Pro 2 Plus - Build Tak Plate Replacement??

Topics around mechanical design, controller and electronics. Mods & hacks welcome.
mastersapo
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat May 26, 2018 3:13 am

Pro 2 Plus - Build Tak Plate Replacement??

Postby mastersapo » Tue Jun 05, 2018 2:22 am

So I had a print stuck on the magnetic build plate and was using the spatula to remove the print. As it came free, the sharp edge gouged the build tak. Anyone know the process to replace the Buildtak on the magnetic plate system? It looks almost like 1 piece, but I can't imagine you would just peel and replace.

Also, anyone know what size Buildtak to use?

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 3624
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: Pro 2 Plus - Build Tak Plate Replacement??

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Tue Jun 05, 2018 3:16 am

It is removable. But if there is only one little scratch, normally it won't affect too much your printing quality.
And please double check your nozzle distance to build plate when origin, it might be too close.

mastersapo
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat May 26, 2018 3:13 am

Re: Pro 2 Plus - Build Tak Plate Replacement??

Postby mastersapo » Tue Jun 05, 2018 9:44 pm

Vicky@Raise3D wrote:It is removable. But if there is only one little scratch, normally it won't affect too much your printing quality.
And please double check your nozzle distance to build plate when origin, it might be too close.

Which size Build Tak is used for the Pro 2 Plus?

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 3624
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: Pro 2 Plus - Build Tak Plate Replacement??

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Wed Jun 06, 2018 6:44 am

332*340mm

EldRick
Posts: 277
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2017 5:55 am

Re: Pro 2 Plus - Build Tak Plate Replacement??

Postby EldRick » Wed Jun 06, 2018 6:34 pm

You would be far better off replacing the buildtak with PEI, as has been documented in many threads here.

mastersapo
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat May 26, 2018 3:13 am

Re: Pro 2 Plus - Build Tak Plate Replacement??

Postby mastersapo » Thu Jun 07, 2018 10:21 pm

Vicky@Raise3D wrote:332*340mm


That does not appear to be a standard size from Build Tak, nor in PEI sizes. 12" x 12" appears to be the closest standard size. Does Raise 3D or Buildtak plan to sell the standard size for the Pro2?

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 3624
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: Pro 2 Plus - Build Tak Plate Replacement??

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Sun Jun 10, 2018 8:42 am

We are going to open the sale of spare parts of Pro2 series soon which will include build surface inside.
If you have urgent use, shoot us a mail to sales@raise3d.com to check whether in your area, we have any stocking or not can be ordered before putting online.

EldRick
Posts: 277
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2017 5:55 am

Re: Pro 2 Plus - Build Tak Plate Replacement??

Postby EldRick » Sun Jun 10, 2018 3:05 pm

a) the Buildtak peels off fairly easily, and can be replaced by,
b) https://catalog.cshyde.com/viewitems/3d ... /ultem-pei

Get a larger sheet and trim the edges to fit with a knife.


Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests