Touch screen freezing

Topics around mechanical design, controller and electronics. Mods & hacks welcome.
User avatar
jmp
Posts: 213
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2016 12:20 pm

Touch screen freezing

Postby jmp » Wed Oct 04, 2017 9:43 pm

A few months ago I started noticing that if I left my printer on for a couple days the touch screen would be unresponsive, ie needed to do a hard reboot. If I am running a long print after about a day or so the touch screen will freeze, the print head will stop, the heat bed and hot end will maintain heated temperature, and again a hard reboot is required. I was running old firmware and raisepack, updated both, and am still having the issue. Also to note I didn't turn off my printer once between October 2016 and March 2017 and did a 1400 print hour project where this issue didn't happen once so it wasn't always this way. Any thoughts on the issue? I really can't trust it until its fixed.
RL Name: Jason Preuss Thingiverse: JMP Youtube:http://youtube.com/c/patterntoprint Website: http://www.patterntoprint.com

User avatar
walshlg
Posts: 1346
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2016 12:01 pm

Re: Touch screen freezing

Postby walshlg » Wed Oct 04, 2017 10:05 pm

I had this and it was from the usb cords loosening - raise had me hot glue them into front board and main board sockets

User avatar
jmp
Posts: 213
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2016 12:20 pm

Re: Touch screen freezing

Postby jmp » Wed Oct 04, 2017 10:06 pm

walshlg wrote:I had this and it was from the usb cords loosening - raise had me hot glue them into front board and main board sockets

I will check this out and see if it helps, thanks for the tip.
RL Name: Jason Preuss Thingiverse: JMP Youtube:http://youtube.com/c/patterntoprint Website: http://www.patterntoprint.com

User avatar
Michael.P@Raise3D
Posts: 225
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2016 4:51 pm
Location: Costa Mesa
Contact:

Re: Touch screen freezing

Postby Michael.P@Raise3D » Wed Oct 04, 2017 10:37 pm

Hi Jason,

We would like to have you submit a support ticket so we can help resolve this situation quickly. Please proceed to this site and submit the info you have provided us here so our technicians can assist you. http://help.raise3d.com/support/home

Thank you,
Michael
Michael Petitclerc, Technician
Tel: +888 963 9028
Web: http://www.raise3d.com

User avatar
jmp
Posts: 213
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2016 12:20 pm

Re: Touch screen freezing

Postby jmp » Sun Oct 22, 2017 7:58 pm

So it turns out I had to get a complete replacement for the touchscreen/computer. I have an installation question that I haven't gotten a response to on my support ticket yet and I'm hoping I can get a quick answer here as I can't finish without knowing.

From what I unplugged from my V1 board notice the small white plug on the right
IMG_2372.JPG


I'm not sure where on the V2 board to plug it in, looks like there are 2 possibilities on the top right.
IMG_2371.JPG
RL Name: Jason Preuss Thingiverse: JMP Youtube:http://youtube.com/c/patterntoprint Website: http://www.patterntoprint.com

Jetguy
Posts: 2700
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 1:40 am
Location: In a van, down by the river

Re: Touch screen freezing

Postby Jetguy » Sun Oct 22, 2017 9:53 pm

No, please, please do not do what you are saying as you will blow the board sky high.

See the big green screw terminal on the smaller second board?
That connector in the bundle of wires is 24V coming from the PSU.
On newer boards, you cut the connector off and wire it into those screw terminals following polarity!!!!!!
If you plug that 24V into the wrong connector, you will blow that brand new control board set sky high.


Jetguy
Posts: 2700
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 1:40 am
Location: In a van, down by the river

Re: Touch screen freezing

Postby Jetguy » Sun Oct 22, 2017 10:07 pm

Greater details added to Raise 3D pictures and documentation.
V2 Screen 24V cable.jpg

n2 wiring bundle.JPG

Jetguy
Posts: 2700
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 1:40 am
Location: In a van, down by the river

Re: Touch screen freezing

Postby Jetguy » Sun Oct 22, 2017 10:21 pm

For those who want to know more here is the basic high level explanation why there is that second board present.

On V1 systems what was basically shipped the first year or so (so all kickstarter units and a fair amount of sales after the kickstarter) the board is a relay timer board. It's a pretty simple idea when you stand back and look at the system. They used a pcDuino and needed it to turn on and boot when the printer is powered on. The way they got that to work and also keep the battery backing is use a time delay relay board. So the sequence is, the 24V feeding the pcduino touchscreen board on V1 directly, that is regulated by an onboard 12V regulator and on the far right edge of the board was 2 connectors, one for LED and the other is a 12V out. So basically, when there is 24V in then 12V comes out. However, they wanted to ensure a small delay before the printer turned on so the motion control board marlin was powered first. So this time delay relay board just waits a couple of seconds and then the relay clicks. What the relay is closing is the power button contact on the pcDuino board. That's why the V1 relay, it is powered by the 12V output and is simply shorting the contact and since it's a relay, isolated the 12V circuit from the low logic level voltage of the on button switch contacts of the pcDuino.

V2 uses a newer solid state time delay board and it has some new features beyond the previous function. One of them now is, the 24V from the PSU now goes to that board. So the time delay board is not just a time delay to trigger the power switch button of the pcDuino, but also, a voltage regulator circuit now feeding the newer V2 pcDuino board. Again, the fundamental difference is that 24V from the PSU now is wired into the screw terminals on the delay board and does not connect to pcDuino directly. Further, the relay board is not powered by the pcDuino 12V output- instead, the time delay board actually powers the entire pcDuino.

As before, the battery charging is on the pcDuino itself so the battery always plugs into the pcDuino board directly.

Also, early machines had no external reset button. Later models added it. It is imperative to NOT plug anything other than the reset switch into the reset port or again, you can blow the board sky high. In fact, plugging in the battery or 24V can result in really bad damage that could go beyond just the board.
Last edited by Jetguy on Tue Oct 24, 2017 6:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
jmp
Posts: 213
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2016 12:20 pm

Re: Touch screen freezing

Postby jmp » Mon Oct 23, 2017 1:38 am

Jetguy- Thanks for the detailed explanation. Definitely glad I didn't do any guessing.

I think I know what I need to do but since I am already out $450 for the first replacement I am going to wait for an official response to my support ticket so that any possible mistake with this new board isn't mine. In the future I strongly suggest that Raise3D include instructions for this swap as the boards are so different and a mistake could be pretty damaging.
RL Name: Jason Preuss Thingiverse: JMP Youtube:http://youtube.com/c/patterntoprint Website: http://www.patterntoprint.com

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 4274
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: Touch screen freezing

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Mon Oct 23, 2017 10:40 am

Please do not power on the machine until our support engineer make the final confirmation of your wirings.

Jetguy
Posts: 2700
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 1:40 am
Location: In a van, down by the river

Re: Touch screen freezing

Postby Jetguy » Tue Oct 24, 2017 6:08 pm

Did this get resolved? Just saying, hate to see a person trying to print on the weekend and waiting until Tuesday to even power on.

User avatar
jmp
Posts: 213
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2016 12:20 pm

Re: Touch screen freezing

Postby jmp » Wed Oct 25, 2017 4:23 pm

I got a call from tech support on Monday explaining what I needed to do (which matched up with what you said). Went to connect the wires yesterday and because the wire terminal is higher than were the plug was on the V1 board the wires were not long enough. I was a bit frustrated so I walked away from it but tonight I will solder on additional wire so it reaches. I am also doing some other long put off upgrades/maintenance so this is more of a project than just swapping out the touch screen unit. I might have everything up by the end of the evening but it probably won't get completely finished until this weekend.
RL Name: Jason Preuss Thingiverse: JMP Youtube:http://youtube.com/c/patterntoprint Website: http://www.patterntoprint.com

Jetguy
Posts: 2700
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 1:40 am
Location: In a van, down by the river

Re: Touch screen freezing

Postby Jetguy » Wed Oct 25, 2017 4:42 pm

There is likely a ton of length on that wire bundled in the base of the machine VS soldering. Your choice and do what works best for you. Just saying, I hate making more connections than required as it just is one more place for something to go wrong. In fact, you could just run any 18-20 gauge wire direct from the PSU and pull out that existing JST connector based wire since the new box does not need it. Again, My first choice is contiguous wire VS anything with connectors or splices.

User avatar
jmp
Posts: 213
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2016 12:20 pm

Re: Touch screen freezing

Postby jmp » Sat Oct 28, 2017 10:27 am

Jetguy wrote:There is likely a ton of length on that wire bundled in the base of the machine VS soldering.

Normally I would do this except I have the N2+ and I figured I would much more likely damage the printer trying to tip that beast over to access the bottom than any issues from extending the wires. If at any point I have to access the power supply I will redo it (or if I have problems with the screen).

The replacement is in and has been on for a couple days so I think this issue is fixed. Don't know 100% because for the first time ever I got a cold end jam and I haven't gotten that cleared out yet.
RL Name: Jason Preuss Thingiverse: JMP Youtube:http://youtube.com/c/patterntoprint Website: http://www.patterntoprint.com

Noodle
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2018 8:31 pm

Re: Touch screen freezing

Postby Noodle » Tue Jan 02, 2018 8:54 pm

Hi, Jason. I got the same situation as you mentioned. I was told to have my screen box replaced, too. But the new circuit board was not really the same as the original one. And the technician told me to connect the 24v wire to the PSU(the green one). But then when I plugged in electricity, it blew with a little spark and smoke. And the screen did not display anything, problem not solving. Also I am kind of worring what happened with the circuit board,because I was following the direction of technicians. if it is not working anymore, Pretty much a waste of my buying a new screen box. So I want to know how did u go on fixing it and what is the circuit now of your machine. Thx a lot!

User avatar
jmp
Posts: 213
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2016 12:20 pm

Re: Touch screen freezing

Postby jmp » Wed Jan 03, 2018 7:01 pm

Noodle wrote:Hi, Jason. I got the same situation as you mentioned. I was told to have my screen box replaced, too. But the new circuit board was not really the same as the original one. And the technician told me to connect the 24v wire to the PSU(the green one). But then when I plugged in electricity, it blew with a little spark and smoke. And the screen did not display anything, problem not solving. Also I am kind of worring what happened with the circuit board,because I was following the direction of technicians. if it is not working anymore, Pretty much a waste of my buying a new screen box. So I want to know how did u go on fixing it and what is the circuit now of your machine. Thx a lot!

I had the same case with the new board being a different version of the current one. The technician's instructions matched that of Jetguy's post earlier in this thread. It has been working fine with the new screen box.
RL Name: Jason Preuss Thingiverse: JMP Youtube:http://youtube.com/c/patterntoprint Website: http://www.patterntoprint.com

User avatar
Michael.P@Raise3D
Posts: 225
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2016 4:51 pm
Location: Costa Mesa
Contact:

Re: Touch screen freezing

Postby Michael.P@Raise3D » Wed Jan 03, 2018 7:51 pm

Hi Noddle, could you toss me an email at michael.p@raise3d.com so we can see what happened.
Michael Petitclerc, Technician
Tel: +888 963 9028
Web: http://www.raise3d.com


Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests