startup issue with S3d gcode (Edit: appears to actually be random hanging)

Discussions about ideaMaker and other printing software.
Jab136
Posts: 160
Joined: Sun Jul 16, 2017 12:00 pm

startup issue with S3d gcode (Edit: appears to actually be random hanging)

Postby Jab136 » Tue Dec 12, 2017 1:06 pm

I am not sure if it an issue with my settings in s3d or my printer, but both nozzles and the build plate have been at temperature for several minutes, but the printer isn't doing anything. I am still getting used to S3d so it could just be my settings. anyone have any suggestions?
Last edited by Jab136 on Tue Dec 12, 2017 2:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Jab136
Posts: 160
Joined: Sun Jul 16, 2017 12:00 pm

Re: startup issue with S3d gcode

Postby Jab136 » Tue Dec 12, 2017 1:11 pm

Update, I tried pausing and resuming the print and that got it running, I am not sure what the issue was.

Jab136
Posts: 160
Joined: Sun Jul 16, 2017 12:00 pm

Re: startup issue with S3d gcode

Postby Jab136 » Tue Dec 12, 2017 1:58 pm

ok, this appears to be a more complex issue, because the printer just "hung" in the middle of the print. anyone else use S3d for slicing and have any suggestions?

Jab136
Posts: 160
Joined: Sun Jul 16, 2017 12:00 pm

Re: startup issue with S3d gcode (Edit: appears to actually be random hanging)

Postby Jab136 » Tue Dec 12, 2017 2:14 pm

I realized that it would probably be helpful to upload the gcode, so here it is.
Attachments
90 degree test.zip
(410.03 KiB) Downloaded 23 times

Rogman
Posts: 132
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2016 12:37 pm

Re: startup issue with S3d gcode (Edit: appears to actually be random hanging)

Postby Rogman » Tue Dec 12, 2017 4:26 pm

here is my old start-up G-code listed in the "scripts" tab under "Starting script"
Image
just make sure that the "M92 E140:140 M500" line is set to the e-steps your extruder uses, just replace the "140" with the extruder steps for yours. I think I got this start up from TrHuster. :D

Jab136
Posts: 160
Joined: Sun Jul 16, 2017 12:00 pm

Re: startup issue with S3d gcode (Edit: appears to actually be random hanging)

Postby Jab136 » Tue Dec 12, 2017 4:31 pm

Rogman wrote:here is my old start-up G-code listed in the "scripts" tab under "Starting script"
Image
just make sure that the "M92 E140:140 M500" line is set to the e-steps your extruder uses, just replace the "140" with the extruder steps for yours. I think I got this start up from TrHuster. :D

thanks, but it isn't just an issue with startup, during the print there were several more times where the printer just stopped printing, and the print head just sat there until I paused the print and re-started it

zemlin
Posts: 360
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2017 2:02 pm

Re: startup issue with S3d gcode (Edit: appears to actually be random hanging)

Postby zemlin » Tue Dec 12, 2017 6:03 pm

Are you running the printer from S3D (printer plugged into the computer - is this possible with an N2?), or uploading the G-Code and printing from the touch screen? I use Ideamaker to upload my S3D files to the printer and haven't had an issue.

If you are printing from USB or SD memory, it might be worth trying a different SD card or USB drive. Could be a read issue.

I have attached an FFF file from one of my recent prints. This was an ABS print regardless of what the material says in the profile. I ignore all that stuff and just set temps and speeds.
Attachments
ZemlinN2Plus.zip
(2.68 KiB) Downloaded 56 times

Jab136
Posts: 160
Joined: Sun Jul 16, 2017 12:00 pm

Re: startup issue with S3d gcode (Edit: appears to actually be random hanging)

Postby Jab136 » Tue Dec 12, 2017 6:06 pm

zemlin wrote:Are you running the printer from S3D (printer plugged into the computer - is this possible with an N2?), or uploading the G-Code and printing from the touch screen? I use Ideamaker to upload my S3D files to the printer and haven't had an issue.

If you are printing from USB or SD memory, it might be worth trying a different SD card or USB drive. Could be a read issue.

I have attached an FFF file from one of my recent prints. This was an ABS print regardless of what the material says in the profile. I ignore all that stuff and just set temps and speeds.

I am taking the gcode from S3D and opening it with Ideamaker and then uploading it directly to the printer, I will check your file in the morning.

zemlin
Posts: 360
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2017 2:02 pm

Re: startup issue with S3d gcode (Edit: appears to actually be random hanging)

Postby zemlin » Tue Dec 12, 2017 7:12 pm

My first attempt to run my N2+ from S3D using the S3D N2+ profile did not work. I don't recall the issue, but I don't think it started printing, same as you saw. I got an FFF from another user here and have made a few of my own changes to it. I've had no issues since.

