Recompiling firmware to adjust bed size

Discussions about ideaMaker and other printing software.
Ikaron
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2018 5:23 pm

Recompiling firmware to adjust bed size

Postby Ikaron » Wed Jan 10, 2018 5:41 pm

Hello!
I'm trying to adjust the bed size in the firmware of an N2 PLUS. I have downloaded the source code, installed the newest Marlin ArduinoAddons in the Arduino IDE. I then located the information about bed size in Configuration.h and adjusted it. Compiling this works fine as well, however, I don't know which of these three boards is the correct one: (Arduino AVR-Boards) "Arduino/Genuino Mega or Mega 2560", "Arduino Mega ADK", or (Marlin AVR Boards) "Arduino Mega or Mega 2560". It compiles well for all 3 after I copied the skt500boot_v2_mega2560.hex bootloader into the correct folder, however, the file size is different to the original firmware so I thought I'd ask here to be sure.
Thanks for your help!

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 4569
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: Recompiling firmware to adjust bed size

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Thu Jan 11, 2018 6:22 am

https://github.com/Raise3D/Marlin-Raise3D-N-Series
"Select Arduino Mega2560 or Mega ADK in menu tools->board."

Ikaron
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2018 5:23 pm

Re: Recompiling firmware to adjust bed size

Postby Ikaron » Thu Jan 11, 2018 8:21 pm

Thank you for your reply. I did see that already, but as I said, there is no option called exactly that, just the three I described. That's why I wanted to know which one of the three it is.

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 4569
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: Recompiling firmware to adjust bed size

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Fri Jan 12, 2018 1:41 am

Should be "Arduino/Genuino Mega or Mega 2560"

Ikaron
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2018 5:23 pm

Re: Recompiling firmware to adjust bed size

Postby Ikaron » Fri Jan 12, 2018 12:39 pm

Okay, thank you very much.
Do I need to use the hex file with or without bootloader? If with, which bootloader should I use?
Also, is there a possibility to brick the motion controller with this?
Thanks for your time.

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 4569
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: Recompiling firmware to adjust bed size

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Sun Jan 14, 2018 8:24 am

Rename the file extension to .firm file instead of .hex. The .firm file can be recognized by touchscreen. Save it in USB storage and attach the storage to touchscreen.
Recompiling won't brick the motion board.

Ikaron
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2018 5:23 pm

Re: Recompiling firmware to adjust bed size

Postby Ikaron » Sun Jan 14, 2018 10:47 am

Thank you for your response.
My problem is that I have two .hex files, Marlin.ino.hex and Marlin.ino.with_bootloader.hex, and I don't know which one to use - But as bricking it is impossible, I might as well just try both!

firesped
Posts: 854
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2016 9:23 pm
Location: Tucson, AZ

Re: Recompiling firmware to adjust bed size

Postby firesped » Sun Jan 14, 2018 11:06 am

we don't use the bootloader at all.

What are you trying to adjust on the bed size? increase it? decrease it?

The bed may be physically bigger then the 305 by 305 size.
the X and Y sizes are more to detail the size limitations of where the print head can reach. To increase the size of the bed, you would need to replace the print carriage with a smaller one. Which does not exist.
RL name: Michael Nolen
printers:
raise3D N2 kickstarter Early Bird
Trinus Deluxe (running smoothieware on Azteeg X5 GT board)
Monoprice Maker Select v2

Ikaron
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2018 5:23 pm

Re: Recompiling firmware to adjust bed size

Postby Ikaron » Mon Jan 15, 2018 1:07 pm

Thanks for your response. I tried the file with the bootloader compiled into it and it works.
Well, it is possible to modify the printer and install a bigger bed - In which case you need to increase the boundaries that the head is allowed to move in (Apparently it just stays in one corner otherwise but still lies down filament if the gcode exceeds the boundaries).
Anyways, it's working flawlessly so far and I really have to compliment the source code. It's really easy to use and works perfectly.
Thanks to everyone for your help!

zemlin
Posts: 382
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2017 2:02 pm

Re: Recompiling firmware to adjust bed size

Postby zemlin » Mon Jan 15, 2018 11:39 pm

I shifted the bed on my machine 10mm forward and 10mm to the left. I moved the Y-Axis limit switch with this bracket to gain 10mm of movement in the Y-Axis. In my case I was not aiming to increase the build size, but to get a 12" x 12" bed uninterrupted by clips and such.
viewtopic.php?f=4&t=4791

Ikaron
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2018 5:23 pm

Re: Recompiling firmware to adjust bed size

Postby Ikaron » Tue Jan 16, 2018 6:26 pm

Hello,
I've run into another issue - The printer is an N2PLUS Dual and my current modification of the firmware works almost perfectly - There is just one major issue. The nozzle temperature on the right nozzle can be set manually but not via gcode - It just stays at 0.
I haven't changed any temperature settings, I simply set #define N2PLUS and #define DUAL. Is there anything else I need to change?
Thanks for your help.

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 4569
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: Recompiling firmware to adjust bed size

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Wed Jan 17, 2018 5:36 am

1.png
1.png (7.13 KiB) Viewed 934 times

Should be like this.
Or you export the serial log of your machine, we can help check how many nozzles has the printer detects.

Ikaron
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2018 5:23 pm

Re: Recompiling firmware to adjust bed size

Postby Ikaron » Thu Jan 18, 2018 8:59 pm

Hello, thanks for your response. That's the way I had it - Turns out the problem was user error and everything works perfectly!

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 4569
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: Recompiling firmware to adjust bed size

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Fri Jan 19, 2018 2:44 am

May I ask more details about the "user error"? In case some others meet the same problem as you meet in the future.

Ikaron
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2018 5:23 pm

Re: Recompiling firmware to adjust bed size

Postby Ikaron » Sat Jan 20, 2018 2:04 am

I don't know the details, sadly - I just assume that, in the gcode, they specified to only use the left nozzle, or in the program that generates the gcode, they specified single nozzle. With proper configuration it works as expected.


Return to “Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest