Strange habit with BRIM

Discussions about ideaMaker and other printing software.
harrygeier
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2018 9:03 am

Strange habit with BRIM

Postby harrygeier » Thu Jan 11, 2018 9:32 pm

Hi,

i am new to ideamaker . I started witht small pulley , which i had printed with other slicers before.
When print it with a 15 lines brim , at the beginning it appears as if my printer stutters like hell. The more it goes inward..the smoother it runs.
Onceit goes to the model itself..it works beautiful .

I did a short analysis on the Gcode with NC-Edit and see there are EXTREMELY many EXTREMELY short lines generated.

Does anyone have a clue what may be wrong ?
I added the Gcode for reference

I use latest beta build..3.0.5.1438
Attachments
gt2_pulley_i3oben_1.rar
(1.26 MiB) Downloaded 28 times

User avatar
Michael.P@Raise3D
Posts: 225
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2016 4:51 pm
Location: Costa Mesa
Contact:

Re: Strange habit with BRIM

Postby Michael.P@Raise3D » Fri Jan 12, 2018 12:32 am

On the surface, the G-Code looks good from what I viewed. I do not believe you need quite so many lines of brim though. 4-5 should do just fine.
Michael Petitclerc, Technician
Tel: +888 963 9028
Web: http://www.raise3d.com

harrygeier
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2018 9:03 am

Re: Strange habit with BRIM

Postby harrygeier » Fri Jan 12, 2018 12:01 pm

It´s a relatively small Object, so fewer brim lines decreases adhesion ( it´s ABS ) and it should be to the decision of the user...how much brim he wants. I will make a screenshot later and add it here, so you can see, that it´s creating microscopic small lines at the outer circles.
Also the same model sliced in cura is much much smaller in count of gcode lines. The stuttering comes as the serial communication on 250.000 baud and octoprints speed cannot cope with so much lines....

harrygeier
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2018 9:03 am

Re: Strange habit with BRIM

Postby harrygeier » Fri Jan 12, 2018 12:04 pm

..i just looked 68000 lines out of roughly 190000 are the BRIM.. 15 bloody circles .. 68000 Lines of Gcode ???

harrygeier
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2018 9:03 am

Re: Strange habit with BRIM

Postby harrygeier » Fri Jan 12, 2018 4:10 pm

I looked and compared , for 2 of the pulleys , cura goes up to 2nd layer at :

;TIME_ELAPSED:292.319628
;LAYER:1
M140 S80
M106 S28.3
G0 F3000 X90.904 Y60.867 Z0.4
;TYPE:WALL-INNER
G1 F1500 E95.18517
G1 F900 X91.355 Y60.91 E95.20069
G1 X91.887 Y60.997 E95.21916

that is less than 8% of the code with ideamaker..

Also see the screenshot of the Gcode analyser. There are many moves shorter than 0.01 mm

Please check your programming ..
Attachments
2018-01-12 17_01_53-NC Corrector.png

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 4151
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: Strange habit with BRIM

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Mon Jan 15, 2018 6:04 am

Due to the shape of Brim is circle, ideaMaker has broken the circle lines to be lots of short segments. To reduce the quantity of segments, we need to carry out merging or smoothing for the circle lines.
We will add this operation in next version.

harrygeier
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2018 9:03 am

Re: Strange habit with BRIM

Postby harrygeier » Mon Jan 15, 2018 6:52 am

Thats very nice.
I look forward to that..

Everything else works very nice for me .

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 4151
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: Strange habit with BRIM

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Mon Jan 15, 2018 7:06 am

Good to know. And thanks for your report.
If you find other bug in future, please feel free to advise. If possible, attach some problem files (origin file and problem files) can help us get your point more easily.

Kazak
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2018 12:45 pm

Re: Strange habit with BRIM

Postby Kazak » Tue Feb 13, 2018 12:51 pm

Hi,

Juste came here because I witnessed this strange behavior (strong stuttering for the 1st brim curves, resulting in very erratic/inexistent extrusion).

Glad to understand where the issue comes from and that there will be a fix, I really like your tool !

K.

Kazak
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2018 12:45 pm

Re: Strange habit with BRIM

Postby Kazak » Fri Mar 09, 2018 8:50 pm

Hey there,

I'm still having the issue with 3.1.0.1545 (OsX)
Brims don't work since the first loops typically have 10k plus segments (a similar contour on the same prit with Raft has 1600 segments)
The inner loops have way less segments, typically 1 or 2k, with proper extrusion in that case (even when sometimes the inner loops are quite longer since less smooth than the outer loops)

The first loops result in a partial extrusion and very thin layers which end up not sticking and getting jammed when the extrusion starts to work properly

I can't believe I'm the only one witnessing this, or it's related to a specific parameter

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 4151
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: Strange habit with BRIM

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Mon Mar 12, 2018 6:52 am

Kazak wrote:Hey there,

I'm still having the issue with 3.1.0.1545 (OsX)
Brims don't work since the first loops typically have 10k plus segments (a similar contour on the same prit with Raft has 1600 segments)
The inner loops have way less segments, typically 1 or 2k, with proper extrusion in that case (even when sometimes the inner loops are quite longer since less smooth than the outer loops)

The first loops result in a partial extrusion and very thin layers which end up not sticking and getting jammed when the extrusion starts to work properly

I can't believe I'm the only one witnessing this, or it's related to a specific parameter


We should have already debugged the root reason, if you'd like to test, we can share you a beta version with quick fix of this feature.

siddy
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2018 11:45 am

Re: Strange habit with BRIM

Postby siddy » Tue Mar 13, 2018 12:00 pm

Hi there,

Vicky@Raise3D wrote:We should have already debugged the root reason, if you'd like to test, we can share you a beta version with quick fix of this feature.


I'm facing the same issue with brims & skirts as the previous posters (especially when adding big brims to ABS parts to avoid warping). Could you share the beta version you mentioned? I'd be very happy to test :-)

Thanks,
Siddy

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 4151
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: Strange habit with BRIM

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Wed Mar 14, 2018 8:24 am

siddy wrote:Hi there,

Vicky@Raise3D wrote:We should have already debugged the root reason, if you'd like to test, we can share you a beta version with quick fix of this feature.


I'm facing the same issue with brims & skirts as the previous posters (especially when adding big brims to ABS parts to avoid warping). Could you share the beta version you mentioned? I'd be very happy to test :-)

Thanks,
Siddy


Sure. Will PM the downlink to you these days.

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 4151
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: Strange habit with BRIM

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Fri Mar 16, 2018 8:28 am

Vicky@Raise3D wrote:
siddy wrote:Hi there,

Vicky@Raise3D wrote:We should have already debugged the root reason, if you'd like to test, we can share you a beta version with quick fix of this feature.


I'm facing the same issue with brims & skirts as the previous posters (especially when adding big brims to ABS parts to avoid warping). Could you share the beta version you mentioned? I'd be very happy to test :-)

Thanks,
Siddy


Sure. Will PM the downlink to you these days.


We almost complete the debug. Would you like to advise which operating system you are using?

siddy
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2018 11:45 am

Re: Strange habit with BRIM

Postby siddy » Fri Mar 16, 2018 8:50 am

Hi Vicky,

Vicky@Raise3D wrote:
We almost complete the debug. Would you like to advise which operating system you are using?

sure :)
I'm running the Linux 64 bit version.

Thanks for your help!!
Siddy

Jetguy
Posts: 2697
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 1:40 am
Location: In a van, down by the river

Re: Strange habit with BRIM

Postby Jetguy » Fri Mar 16, 2018 1:44 pm

These two topics are the exact same- just said differently viewtopic.php?f=8&t=6776

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 4151
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: Strange habit with BRIM

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Mon Mar 19, 2018 5:21 am

siddy wrote:Hi Vicky,

Vicky@Raise3D wrote:
We almost complete the debug. Would you like to advise which operating system you are using?

sure :)
I'm running the Linux 64 bit version.

Thanks for your help!!
Siddy


PM sent.

siddy
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2018 11:45 am

Re: Strange habit with BRIM

Postby siddy » Mon Mar 19, 2018 10:03 am

Hi Vicky,

Vicky@Raise3D wrote:PM sent.


Thanks for the Link! Unfortunately, I only get a 404 error when opening it... :(
Any idea?

Thx,
Siddy

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 4151
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: Strange habit with BRIM

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Mon Mar 19, 2018 10:13 am

siddy wrote:Hi Vicky,

Vicky@Raise3D wrote:PM sent.


Thanks for the Link! Unfortunately, I only get a 404 error when opening it... :(
Any idea?

Thx,
Siddy


Sorry for the wrong link, PM sent one more time with a new link.

Kazak
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2018 12:45 pm

Re: Strange habit with BRIM

Postby Kazak » Mon Mar 19, 2018 2:43 pm

Vicky@Raise3D wrote:
Kazak wrote:Hey there,

I'm still having the issue with 3.1.0.1545 (OsX)
Brims don't work since the first loops typically have 10k plus segments (a similar contour on the same prit with Raft has 1600 segments)
The inner loops have way less segments, typically 1 or 2k, with proper extrusion in that case (even when sometimes the inner loops are quite longer since less smooth than the outer loops)

The first loops result in a partial extrusion and very thin layers which end up not sticking and getting jammed when the extrusion starts to work properly

I can't believe I'm the only one witnessing this, or it's related to a specific parameter


We should have already debugged the root reason, if you'd like to test, we can share you a beta version with quick fix of this feature.


Thanks, I'll give it a try if you send it by PM

By the way, I noticed it occurred while I was using a large number of loops (>6), when using just one or two there is no issue


Return to “Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest