Touchscreen Firmware 0.9.11 Release Note 2018.6.14

Discussions about ideaMaker and other printing software.
Jetguy
Posts: 2700
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 1:40 am
Location: In a van, down by the river

Re: Touchscreen Firmware 0.9.10 Release Note 2018.6.5

Postby Jetguy » Tue Jun 05, 2018 4:09 pm

Korni wrote:@Jetguy ... you do not react to PN unfortunately :-(
Do you have Pro2 Plus profiles for S3D? I would like to continue working with S3D, but unfortunately there are no S3D profiles for the new Pro2 Plus printer.


I do not own a Pro2, I was only commenting on the hardware analysis of the printer.

Jetguy
Posts: 2700
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 1:40 am
Location: In a van, down by the river

Re: Touchscreen Firmware 0.9.10 Release Note 2018.6.5

Postby Jetguy » Tue Jun 05, 2018 4:41 pm

And, just proved that rolling back to 0.9.7 that does not include the "sort" function corrects the remote connection display sort too.
Remote connection print sort Raisetouch097.jpg

Alex M.
Posts: 189
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2018 4:59 pm

Re: Touchscreen Firmware 0.9.10 Release Note 2018.6.5

Postby Alex M. » Tue Jun 05, 2018 5:23 pm

Well that stinks! I was just getting very happy about the ethernet fix but I now have to chose between that and the sort bug. :roll:

Jetguy
Posts: 2700
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 1:40 am
Location: In a van, down by the river

Re: Touchscreen Firmware 0.9.10 Release Note 2018.6.5

Postby Jetguy » Tue Jun 05, 2018 5:37 pm

Alex M. wrote:Well that stinks! I was just getting very happy about the ethernet fix but I now have to chose between that and the sort bug. :roll:

I'm with you on that as I agree, it really is a problem. Sadly, because of issues in 0.9.9, I skipped that update on my own printers after others found the resume bug.

I look at it this way, you have to classify bugs:
Bugs that affect the UI or usage, but not printing- Example this sorting bug or the lowering the bed distance at the end of a print. Yes, some users were and are up in arms over these, but you can still print.
Bugs that affect printing- the resume bug in 0.9.9
Bugs that affect safety-can't think of any recent ones

The thing about the sort thing.
#1 you still have to go over to the printer and acknowledge the print is complete on the LCD screen. So the user still must interact.
#2 While yes, I also enjoy printing and controlling and starting from remote, the issue there is, a huge amount of the time, I still have to walk over to the printer and acknowledge the last job anyway because I forgot to do it removing the part.
#3 If you set the sort on the screen, it's the first file on the list is the one you want to print, so it's not that many more button presses to start the job.

I'm literally at a tossup here myself what to do.
I kept my machines at 0.9.7 and only updated one, then rolled it back. The bug is annoying, but not earth shattering. I need to do more testing to ensure no more bugs. So I might need to run 0.9.10 just to flush this out.

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 4443
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: Touchscreen Firmware 0.9.10 Release Note 2018.6.5

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Wed Jun 06, 2018 6:10 am

Jetguy wrote:Add to the bug list, the sorting feature added in 0.9.9 and also in 0.9.10 affects the file list order of the remote connection in Ideamaker.
Further, it's not matching. Say example you sort by date on the printer. The assumption would be that the print list as seen in the Remote connection would be the same sort order- however, it seems to be defaulting to something else and is not changeable in the remote interface window. As seen in this topic viewtopic.php?f=3&t=9231

Here, you can see the mismatch where the expectation is the exact same print file on both screens should be the first on the list.
Remote connection print sort.jpg

VS
IMG_0365.JPG


The most recent uploaded file was the "75 degree cone PLA2.gcode" and the "75 degree cone PETG.gcode", and the printer LCD correctly sorts and shows this after changing the default sort after loading the latest 0.9.10 raisetouch from "name" to "date". I think this default changed the internal list, and so even though now the sort was changed for the LCD- the remote file structure sorting is affected and appears to be doing it by "name".


viewtopic.php?f=3&t=9231&p=32234#p32234

Jetguy
Posts: 2700
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 1:40 am
Location: In a van, down by the river

Re: Touchscreen Firmware 0.9.10 Release Note 2018.6.5

Postby Jetguy » Wed Jun 06, 2018 12:12 pm

No, this is a verified bug with screenshots. Check this out, properly investigate it. I didn't take my own time to troubleshoot YOUR updates for my health.

viewtopic.php?f=3&t=9231&p=32248#p32248

Jetguy
Posts: 2700
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 1:40 am
Location: In a van, down by the river

Re: Touchscreen Firmware 0.9.10 Release Note 2018.6.5

Postby Jetguy » Wed Jun 06, 2018 12:40 pm

Just proved it again by updating another printer, my N1. I was running 0.9.7.1509 Raisetouch (because 0.9.9 had bugs, so never updated to that version) and updated this machine to 0.9.10 just now. This post will be in multiple parts because the forum only allows 5 pictures per post.
Showing the machine is running 0.9.7 Raisetouch version
IMG_0375.JPG


Showing the most recent file uploaded was the same "75 degree cone PLA2.gcode" should and does show up first on the local LCD print storage list.
IMG_0376.JPG


Showing a remote connection to the printer while running RaiseTouch 0.9.7, the sort list matches the printer LCD and is sorted by DATE
IMG_0377.JPG


Showing again, on the remote connection that the printer is running 0.9.7 Raisetouch version for this test.
IMG_0378.JPG


Beginning the update process to update from 0.9.7 to 0.9.10
IMG_0379.JPG

Jetguy
Posts: 2700
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 1:40 am
Location: In a van, down by the river

Re: Touchscreen Firmware 0.9.10 Release Note 2018.6.5

Postby Jetguy » Wed Jun 06, 2018 12:48 pm

Continued, now showing the printer running Raisetouch 0.9.10
IMG_0380.JPG


Showing that the default sorting of the print file list changes to by "Name" rather than by date. This alone is problem that it instantly will confuse the user since the default sort option changed from what it was previously. This will cause the user to think that they did not upload the next file they try to print because it no longer is the first file in the list.
IMG_0381.JPG


Now showing the remote connection to the same printer immediately after the update to 0.9.10 and validating the raisetouch version.
IMG_0382.JPG


Now showing again, the remote connection sorting of the print files- now very clearly sorted by NAME and NOT date.
IMG_0383.JPG

Jetguy
Posts: 2700
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 1:40 am
Location: In a van, down by the river

Re: Touchscreen Firmware 0.9.10 Release Note 2018.6.5

Postby Jetguy » Wed Jun 06, 2018 12:56 pm

Continued, now changing the default sort in 0.9.10 from "Name" to "Date"
IMG_0384.JPG


After changing the sort to Date, now verifying the local LCD order and "75 degree cone PLA2.gcode" is again, the first item on the LCD.
IMG_0385.JPG


Validating that even after changing sort to Date on the LCD at the printer, the remote connection is still sorting by Name.
IMG_0386.JPG


I can see why other users are complaining as there are multiple issues with this new function:

#1 It should not default to sort by Name after updating, and should maintain the continuity of sorting by date as it always has. If the user decides to use the new sort feature, fine, they should change from the default of date to whatever they want, but it should revert and default to sort by date for most users.
#2 The remote connection sort is now completely botched and unchangeable by the user and is defaulting to sort by name. As stated, this is problematic as most users are dependent on the sort by date method, where the most recently uploaded file is ALWAYS first on the list. Again, the kicker here is not just that it changed, but changed in a way different the the default that is sure to mess up a lot of users and generate help and support messages with the user thinking they cannot find the file they just uploaded.

User avatar
Casale8
Posts: 226
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2017 5:17 pm
Location: The Real Upstate New York

Re: Touchscreen Firmware 0.9.10 Release Note 2018.6.5

Postby Casale8 » Wed Jun 06, 2018 4:57 pm

Vicky@Raise3D wrote:RaiseTouch 0.9.10, 2018.6.5

Based on the feedbacks from users of RaiseTouch version 0.9.10, we have added a few new features and fixed a bug with the new version.

[b]Update 0.9.9 - 0.9.10

NEW FEATURES

Added an option to set the Z position of print bed dropping to after print stopped under Setting -> More Settings -> Advanced Settings.


I am curious to know about this feature. I haven't updated yet- still on the version just before this one 0.9.9.

I haven't tested this yet:
1. At 0.9.9 version, if I stop a print that is 101mm tall, will the nozzle crash into my model because of this setting by default being 100mm and trying to travel to 100mm?

2. At 0.9.10 version, if I stop a print that is at 101mm and have the new Z height feature set to 100mm or ANYTHING lesser than the stopped height, will the nozzle crash into my model because of this setting trying to travel to 100mm?

3. At 0.9.10 version, if I do not change the setting (leave the new default), and if I stop a print where will the printer bring the bed and nozzles?
-SCC
“One man's "magic" is another man's engineering. "Supernatural" is a null word.” -R.A.Heinlein

User avatar
Casale8
Posts: 226
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2017 5:17 pm
Location: The Real Upstate New York

Re: Touchscreen Firmware 0.9.10 Release Note 2018.6.5

Postby Casale8 » Wed Jun 06, 2018 4:57 pm

Casale8 wrote:
Vicky@Raise3D wrote:RaiseTouch 0.9.10, 2018.6.5

Based on the feedbacks from users of RaiseTouch version 0.9.10, we have added a few new features and fixed a bug with the new version.

[b]Update 0.9.9 - 0.9.10

NEW FEATURES

Added an option to set the Z position of print bed dropping to after print stopped under Setting -> More Settings -> Advanced Settings.


I am curious to know about this feature. I haven't updated yet- still on 0.9.9.

I haven't tested this yet:
1. At 0.9.9 version, if I stop a print that is 101mm tall, will the nozzle crash into my model because of this setting by default being 100mm and trying to travel to 100mm?

2. At 0.9.10 version, if I stop a print that is at 101mm and have the new Z height feature set to 100mm or ANYTHING lesser than the stopped height, will the nozzle crash into my model because of this setting trying to travel to 100mm?

3. At 0.9.10 version, if I do not change the setting (leave the new default), and if I stop a print where will the printer bring the bed and nozzles?
-SCC
“One man's "magic" is another man's engineering. "Supernatural" is a null word.” -R.A.Heinlein

Jetguy
Posts: 2700
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 1:40 am
Location: In a van, down by the river

Re: Touchscreen Firmware 0.9.10 Release Note 2018.6.5

Postby Jetguy » Wed Jun 06, 2018 5:11 pm

Casale8 wrote:I am curious to know about this feature. I haven't updated yet- still on the version just before this one 0.9.9.

I haven't tested this yet:
1. At 0.9.9 version, if I stop a print that is 101mm tall, will the nozzle crash into my model because of this setting by default being 100mm and trying to travel to 100mm?

2. At 0.9.10 version, if I stop a print that is at 101mm and have the new Z height feature set to 100mm or ANYTHING lesser than the stopped height, will the nozzle crash into my model because of this setting trying to travel to 100mm?

3. At 0.9.10 version, if I do not change the setting (leave the new default), and if I stop a print where will the printer bring the bed and nozzles?


Relative VS absolute positioning. You really should study and understand this VERY important concept. https://www.simplify3d.com/support/arti ... -tutorial/
Absolute positioning means that you will be telling your 3D printer to move an exact XYZ coordinate.
Relative positioning is used when you want to tell the printer how far it should move from the current location.


Hint, the 100mm move is relative, not absolute, so therefore it moves beyond the existing point (relative) and is constrained by the axis soft logical limit of distance since there is no max limit switches. So, if you are at 101mm(absolute), and you command a move 100mm relative to current position, that is 202mm (absolute), but if the axis limit is 200mm on an N1, then you move only to 200mm(absolute) or a move of 99mm (relative).

Again, to be clear, this is the case even in normal ending gcode now.
Your default profile as supplied in Ideamaker produces this ending gcode with a relative move every print you ever make.

Code: Select all

M104 S0
M140 S0
M107
G91
G1 E-1 F300
G1 Z+0.5 E-5 X-20 Y-20 F9000.00
G28 X0 Y0
M84
G90

The G91 command changes the coordinate system from absolute that was used during the print, to relative mode here at the end.
Then because you are in relative mode, this line "G1 Z+0.5 E-5 X-20 Y-20 F9000.00" does not ram the bed and your print back up into the nozzle and gantry because the Z0.5 coordinate (the plus actually doesn't mean anything). Again, if that G91 was omitted, and this was still in absolute mode, then yes, all heck breaks loose.

So, again, per your question, what Raise 3D touch UI on the front panel is sending is:
G91 - set to relative mode
Z100 F9000 move bed 100mm more than current position
M84 disable motors
G90 return the system back to the default state of absolute mode.


And FYI, every time you hit jog on the LCD menu- those too are relative moves, and that's why the number on the screen showing distance is rarely the true actual absolute location of the axis, it's simply how many cumulative relative motions have been commanded.
Last edited by Jetguy on Wed Jun 06, 2018 5:32 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
Casale8
Posts: 226
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2017 5:17 pm
Location: The Real Upstate New York

Re: Touchscreen Firmware 0.9.10 Release Note 2018.6.5

Postby Casale8 » Wed Jun 06, 2018 5:26 pm

Jetguy wrote:
Relative VS absolute positioning. You really should study and understand this VERY important concept. You literally were just going on in another topic about how you don't think users need to learn gcode- well right here is why you should.

Hint, the 100mm move is relative, not absolute, so therefore it moves beyond the existing point (relative) and is constrained by the axis soft logical limit of distance since there is no max limit switches. So, if you are at 101mm, and you move 100mm relative to current position, that 202mm, but if the axis limit is 200mm on an N1, then you move only to 200mm or a move of 99mm.


Some don't have time to learn gcode. I'm very familiar with the use of the term relative and absolute. Nowhere is it clear that the selected or default height for thew feature is either relative or absolute. Nowhere is it implied for such either. The addition of the feature at 9.9 was unexpected. Assumptions are never good.

"Hint, the 100mm move is relative, not absolute, so therefore it moves beyond the existing point (relative) and is constrained by the axis soft logical limit of distance since there is no max limit switches."

Respect intended- the above quoted answer alone would have been a sufficient, lesser the lesson on what I really should study.
-SCC
“One man's "magic" is another man's engineering. "Supernatural" is a null word.” -R.A.Heinlein

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 4443
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: Touchscreen Firmware 0.9.10 Release Note 2018.6.5

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Wed Jun 06, 2018 7:37 pm

Jetguy wrote:No, this is a verified bug with screenshots. Check this out, properly investigate it. I didn't take my own time to troubleshoot YOUR updates for my health.

viewtopic.php?f=3&t=9231&p=32248#p32248


Noted. We will try to debug it out and fix it in next version.
Thanks for you time.

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 4443
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: Touchscreen Firmware 0.9.10 Release Note 2018.6.5

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Wed Jun 06, 2018 7:52 pm

Casale8 wrote:
Vicky@Raise3D wrote:RaiseTouch 0.9.10, 2018.6.5

Based on the feedbacks from users of RaiseTouch version 0.9.10, we have added a few new features and fixed a bug with the new version.

[b]Update 0.9.9 - 0.9.10

NEW FEATURES

Added an option to set the Z position of print bed dropping to after print stopped under Setting -> More Settings -> Advanced Settings.


I am curious to know about this feature. I haven't updated yet- still on the version just before this one 0.9.9.

I haven't tested this yet:
1. At 0.9.9 version, if I stop a print that is 101mm tall, will the nozzle crash into my model because of this setting by default being 100mm and trying to travel to 100mm?

2. At 0.9.10 version, if I stop a print that is at 101mm and have the new Z height feature set to 100mm or ANYTHING lesser than the stopped height, will the nozzle crash into my model because of this setting trying to travel to 100mm?

3. At 0.9.10 version, if I do not change the setting (leave the new default), and if I stop a print where will the printer bring the bed and nozzles?


If your set value is lower than the complete height of the model you print, the model will complete printing with no issue, and the plate will not raise or drop after print completes no matter you are using which version.

You can go to Setting -> More Settings -> Advanced Settings to check default Z-pos, if I'm not wrong the default value should be 100mm as version 0.9.9.

Omojesu
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2016 6:21 pm

Re: Touchscreen Firmware 0.9.10 Release Note 2018.6.5

Postby Omojesu » Fri Jun 08, 2018 7:34 am

I HAVE FOLLOWED ALL THESE INSTRUCTIONS AND I AM STILL UNABLE TO CONNECT TO MY PRINTER, WHAT EXACTLY DO I NEED TO DO? THIS UPGRADE HAS CAUSED ME NOTHING BUT CHALLENGES WHEN I DO NOT EVEN KNOW WHAT BUGS ARE BEING FIXED//
HELP HELP HELP, I NEED TO WORK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

Jetguy
Posts: 2700
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 1:40 am
Location: In a van, down by the river

Re: Touchscreen Firmware 0.9.10 Release Note 2018.6.5

Postby Jetguy » Fri Jun 08, 2018 7:55 am

Omojesu wrote:I HAVE FOLLOWED ALL THESE INSTRUCTIONS AND I AM STILL UNABLE TO CONNECT TO MY PRINTER, WHAT EXACTLY DO I NEED TO DO? THIS UPGRADE HAS CAUSED ME NOTHING BUT CHALLENGES WHEN I DO NOT EVEN KNOW WHAT BUGS ARE BEING FIXED//
HELP HELP HELP, I NEED TO WORK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1


Roll back to version 0.9.7 before all these new features and problems.
viewtopic.php?f=3&t=9240

Omojesu
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2016 6:21 pm

Re: Touchscreen Firmware 0.9.10 Release Note 2018.6.5

Postby Omojesu » Fri Jun 08, 2018 8:19 am

Thanks Jetguy but it still did not work, still cannot connect to my printer????

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 4443
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: Touchscreen Firmware 0.9.10 Release Note 2018.6.5

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Sun Jun 10, 2018 8:50 am

Omojesu wrote:I HAVE FOLLOWED ALL THESE INSTRUCTIONS AND I AM STILL UNABLE TO CONNECT TO MY PRINTER, WHAT EXACTLY DO I NEED TO DO? THIS UPGRADE HAS CAUSED ME NOTHING BUT CHALLENGES WHEN I DO NOT EVEN KNOW WHAT BUGS ARE BEING FIXED//
HELP HELP HELP, I NEED TO WORK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1


The Ethernet connection failure started after upgraded to 0.9.10? Or you have the issue before, but the newly upgrade doesn't help fix?

Omojesu
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2016 6:21 pm

Re: Touchscreen Firmware 0.9.10 Release Note 2018.6.5

Postby Omojesu » Sun Jun 10, 2018 6:29 pm

The failure to connect with printer started immediately I upgraded to 0.9.10. I have rolled back to 0.9.7 and still cannot connect to printer.


Return to “Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests