BUG? no skirt, brim or raft on this stl

Discussions about ideaMaker and other printing software.
ecocode
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2017 7:39 pm

BUG? no skirt, brim or raft on this stl

Postby ecocode » Sat Dec 30, 2017 11:57 am

Hello,

Ideamaker doesn't create skirt, brim or raft for this STL. Why is that ?
Tested with cura: skirt, brim and raft are OK.

best
Attachments
BOL-CILINDERS.stl
(523.45 KiB) Downloaded 13 times

User avatar
3DWP
Posts: 61
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2017 5:48 pm

Re: BUG? no skirt, brim or raft on this stl

Postby 3DWP » Sat Dec 30, 2017 1:22 pm

I tried with Ideamaker 3.0.5 and I do get a raft and support. Maybe it has to do with angles, the model has sharp angles at the bottom. Try to tweak some of these settings.

Test.JPG
Last edited by 3DWP on Sat Dec 30, 2017 1:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
3DWP
Posts: 61
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2017 5:48 pm

Re: BUG? no skirt, brim or raft on this stl

Postby 3DWP » Sat Dec 30, 2017 1:25 pm

I also tried without support and brim set to 10:

Test.JPG

ecocode
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2017 7:39 pm

Re: BUG? no skirt, brim or raft on this stl

Postby ecocode » Sat Dec 30, 2017 2:12 pm

I'm on Ideamaker 2.6.0.925

ecocode
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2017 7:39 pm

Re: BUG? no skirt, brim or raft on this stl

Postby ecocode » Sat Dec 30, 2017 2:21 pm

Should I upgrade to unstable ?

User avatar
3DWP
Posts: 61
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2017 5:48 pm

Re: BUG? no skirt, brim or raft on this stl

Postby 3DWP » Sat Dec 30, 2017 3:07 pm

If you want to try to print this you can upgrade. You can always go back right?

ecocode
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2017 7:39 pm

Re: BUG? no skirt, brim or raft on this stl

Postby ecocode » Sat Dec 30, 2017 3:09 pm

so I upgraded, but still no raft appearing. which setting should I tweak ?

ecocode
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2017 7:39 pm

Re: BUG? no skirt, brim or raft on this stl

Postby ecocode » Sat Dec 30, 2017 3:21 pm

OK. It seems that if I add supports, the raft/brim/skirt stuff work. It should however be possible to print this model without support, but with a raft. So I finally added a pseudo-raft in the model and printed it that way.
I think this is a bug, but maybe there is a reason for this behavior. Then I definitely would like to know that reason :)

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 3929
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: BUG? no skirt, brim or raft on this stl

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Sun Dec 31, 2017 1:57 pm

I tried with Raft Only and None support. The Raft structure was generated properly.
May I ask your settings under Platform Additions tab?
Attachments
1.png

ecocode
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2017 7:39 pm

Re: BUG? no skirt, brim or raft on this stl

Postby ecocode » Sun Dec 31, 2017 3:05 pm

see attachment
Attachments
2017-12-31-160413_2420x1424_scrot.png

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 3929
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: BUG? no skirt, brim or raft on this stl

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Tue Jan 02, 2018 2:49 am

Tried the same settings as you shared. The Raft and Skirt are still generated properly.
2.png
1.png

Is that your model hang over the plateform, so that support can be generated properly but Raft cannot.
I may need the .idea file, .data file, .bin file (the exported slicing template) and .gcode file with problem to debug the setting problem.
Double confirm, you are currently using version 3.0.5 on our website?

ecocode
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2017 7:39 pm

Re: BUG? no skirt, brim or raft on this stl

Postby ecocode » Wed Jan 03, 2018 10:57 am

yep, using the latest unstable version from the website. Same occured with the latest stable too. You'll find the requested files attached.
Thanks for your help !

ecocode
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2017 7:39 pm

Re: BUG? no skirt, brim or raft on this stl

Postby ecocode » Wed Jan 03, 2018 10:59 am

here are the files :)
Attachments
BOL.zip
(3.58 MiB) Downloaded 11 times

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 3929
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: BUG? no skirt, brim or raft on this stl

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Thu Jan 04, 2018 6:07 am

Met the same bug with your .bin and .stl file.
Will pass to software team to debug the root cause.

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 3929
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: BUG? no skirt, brim or raft on this stl

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Fri Jan 05, 2018 3:26 am

Fixed with Check Thin Wall (Single Extrusion Width) under Other tab being enabled.
The first layer of the your model has too small touching surface, which may be ignored when slicing. So that the Raft cannot be generated properly based on the shape of the first layer.

BTW, I saw in your printing template that the layer height of the first layer is lower then general layer height. We will more recommend to set first layer height not smaller than general layer height or at least the same level.

ecocode
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2017 7:39 pm

Re: BUG? no skirt, brim or raft on this stl

Postby ecocode » Mon Jan 08, 2018 9:04 am

Thanks for your checkup and information!


Return to “Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests