Severe underextrusion

Topics around mechanical design, controller and electronics. Mods & hacks welcome.
pearson222
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2017 2:14 pm

Severe underextrusion

Postby pearson222 » Sun Jul 01, 2018 2:39 pm

I am experiencing severe under extrusion on both of my N2's. This started as soon as I replaced my touchscreens with replacement units from Raise3D to fix a WiFi connectability issue. I am running Bondtech extruders and have set the e-step value to 415 for both printers. There are no clogs and have tried a variety of nozzles and sizes without any change. Here is where I am stumped: when I prime the nozzle it is extruded at the normal and expected width .58mm with a .5mm nozzle. When I start a print with the settings I have used on all of my Simplify3D profiles (ex: Extrusion rate: 1.00 Extrusion width: Auto) the extrusion width is 0.38mm. Using a 4mm nozzle the extrusion width will be 0.28mm. What could possibly be causing this?

I am running 1.1.6-rev1 on both printers.

Image
Image
Image

zemlin
Posts: 372
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2017 2:02 pm

Re: Severe underextrusion

Postby zemlin » Sun Jul 01, 2018 7:58 pm

Have you checked the flowrate settings on the TUNE screen of the touch screen?

pearson222
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2017 2:14 pm

Re: Severe underextrusion

Postby pearson222 » Tue Jul 03, 2018 4:31 am

Yes and it is set to 100%

ABH
Posts: 182
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2016 7:31 pm

Re: Severe underextrusion

Postby ABH » Tue Jul 03, 2018 6:51 pm

"Extrusion width" setting in the slicer is only a parameter used by the slicer to calculate the slicing pattern.
You cannot measure a physical "extrusion width" the way you show here. The width of the extruded plastic in free air which you measure in the photo will depend on plastic material properties.
The physical "extrusion width" you will see on the bed for the first layer only depends on the clearance between the nozzle tip and bed. Reduce the clearance if you are under-extruding in the first layer. You don't show how the printed model looks further into the print. This will be needed for seeing if there is a real under-extrusion. You could try to print the 20x20x20 mm massive cube, that we normally use for filament calibration.

pearson222
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2017 2:14 pm

Re: Severe underextrusion

Postby pearson222 » Thu Jul 19, 2018 4:23 pm

When I load filament it comes out of the nozzle at the correct width ex: 0.4mm. The first 3-4 layers of every print the plastic is coming out of the nozzle at 0.25mm without ever touching the bed. I have tested this by printing with the nozzle offset from the bed by 2". If the nozzle extrudes the correct diameter during filament loading then that eliminates issues like a clogged extruder, nozzle issues, etc...

pearson222
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2017 2:14 pm

Re: Severe underextrusion

Postby pearson222 » Mon Jul 23, 2018 9:16 pm

Does anybody have any ideas of how I can troubleshoot this? It is making it impossible to get a decent print.

DS2017
Posts: 80
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2017 6:00 pm
Location: San Diego

Re: Severe underextrusion

Postby DS2017 » Mon Jul 23, 2018 11:12 pm

Have you tried simply increasing the flowrate?
Does S3D know that it's using a 0.5mm not a 0.4mm nozzle?
Also try test printing a simple cube via Ideamaker and see if it does the same.

Alex M.
Posts: 185
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2018 4:59 pm

Re: Severe underextrusion

Postby Alex M. » Wed Jul 25, 2018 7:24 am

Have you tried using IdeaMaker? If so, does it do the same thing?

I have never used S3D but something you wrote makes me wonder......
pearson222 wrote:When I start a print with the settings I have used on all of my Simplify3D profiles (ex: Extrusion rate: 1.00 Extrusion width: Auto) the extrusion width is 0.38mm. Using a 4mm nozzle the extrusion width will be 0.28mm. What could possibly be causing this?


Why is the Extrusion width set to Auto? Like I said, I have never used S3D but this made me wonder if this could be the issue. Have you tried setting it to your desired width instead of Auto? Or is this not something that is done in S3D?


Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests