Pause at height when slicing with Simplify3D or other software

Discussions about ideaMaker and other printing software.
User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 2178
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: Pause at height when slicing with Simplify3D or other software

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Sat Sep 17, 2016 2:12 pm

For the time. I need to check with our software engineers and feedback to you then.

For the Z function, we will check whether we can add it and how to make it works well.

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 2178
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: Pause at height when slicing with Simplify3D or other software

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Sun Sep 18, 2016 7:25 am

NewbPilot wrote:
Vicky@Raise3D wrote:Ok, we will set the value to 0 in next version.


ETA on next version? :)

I also want to play with filament changes at low (2mm or less) layers. I did one at 2.05mm and it worked but was ugly. Would like be able to move Z down 50mm, change, clean, and move back up 50mm. I was doing that with the Raspberry Pi and Octoprint for my Wanhao Duplicator i3 (Ok, I did it once when i my filament was running out and i paniced and HOPED it worked and it did.)

I dont know GCode yet - clearly the post above helps me get there ... but would be great if there was IM assist, or ability to move Z from control panel once pause was initiated :)


We have uploaded Ver. 1.1.5 on Github. We will do more test on our side. Then release it on our website.

blaknite7
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2016 12:00 am

Re: Pause at height when slicing with Simplify3D or other software

Postby blaknite7 » Sun Oct 23, 2016 12:43 am

Vicky - Any idea when this is going to be incorporated into the next firmware? (Stepper hold on pause command) Its been a while since the last firmware was released...

Vicky@Raise3D wrote:Ok, we will set the value to 0 in next version.

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 2178
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: Pause at height when slicing with Simplify3D or other software

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Mon Oct 24, 2016 1:33 am

We have already release the source code of version 1.1.5 on Github with stepper locker which will jump out Board Error during heating. But found some problems with Thermal-Runaway Protection with this version by some others. Some other customers had shared us some solution and unploaded version 1.1.5.1 on Github. And we are testing it to check whether the modified version has any problem.
We need more research of this. The release time is still unknown.

blaknite7
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2016 12:00 am

Re: Pause at height when slicing with Simplify3D or other software

Postby blaknite7 » Wed Oct 26, 2016 1:23 am

The thermal runaway seems to be an issue with all of the github versions however there are other changes which are more straight forward to implement but are delayed to the community because of the thermal runaway programming causing a bottleneck. Essentially no new changes can come until this one feature is worked out, even if those changes are simple and low risk of negative impact to user performance. It would be nice if these other/simple changes were released to official versions (available for download on raise3d.com) while the runaway programming is debugged.

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 2178
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: Pause at height when slicing with Simplify3D or other software

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Wed Oct 26, 2016 9:17 am

PM sent. Please check.

NewbPilot
Posts: 222
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 2:16 am
Location: West Palm Beach, FL
Contact:

Re: Pause at height when slicing with Simplify3D or other software

Postby NewbPilot » Thu Apr 06, 2017 3:01 am

Vicky@Raise3D wrote:Ok, we will set the value to 0 in next version.

Was the pause ever updated as Jetguy mentioned?

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 2178
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: Pause at height when slicing with Simplify3D or other software

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Thu Apr 06, 2017 10:29 am

In version 1.1.6 Rev1 on github, already have this.
If you'd like to help our test firmware. Please download our source code.


Return to “Printing Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest