" is a null word.” -R.A.Heinlein

luizmof
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2018 7:26 pm

Re: Conductive Filament

Postby luizmof » Mon Jan 29, 2018 6:00 pm

Casale8 wrote:I apologize for not having seen this before to help or add insight. We have an N2 Dual.
I haven't worked with conductive ABS, yet. I have worked with two Conductive PLA's.

The Proto-Pasta's https://www.proto-pasta.com/collections/new-releases-favorites/products/conductive-pla
and
https://www.blackmagic3d.com/.

Proto-Pasta's stuff prints really nice for us when it works. The sample we received was beautiful. The spools thereafter require some work. 'The material is inconsistent by nature' per the manufacturer and soft so the friction on the spool to the gear is iffy. I'm about to replace the filament gear to see if I can work it better.

The Black Magic material is so inconsistent and coarse I couldn't get it to print more than RAFT. I have spent about 8 hours trying. I will someday make another attempt.

What Conductive ABS have you used?


Thanks for your attention!

I've used ABS from this site https://www.up3dbrasil.com.br/outros-fi ... utivo-abs/. It has great mechanical resistance, what is crucial for my application. One friend has used it to print passive filters with capacitance and inductance together.

If you want to see one of our application: http://ieeexplore.ieee.org/document/8050712/


Return to “Printing Settings”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests