Not reaching temperature

Topics around mechanical design, controller and electronics. Mods & hacks welcome.
User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 2431
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: Not reaching temperature

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Tue Jun 27, 2017 4:02 am

Dear Sir,

Please install our latest touchscreen firmware:
https://s3.amazonaws.com/ideamaker/touc ... .raisepack

After upgrading the firmware, enter Setting -> More Settings -> Hardware -> PID Settings -> PID Autotune.
1.png

Choose the nozzle which you want to set high temperature and set the target temperature value there. If you need 250C very often, then set Tuning Temperature to be 250C. Press Start, it will start automatically.
2.png


After it shows the final result on screen, press Apply.
3.png

Back to home page and try heating to high temperature one more time to check whether it helps.

Jetguy
Posts: 1782
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 1:40 am

Re: Not reaching temperature

Postby Jetguy » Mon Jul 24, 2017 11:44 am

Can we get this added to the FAQ pages? https://www.raise3d.com/pages/faq

The problem is, this is buried in the forum making it the needle in the haystack.

Jetguy
Posts: 1782
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 1:40 am

Re: Not reaching temperature

Postby Jetguy » Mon Jul 24, 2017 11:47 am

Also, note, we have a generally hard to navigate and find support answers problem. For example highly recommend this is in the FAQ section, but then you also have the WIKI. Somehow this all needs combined into a more sensible single resource for users.

Definitely, any technical information posted here in the "community" should be either in the wiki or linked FAQ sections as finding them here is a nightmare.

EldRick
Posts: 114
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2017 5:55 am

Re: Not reaching temperature

Postby EldRick » Mon Jul 24, 2017 3:45 pm

Note that the first three items in the "wiki" (Mechanic Tips, Software Tips, and Print Defects) are content-free - not linked to anything.

Also, PID for the heated print bed is missing.

Jetguy
Posts: 1782
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 1:40 am

Re: Not reaching temperature

Postby Jetguy » Mon Jul 24, 2017 4:42 pm

I think the bed is not running PID in the Marlin firmware, hence why you do not see a way to override or autotune it on the LCD.

The Marlin firmware running on the motion controller has to have PID enabled for the BED to actually use PID.
https://github.com/Raise3D/Marlin-Raise ... guration.h

line 253 //#define PIDTEMPBED
The // means it's commented out, so running bang bang on off, not PID.

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 2431
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: Not reaching temperature

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Tue Jul 25, 2017 8:46 am

We are currently constructing our website, and planning to add more instructions onto the website and remove some unused or incorrect information from the current website.
Thanks for your suggestion about the WIKI and FAQ page, we will take into consideration.

cbarron
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Oct 10, 2017 7:26 pm

Re: Not reaching temperature

Postby cbarron » Sat Oct 14, 2017 9:27 pm

I had the same problem. Tried to run polycarbonate at 295 which i've many times before on this machine; wouldn't heat up above 285. I reseated the connectors on the head and everything instantly started work correctly again.

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 2431
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: Not reaching temperature

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Mon Oct 16, 2017 1:50 am

cbarron wrote:I had the same problem. Tried to run polycarbonate at 295 which i've many times before on this machine; wouldn't heat up above 285. I reseated the connectors on the head and everything instantly started work correctly again.


Would you like to attach a picture to share which connector you have checked? So that others have the same problem later can follow your step.
Is that the one big black one on extruder board?


Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests