IM profile and dual extruder - temperature behaviour

Discussions about ideaMaker and other printing software.
pieri70

IM profile and dual extruder - temperature behaviour

Postby pieri70 » Mon Jul 23, 2018 8:47 pm

Hello
I'm new to IM, coming from S3D which made me crazy with the correct start gcode / temperature settings for two extruders
Let's say I'm lazy and I like to have a single profile for a given filament and use it to print with left extruder or with right extruder not at the same time.
The nice thing in S3D is the automatic setup of all the features (infill/support shells etc.) assigned to the extruder I want to use. Then it makes a mess with temperatures of hotends. But it heat the bed before the extruders if no temperature setting is found in the start gcode.
In IM I see I must create a different template if I want to print with T0 or with T1 because If I choose to print with left extruder (T0, T1 temperature set to zero) I must manually assign all features to left extruder and with "insert heatup GCode automatically in start Gcode" I get a start gcode like this

Code: Select all

M92 E450.00000
M221 T0 S101.00
M140 S80.00
M104 T0 S235.00
M109 T0 S235.00
T0
M190 S80.00
M1001
;LAYER:0
;Z:0.200

Here T0 heatup is triggered as soon as the bed starts to heat.. It could take more than 10 minutes to reach temperature and my filament could burn into the nozzle...
IMO M190 should be inserted after M140 and then M104 T0/M109 T0..

Or I must create my own heatup sequence in start gcode and uncheck "insert heatup GCode automatically in start Gcode"

M140 S{temperature_heatbed}
M190 S{temperature_heatbed}
M104 S{temperature_extruder1} T0
M109 S{temperature_extruder1} T0
G28 ; Autohome
G29 ; Autolevel
Purge sequence

Right?

If I want to print with right extruder I must manually set all features to right extruder AND use a start gcode like this

M140 S{temperature_heatbed}
M190 S{temperature_heatbed}
M104 S{temperature_extruder2} T1