Rogman
Posts: 132
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2016 12:37 pm

Re: startup issue with S3d gcode (Edit: appears to actually be random hanging)

Postby Rogman » Tue Dec 12, 2017 9:10 pm

also check the "advanced" tab make sure the "stop printing at height" tab is not checked. also throw the G-code on a usb and run it directly from printer and see if you have same problem.

Jab136
Posts: 160
Joined: Sun Jul 16, 2017 12:00 pm

Re: startup issue with S3d gcode (Edit: appears to actually be random hanging)

Postby Jab136 » Wed Dec 13, 2017 8:12 am

zemlin wrote:Are you running the printer from S3D (printer plugged into the computer - is this possible with an N2?), or uploading the G-Code and printing from the touch screen? I use Ideamaker to upload my S3D files to the printer and haven't had an issue.

If you are printing from USB or SD memory, it might be worth trying a different SD card or USB drive. Could be a read issue.

I have attached an FFF file from one of my recent prints. This was an ABS print regardless of what the material says in the profile. I ignore all that stuff and just set temps and speeds.

you printed ABS at 210 with a 65 degree buildplate? that sounds more like a PLA profile...

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 4297
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: startup issue with S3d gcode (Edit: appears to actually be random hanging)

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Wed Dec 13, 2017 8:58 am

It seems due to code M105. It should be related to Layer Change function. Please check Layer Change code and remove all the M105 and test one more time.

Jab136
Posts: 160
Joined: Sun Jul 16, 2017 12:00 pm

Re: startup issue with S3d gcode (Edit: appears to actually be random hanging)

Postby Jab136 » Wed Dec 13, 2017 9:44 am

Vicky@Raise3D wrote:It seems due to code M105. It should be related to Layer Change function. Please check Layer Change code and remove all the M105 and test one more time.

I think I found it, I had accidentally checked a box in the temperature tab to relay the temperature of one of the nozzles at layer change, but since the printer cannot connect directly to S3d that failed. Running a test in a few minutes.

Jab136
Posts: 160
Joined: Sun Jul 16, 2017 12:00 pm

Re: startup issue with S3d gcode (Edit: appears to actually be random hanging)

Postby Jab136 » Wed Dec 13, 2017 12:28 pm

nope, still randomly stopping for no apparent reason. I have no custom layer change script.

Edit: I actually screwed up unchecking that box (still getting used to S3d) it seems to be working now, it was just an issue with the temperature settings.

zemlin
Posts: 360
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2017 2:02 pm

Re: startup issue with S3d gcode (Edit: appears to actually be random hanging)

Postby zemlin » Wed Dec 13, 2017 2:12 pm

Jab136 wrote:you printed ABS at 210 with a 65 degree buildplate? that sounds more like a PLA profile...

Then I'm not sure what S3D exported. Those aren't even my go-to temps for PLA.

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 4297
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: startup issue with S3d gcode (Edit: appears to actually be random hanging)

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Thu Dec 14, 2017 1:34 am

I'm not sure the reason why, but in your gcode file I did see some M105 codes. With all M105 codes removed, the print completed without problem on our machine.
2.png
2.png (1.61 KiB) Viewed 1324 times
1.png
1.png (1.61 KiB) Viewed 1324 times

Attached one we remove the M105 for you as reference.
90 degree test-changed.zip
(416.71 KiB) Downloaded 41 times

Jab136
Posts: 160
Joined: Sun Jul 16, 2017 12:00 pm

Re: startup issue with S3d gcode (Edit: appears to actually be random hanging)

Postby Jab136 » Sun Dec 17, 2017 12:32 pm

Vicky@Raise3D wrote:I'm not sure the reason why, but in your gcode file I did see some M105 codes. With all M105 codes removed, the print completed without problem on our machine.
1.png
2.png

Attached one we remove the M105 for you as reference.
90 degree test-changed.zip

thanks, but I found the issue, it was related to S3d assuming that it would be connected to the printer and asking for the temperature of the nozzle between layers.

firesped
Posts: 853
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2016 9:23 pm
Location: Tucson, AZ

Re: startup issue with S3d gcode (Edit: appears to actually be random hanging)

Postby firesped » Sun Dec 17, 2017 1:22 pm

as best I can tell, because the raisetouch sent the M105 command. It got lost. M105 is going off all the time anyways. the raisetouch is streaming the gcode to the motion controller. the motion controller is sending feedback via the ok line to let the printer know where it is. since the printer has no way to tell that m105 from any other M105 that is already coming.

This is just my speculation. But there is no need to make the raisetouch detect this.
RL name: Michael Nolen
printers:
raise3D N2 kickstarter Early Bird
Trinus Deluxe (running smoothieware on Azteeg X5 GT board)
Monoprice Maker Select v2


Return to “Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests