Custom Controls/Command Buttons?

Raise3D is always hearing. If you have a feature requested related to our product, or if you have new ideas that need attention from the community, please post here.
Online
zemlin
Posts: 297
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2017 2:02 pm

Custom Controls/Command Buttons?

Postby zemlin » Wed Nov 01, 2017 4:51 pm

I use octoprint on my #1 printer (Makergear M2) and love the custom command functionality.
For bed leveling, for example, I have made my own buttons to position the nozzle at each of the 4 corners of the bed as well as the center.

I also have buttons for changing the Z-offset for the bed (the latest M2 Z-homes at the bottom so bed thickness and offset can be changed with commands)

I don't like the idea of moving the head by hand when adjusting the bed. I'd rather it move as it would while printing. Pushing the arrows 10mm at a time is tedious.

I'm only on day 3 with my N2+, so it may already be there.

User avatar
Michael.P@Raise3D
Posts: 225
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2016 4:51 pm
Location: Costa Mesa
Contact:

Re: Custom Controls/Command Buttons?

Postby Michael.P@Raise3D » Wed Nov 01, 2017 5:56 pm

Hi Zemlin,

We currently do not have the function to move the print head to a specific spot for leveling in the system. We will add this to the list of requests to send to our software developers. Thank you for your input, we look forward to seeing what you are able to create with the help of our product!
Michael Petitclerc, Technician
Tel: +888 963 9028
Web: http://www.raise3d.com

Online
zemlin
Posts: 297
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2017 2:02 pm

Re: Custom Controls/Command Buttons?

Postby zemlin » Wed Nov 01, 2017 7:14 pm

Custom buttons with user-assignable scripts would be a nice way to address this issue - and would open up all kinds of opportunities for additional functionality without requiring updates or development cost.

Jetguy
Posts: 2470
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 1:40 am
Location: In a van, down by the river

Re: Custom Controls/Command Buttons?

Postby Jetguy » Wed Nov 08, 2017 2:07 pm

Until they do this, simply upload your own custom gcode file and name it the name of your script. Not as nice as some shiny button, but gets the job done until this request is implemented.

Jetguy
Posts: 2470
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 1:40 am
Location: In a van, down by the river

Re: Custom Controls/Command Buttons?

Postby Jetguy » Wed Nov 08, 2017 2:23 pm

Also, been asked for before: viewtopic.php?f=6&t=3569&p=19091
Again, back to the basic request at the start of this thread which basically says we as users want more control over the exact script run when pause is executed. This request is not alone in that a few other features from the touch screen follow the same basic pattern, a logical button on the screen runs a script of gcode sent to the motion board.
Right now, we have almost no way of editing that script of action as even advanced users today.
The suggestion was that Raise 3D exposes either a file, series of files, or dialog boxes were we can
#1 see the very gcode script being exected related to a button press
#2 potentially edit or be able to select customized scripts in place of the stock scripts.

Why? Because the alternative of trying to have dialog boxes with options for some of these increases development time and complexity, and is a never ending cycle of one user wants one thing and another user wants another. Again, the fundamental problem is much bigger, users want more control over action buttons and the more we get down to these option tick boxes- the bigger the problem becomes. By editing gcode scripts associated with a button, the user has infinite power over what they can control (only limited by the gcode command structure itself).


And viewtopic.php?f=6&t=2105&p=17647
The most requested scripts that are associated with action buttons on the LCD
Load filament- people wanting to make manual adjustments here maybe additional actions
Unload filament
Pause- probably the single most requested one because users want certain parking positions or other XYZ actions such as lowering the bed
Print resume- This is one that we really have the least control over. It would be good to see and better understand how the toushcreen manipulates the starting gcode to resume the print from the last line completed.
Potentially give a place for user scripted buttons. You label it what you want and it prints a script file. Example is lowering the bed. For a million reasons we know why you cannot assume it is safe to do so- but users want a scripted action. Giving them a place so they can do that is all about customization

Again, the situation is that there are some "canned" functions in the LCD touch system that happen and all we can do is keep submitting requests to make changes. That's not effective for either side and what one user wants, another user might hate. So just like a user can edit the starting gcode in Ideamaker as well as the ending gcode, this is about being able to customize other actions that until now, we had no way to access or change. All we can do is request a change and wait for the next update and hope it has it. By building the framework out, making these actions files which a user can edit or substitute would solve a massive number of improvement requests and make a lot more folks happy rather than these 1-2 people requests.

Online
zemlin
Posts: 297
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2017 2:02 pm

Re: Custom Controls/Command Buttons?

Postby zemlin » Wed Nov 08, 2017 2:51 pm

Jetguy wrote:Until they do this, simply upload your own custom gcode file and name it the name of your script. Not as nice as some shiny button, but gets the job done until this request is implemented.

Yeah, that would work.
So - the image that appears with Ideamaker files .... I haven't looked into it at all, but where is that created/strored in the GCODE file?
I know files from S3D don't get the pretty picture - but it could be useful to create 3D models for icons on the actions if they could be displayed with the custom g-code files.

Jetguy
Posts: 2470
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 1:40 am
Location: In a van, down by the river

Re: Custom Controls/Command Buttons?

Postby Jetguy » Wed Nov 08, 2017 3:31 pm

When Ideamaker slices a gcode file it makes 2 files, the gcode and a separate .data file. That .data file is also transferred when using Ideamaker upload (AKA file transfer) function. 3rd party slicers do not have the information to create this additional .data image file and thus do not display an image. Raise3D has not (even after request) shown us how to create the data file open source. viewtopic.php?f=5&t=163&start=80#p20783

So again, to answer your question- no image is stored in the gcode file itself. Gcode is just gcode.
The preview image file is not required and is optional and is only created by ideamaker and is transferred separately during the "upload" process to local storage or will also be present when you export a print gcode file from ideamaker.

but it could be useful to create 3D models for icons on the actions if they could be displayed with the custom g-code files.

I'm not disagreeing that this wouldn't be nice to have, quite a few times folks have asked for an open source snippet of code just to create this .data file or share it with vendors like Simplify 3D to allow them to properly and better work with Raise 3D.

Point being, at best, the workaround is create some kind of STL that would represent your icon. Slice with ideamaker to get a gcode file and matching dat file. Delete or ignore the gcode file. Take your named script gcode file and this icon data file and name them the same name. If you use ideamaker and the upload function, it may grab both and upload both (not sure, need to test this theory), otherwise, you may have to use the network SCP protocol to transfer to the local file system on the printer. Other option is USB or SD card, but then that card has to remain plugged into the printer all the time to house your custom scripted print function "buttons".

Honestly, this is the one kind of sore spot with Raise 3D. They play this open source game where yes, the Marlin is open source, the boards are not, much of the hardware is not, the touch screen LCD and it's code are not, the API's are not open or even public knowledge. We aren't asking for the key to the kingdom but a little more cooperation here on real advances the community is trying to work on and share- come on Raise 3D, get the hint.

Online
zemlin
Posts: 297
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2017 2:02 pm

Re: Custom Controls/Command Buttons?

Postby zemlin » Wed Nov 08, 2017 5:24 pm

Good info, as usual Mr. Jetguy. Thanks.
Sounds like something to occupy an evening sometime soon.

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 3612
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: Custom Controls/Command Buttons?

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Thu Nov 09, 2017 6:00 am

Jetguy wrote:Point being, at best, the workaround is create some kind of STL that would represent your icon. Slice with ideamaker to get a gcode file and matching dat file. Delete or ignore the gcode file. Take your named script gcode file and this icon data file and name them the same name. If you use ideamaker and the upload function, it may grab both and upload both (not sure, need to test this theory)


If the .data file and .gcode file are sharing the completely the same name with each other and under the same directory, when loading the .gcode file from ideaMaker, it will grab the .data file with the same name together.


Return to “Feature requests, ideas, wishes”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests