Z-hop and retraction at first 2 layers possible?

Discussions about ideaMaker and other printing software.
pacoraap
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat May 12, 2018 7:05 am

Z-hop and retraction at first 2 layers possible?

Postby pacoraap » Sat May 12, 2018 7:17 am

Hi,

I love to use the slicer but currently got stuck in setting up a special set up.
I like to print translucent filament (orange) for a front panel on glass for a shiny surface and see through with honeycomb infill.
The front panel has round holes and square ones.
Connection lines in the first layer are not welcome as they distract the honeycomb infill in the back ground.
So I need retraction and maybe some Z-hop to have a clean infill on the first 2 layers.

I tried every standard setting possible but I get always connection lines in the first layer.
Retraction does not owrk in the first layer as far as my tests go.

Without special section settings can this be accomplished?

Thanks in advance Paco

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 3592
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: Z-hop and retraction at first 2 layers possible?

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Sun May 13, 2018 2:49 pm

Try with Pre-layer settings to enable the settings at the layers you need.

pacoraap
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat May 12, 2018 7:05 am

Re: Z-hop and retraction at first 2 layers possible?

Postby pacoraap » Tue May 15, 2018 7:59 pm

Hello Vicky,

I tried that.
Retracion inside the model does not work despite the per layer setting.
When skirt is printed and it goes to the model it does Z hop once but no retraction.
Then it just prints the first layer without the Z hop or retraction.
Do I miss something?
Or is this limitation?
Do you need video for better explanation?

Paco
Attachments
Knipsel.PNG

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 3592
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: Z-hop and retraction at first 2 layers possible?

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Wed May 16, 2018 9:04 am

If possible, would you like to share .gcode and .data files with me?
I tried with and without Z hop, the retractions on first layer always work.

pacoraap
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat May 12, 2018 7:05 am

Re: Z-hop and retraction at first 2 layers possible?

Postby pacoraap » Wed May 16, 2018 7:36 pm

Hello Vicky,

Thanks for taking the time to test.
files are zipped and can be downloaded from here
https://1drv.ms/u/s!AnuMP-b55jicgb8_RaCsvQnnbv5eNQ
I could not attach them here.
If I look with preview I can clearly see there are no retractions inside the layer when it moves.
retraction tickbox is marked.

I also add a sample picture of the movements inside the layer of the object.

Maybe I do something wrong, if so it would be nice to be guided to the error I make.

Thanks, Paco
Attachments
2018-05-15 22.02.04.jpg

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 3592
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: Z-hop and retraction at first 2 layers possible?

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Fri May 18, 2018 5:25 am

The issue might be due to Avoid Travel Through Hole. Try disable this option in your per-layer settings.
2.png

2.png

pacoraap
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat May 12, 2018 7:05 am

Re: Z-hop and retraction at first 2 layers possible?

Postby pacoraap » Mon May 21, 2018 9:29 am

Hello Vicky,
Problem solved..............cause unknown but this is what I did.
On my normal slicing PC in preview I did not got the retracion or Z hop as your pictures show.
So I toke other PC and installed Ideamaker too.
Did the same steps as before and there you go retraction and Zhop as set by per layer in preview visible.
So checked again the normal slicing pc but same result no retraction or set up in preview.
I exported and saved the profile from this pc to a thumbdrive.
Installed it on the other PC and there still it works fine for Zhop and retraction in preview.
Went back to the normal slicing PC and checked again same file and setting per layer and sliced once again.......it works......now the preview shows retraction and Z hop as set per layer setting...............weird.

Thanks for your assistance Vicky.
I will show the print result and final settings when the prints are satisfying so other can learn from it.

Regards, Paco

User avatar
Intector
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 5:42 pm
Location: Tuscaloosa

Re: Z-hop and retraction at first 2 layers possible?

Postby Intector » Mon May 28, 2018 8:41 am

Hey guy's,

I have the same problem here. The retraction doesn't work inside layers. I have checked every possible setting combination, but don't get it to work. Now "pacoraap" used a different PC and got it to work, but there is no logical reason for this behavior and from "Vicky@Raise3D" is also no response to that issue. should we try different computer until it works?

This is all kind of strange to me.

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 3592
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: Z-hop and retraction at first 2 layers possible?

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Tue May 29, 2018 5:28 am

Intector wrote:Hey guy's,

I have the same problem here. The retraction doesn't work inside layers. I have checked every possible setting combination, but don't get it to work. Now "pacoraap" used a different PC and got it to work, but there is no logical reason for this behavior and from "Vicky@Raise3D" is also no response to that issue. should we try different computer until it works?

This is all kind of strange to me.


Have you saved the data files from both PC? May I ask for both files to have a look?


Return to “Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests