Filament Run-out Sensor Add-on

Topics around mechanical design, controller and electronics. Mods & hacks welcome.
User avatar
awolf
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2017 8:48 pm

Re: Filament Run-out Sensor Add-on

Postby awolf » Fri May 04, 2018 10:09 pm

Thanks Alex. I had rashly decided that that was the case, and it seems to be working... (have not tested the sensor yet though).

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 3483
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: Filament Run-out Sensor Add-on

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Sat May 05, 2018 5:24 pm

Please use the firmwares posted on Filament Run-out Sensor Installation Guide page for Filament Run-out Sensor.
https://www.raise3d.com/pages/filament- ... nstruction

kencfii
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2017 5:29 pm

Re: Filament Run-out Sensor Add-on

Postby kencfii » Wed May 09, 2018 6:09 pm

So has anyone tried this and see what happens when the printer runs out of filament?

Does it go to pause and then Home the heads?
Do you just load new filament as usual and then resume..

There has been some discussion here about what happens but I believe that was for aftermarket Home built units.

Just curious exactly what the raise firmware will do.

Got my run out sensor and thermal protector in the mail, hope to install soon.

Thanks

Perhaps a video?

Jetguy
Posts: 2346
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 1:40 am
Location: In a van, down by the river

Re: Filament Run-out Sensor Add-on

Postby Jetguy » Wed May 09, 2018 6:26 pm

Same as you pressing pause on the screen. Understand that the DIY solution and the Raise 3D filament sensor do the same thing, work the same way because the RAISEPACK LCD firmware is what commands the pause, what controls the action. The mainboard is just following gcode.
All the FSR Marlin firmware version does is when that filament sensor also plugged into the endstop ports, just like the DIY solution triggers, then the mainboard sends to the LCD the pause gcode command. The LCD enters it's pause routine sending more gcode commands and stopping the print just as if you have touched the LCD and commanded a pause. Yes, you can run the load and unload filament just like any other pause.

Again, DIY solution and Raise 3D solution are the same thing. Yes, the sensor might be a different device, but the functionality by design is the same.

kencfii
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2017 5:29 pm

Re: Filament Run-out Sensor Add-on

Postby kencfii » Wed May 09, 2018 7:03 pm

Thank you very much for clarity

frjez
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2017 2:55 am

Re: Filament Run-out Sensor Add-on

Postby frjez » Sun May 20, 2018 12:21 am

WOW!!! I just realize how expensive the F.Run-Out-Sensor is. 84€ for the sensor while the Main Controller board is 99,9€
This is just plain unfair! It's like buying a car tor 100 and then buying a spare tire for 30 :-(

DISAPPOINTED....

Anthonyvanv
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2018 1:03 pm

Re: Filament Run-out Sensor Add-on

Postby Anthonyvanv » Mon May 21, 2018 2:24 pm

is there any way to switch the sensor from LR to RL? Do I just switch the Y+ and Z+ wires? I don’t like that it is backwards.

Anthonyvanv
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2018 1:03 pm

Re: Filament Run-out Sensor Add-on

Postby Anthonyvanv » Mon May 21, 2018 3:18 pm

Also, Vicky, the runout sensor mount was 100% designed to mount to the top of the extruder.

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 3483
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: Filament Run-out Sensor Add-on

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Tue May 22, 2018 11:30 am

Anthonyvanv wrote:is there any way to switch the sensor from LR to RL? Do I just switch the Y+ and Z+ wires? I don’t like that it is backwards.


Switch the white and green cable on Y and Z terminals.

kencfii
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2017 5:29 pm

Re: Filament Run-out Sensor Add-on

Postby kencfii » Tue May 22, 2018 11:45 am

It did and it works :-)

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 3483
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: Filament Run-out Sensor Add-on

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Tue May 22, 2018 1:51 pm

Anthonyvanv wrote:Also, Vicky, the runout sensor mount was 100% designed to mount to the top of the extruder.


You are right that the original design of the part is designed to mount onto the top of the extruder. But after several tests, we found that the trigger didn't work properly every time and digged out that the issue should be related to too short distance for the software to react.
To improve the working accuracy, it will be more recommended to be installed above filament spools to ensure enough react time. We apologize for this confusion to you.

Iamkar33m
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2017 2:53 pm

Re: Filament Run-out Sensor Add-on

Postby Iamkar33m » Tue May 22, 2018 1:58 pm

Vicky@Raise3D wrote:
Anthonyvanv wrote:Also, Vicky, the runout sensor mount was 100% designed to mount to the top of the extruder.


You are right that the original design of the part is designed to mount onto the top of the extruder. But after several tests, we found that the trigger didn't work properly every time and digged out that the issue should be related to too short distance for the software to react.
To improve the working accuracy, it will be more recommended to be installed above filament spools to ensure enough react time. We apologize for this confusion to you.


So what does this mean for your new PRO models that have it above the extruder?

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 3483
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: Filament Run-out Sensor Add-on

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Wed May 23, 2018 7:33 am

Iamkar33m wrote:
Vicky@Raise3D wrote:
You are right that the original design of the part is designed to mount onto the top of the extruder. But after several tests, we found that the trigger didn't work properly every time and digged out that the issue should be related to too short distance for the software to react.
To improve the working accuracy, it will be more recommended to be installed above filament spools to ensure enough react time. We apologize for this confusion to you.


So what does this mean for your new PRO models that have it above the extruder?


The Pro2 series printers are not using the same firmware as N series printers, which doesn't include this issue. So on Pro2 series, the Filament Run-out sensor is installed above extruder by default.


Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests