Modify GCode

Share your successful printing settings with others here. If you have any question about the parameters or printing skills of some filament, please find here.
stevetriple
Posts: 56
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2018 6:27 pm

Modify GCode

Postby stevetriple » Tue Apr 24, 2018 6:18 pm

Hi everyone, is it possible to modify the GCode so the nozzle doesn't extrude an amount of color before every print but only when it starts to print?
Thanks
Giuseppe

Jetguy
Posts: 2647
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 1:40 am
Location: In a van, down by the river

Re: Modify GCode

Postby Jetguy » Tue Apr 24, 2018 6:33 pm

Yes, starting gcode in the profile. Probably something to take some time, go through line by line, lookup what you do not know.
http://marlinfw.org/meta/gcode/

So in the profile
Proper starting gcode squence.jpg


This is the sequence that purges
G1 F140 E29
G1 X20 Y0 F140 E30
G92 E0

The first line says to G1 (coordinated extruding move) @ feedrate of 140mm/m extrude (E) 29mm of filament
The second line is also a G1, move to X20 Y0 also feed rate of 140mm/m, extrude 1 more mm (30-29mm from previous line)
Since this is the starting sequence, before the print you must always reset logical "I am Here" position to 0 and in this case, we reset the current extruder feeder distance to start at 0 before actual print code.

So remove
G1 F140 E29
G1 X20 Y0 F140 E30
and leave only a single
G92 E0

stevetriple
Posts: 56
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2018 6:27 pm

Re: Modify GCode

Postby stevetriple » Thu Apr 26, 2018 1:08 pm

Jetguy wrote:Yes, starting gcode in the profile. Probably something to take some time, go through line by line, lookup what you do not know.
http://marlinfw.org/meta/gcode/

So in the profile
Proper starting gcode squence.jpg


This is the sequence that purges
G1 F140 E29
G1 X20 Y0 F140 E30
G92 E0

The first line says to G1 (coordinated extruding move) @ feedrate of 140mm/m extrude (E) 29mm of filament
The second line is also a G1, move to X20 Y0 also feed rate of 140mm/m, extrude 1 more mm (30-29mm from previous line)
Since this is the starting sequence, before the print you must always reset logical "I am Here" position to 0 and in this case, we reset the current extruder feeder distance to start at 0 before actual print code.

So remove
G1 F140 E29
G1 X20 Y0 F140 E30
and leave only a single
G92 E0


Awesome, I'll try, thank you


Return to “Printing Settings”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests