IdeaMaker mac fixes.

Raise3D is always hearing. If you have a feature requested related to our product, or if you have new ideas that need attention from the community, please post here.
User avatar
Noren
Posts: 92
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2016 12:54 am
Location: Borås, Sweden
Contact:

IdeaMaker mac fixes.

Postby Noren » Mon Jan 16, 2017 8:14 am

Hi. There are a number of bugs in the IdeaMaker mac version.

My biggest issues are:
· scrolling not working in the pop up menus. Have to use the scroll bar.
· pop up menus not adapting width to the width of the text. (Cant read the names of presets for ex).

/Andreas

jvingaard
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2016 10:01 am

Re: IdeaMaker mac fixes.

Postby jvingaard » Mon Jan 16, 2017 9:15 am

I can confirm that!

Online
User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 1868
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: IdeaMaker mac fixes.

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Tue Jan 17, 2017 10:09 am

So sorry for that. We will check and test these two soon.

User avatar
Noren
Posts: 92
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2016 12:54 am
Location: Borås, Sweden
Contact:

Re: IdeaMaker mac fixes.

Postby Noren » Tue Jan 17, 2017 10:29 am

Vicky@Raise3D wrote:So sorry for that. We will check and test these two soon.


Thank you for that.

I would like to add one other problem as well.
When adding stl-files from Fusion 360. The orientation they are placed in ideaMaker are wrong.
They are standing on one edge and has to be rotated 90° on the x-axis to get the correct orientation.

/Andreas

Orientation in Fusion 360:
Skärmavbild 2017-01-17 kl. 11.24.37.png


Imported position in ideaMaker:
Skärmavbild 2017-01-17 kl. 11.23.18.png


Corrected the position by rotating 90° on the x-axis:
Skärmavbild 2017-01-17 kl. 11.23.24.png


Would be nice if ideaMaker could place the imported stl files as they are oriented in the file.
I guess the files has some kind of embedded metadata that apps can read? If i preview the same stl in the Mac's Finder for example, the orientation is correct:
Skärmavbild 2017-01-17 kl. 11.31.16.png

Jetguy
Posts: 1141
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 1:40 am

Re: IdeaMaker mac fixes.

Postby Jetguy » Tue Jan 17, 2017 3:14 pm

I'm just asking but isn't this orientation problem the fault of not properly setting up Fusion 360 for 3D printing style axis?
In other words, in many 3D non-printing apps, Z axis is depth. In 3D printing, Z axis is vertical.
http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/design-va ... -p/5445468

So this seems more a failure of basic preparation for 3D printing as every other slicer you would load your STL into would say the same thing, your exported origin and orientation is wrong, not something "wrong" with the slicer app.

If the is a specific problem where the Mac version loads it one way and the Windows version loads another way, I would think ALL STL files you ever load would be this issue.

User avatar
Noren
Posts: 92
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2016 12:54 am
Location: Borås, Sweden
Contact:

Re: IdeaMaker mac fixes.

Postby Noren » Tue Jan 17, 2017 4:35 pm

Oh. I dont know. I use he export to stl function from fusion. But if this is something that fusion should correct I don't know. But until then it wouldn't be really heard to let ideamaker correct the orientation on stls that's generetad from fusion. I can submit a question to Autodesk. But since other apps do show the same stls in the correct orientation I guess it's ideamaker that needs a fix.

User avatar
woofy
Posts: 70
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2016 4:09 pm

Re: IdeaMaker mac fixes.

Postby woofy » Tue Jan 17, 2017 5:33 pm

That sounds very odd.
Do you have an example stl you can post that shows different orientation in ideamaker than, say, cura?
Raise3D N2+, Ultimaker2 & UP plus printers.

User avatar
Noren
Posts: 92
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2016 12:54 am
Location: Borås, Sweden
Contact:

Re: IdeaMaker mac fixes.

Postby Noren » Tue Jan 17, 2017 6:20 pm

woofy wrote:That sounds very odd.
Do you have an example stl you can post that shows different orientation in ideamaker than, say, cura?


I haven't tried any other apps more than the Preview in Mac OS Sierra. There it shows the correct orientation.

User avatar
Noren
Posts: 92
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2016 12:54 am
Location: Borås, Sweden
Contact:

Re: IdeaMaker mac fixes.

Postby Noren » Tue Jan 17, 2017 6:24 pm

Vicky. One more thing.
The app isn't verified with apple. And you can't open the first time unless you override the system warnings and right click on the app and choose Open. It doesn't look good for a legit app.

Online
User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 1868
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: IdeaMaker mac fixes.

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Thu Jan 19, 2017 11:14 am

Noren wrote:Hi. There are a number of bugs in the IdeaMaker mac version.

My biggest issues are:
· scrolling not working in the pop up menus. Have to use the scroll bar.
· pop up menus not adapting width to the width of the text. (Cant read the names of presets for ex).

/Andreas


Hi Andreas,

For the first problem we have already checked in ideaMaker. Will improve in future version.

For the second problem, would you like to share some screenshot here?

Online
User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 1868
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: IdeaMaker mac fixes.

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Thu Jan 19, 2017 12:43 pm

Noren wrote:Vicky. One more thing.
The app isn't verified with apple. And you can't open the first time unless you override the system warnings and right click on the app and choose Open. It doesn't look good for a legit app.


Notes taken. Should be something related to license.

User avatar
Noren
Posts: 92
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2016 12:54 am
Location: Borås, Sweden
Contact:

Re: IdeaMaker mac fixes.

Postby Noren » Fri Jan 20, 2017 10:07 am

Vicky@Raise3D wrote:
Noren wrote:Hi. There are a number of bugs in the IdeaMaker mac version.
· pop up menus not adapting width to the width of the text. (Cant read the names of presets for ex).
/Andreas

For the second problem, would you like to share some screenshot here?


Hi. Below you can see screen shots of the places in the mac ui there text gets cut of or truncated.
Especially hard to know which the different filament settings are due to names being truncated.
/Andreas

1.png

2.png

4.png

3.png

5.png

User avatar
Noren
Posts: 92
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2016 12:54 am
Location: Borås, Sweden
Contact:

Re: IdeaMaker mac fixes.

Postby Noren » Fri Jan 20, 2017 10:08 am

Could only attach 5 images. Some more here:

6.png

7.png

8.png

User avatar
GnoStiC
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2016 5:20 pm

Re: IdeaMaker mac fixes.

Postby GnoStiC » Sat Jan 21, 2017 6:27 pm

note: i don't know if this is a mac only issue or a general one.

for some models, ideamaker complains that they are not valid. we can repair them but if the model is a complex one, ideamaker never finishes repairing. (osx sierra, i7, 16gb)

e.g.: https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:392804

Online
User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 1868
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: IdeaMaker mac fixes.

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Thu Jan 26, 2017 1:23 pm

GnoStiC wrote:note: i don't know if this is a mac only issue or a general one.

for some models, ideamaker complains that they are not valid. we can repair them but if the model is a complex one, ideamaker never finishes repairing. (osx sierra, i7, 16gb)

e.g.: https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:392804


I have met some very complex models which need to be fixed before, the repair work really take very long time. But finally it will finish.

I have tried there largest two in the link you shared.
One takes about 5 minutes to finish and the other one takes over 10 minutes, but finally complete.
20170126142853.png
20170126212219.png

User avatar
GnoStiC
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2016 5:20 pm

Re: IdeaMaker mac fixes.

Postby GnoStiC » Thu Jan 26, 2017 3:06 pm

feature request: faster model repair.

1ie1ld.jpg


Return to “Feature requests, ideas, wishes”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest