Bugs in ideamaker 3.0.

Discussions about ideaMaker and other printing software.
Tinkerer
Posts: 175
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2017 8:30 pm
Location: Germany

Bugs in ideamaker 3.0.

Postby Tinkerer » Sun Dec 03, 2017 8:43 pm

Just wanted to start a thread with all the obvious bugs/problems in ideamaker 3 (some of them I have noticed already in earlier versions).
Instead of compiling an exhaustive list I just start with a few things that come up to my mind right away and
invite everyone to contribute.


1. Category: BUG?, Impact: impairs productivity, Severity: not critical
Transfer-rate to the printer degrades, slow, awfully slow, ridiculous.
As of now I get around 300kB/s transfer rates to my N2 most of times.
After a fresh start of the printer it's significantly faster.

2. Category: Not BUG - Feature, Impact: impairs productivity, Severity: not critical
After a print job is finished, the remote-control-feature within ideamaker hangs in
the following window:

One can only get away from that by going to the printer -
which admittedly is necessary anyway to take off the print;-)
[/color]


3. Category: Shortcoming, Impact: SW unusable for certain tasks, Severity: critical
Especially the "supports" function of ideamaker is really inferior.
As an example:
This is after automatic supports + some added manual supports
Bildschirmfoto 2017-12-03 um 21.30.00.png


This is the resulting print preview in ideamaker -
notice the supports that end "in the air"...
Bildschirmfoto 2017-12-03 um 21.31.14.png


For comparison, see the slicing-result in Cura:
Bildschirmfoto 2017-12-03 um 21.35.08.png


4. Category: Shortcoming; Impact: Printed Objects might be weaker than possible; Severity: critical
When slicing "things" with relatively small parts, one can observe that IM leaves areas unfilled.
Which leads to weak objects when printed.
This is the output of IdeaMaker:
IMG_4038.JPG

The same sliced in Cura:

IMG_4035.JPG
Last edited by Tinkerer on Sun Dec 10, 2017 9:37 pm, edited 3 times in total.
...there's nothing like the smell of fresh ABS in the morning...

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 2775
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: Bugs in ideamaker 3.0.

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Mon Dec 04, 2017 5:40 am

1. Normally under strong Wifi signal, the uploading speed is around 200Kb/s to 800 Kb/s when printer is at idle status. If during printing, the speed will be slower than this, since the storage has been occupied.
If the uploading speed is keeping on lower than 10Kb/s, then it should be some network or hardware problem.

2. It is designed to be that logic, not a bug. As the message said on this page, "Please take the model off the bed and press "Done" on the printer", you can only press "Done" at the printer side to ask the printer jump out from the printing status to idle status, then you can start another print with remote-control. Or we are afraid that someone may forget take the model off from the bed before remote starting a new project. It is really dangerous. So we'd like you to go to the printer side and check everything is well-completed, then press "Done" to start a new print.

3. We haven't met such problem before. Which version of ideaMaker are you using?
Is it possible for us to ask the STL, Gcode and data files of this model for testing?

Tinkerer
Posts: 175
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2017 8:30 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Bugs in ideamaker 3.0.

Postby Tinkerer » Mon Dec 04, 2017 9:45 pm

Hi Vicky,

okay, thanks for explanations.
Next time the network transfer speed degrades further I will take note and post
the really slow times;-)

Grayed out the "not bug" topics for now.

Reg. the funny support-thing:

I am using IdeaMaker 3.0.4.1390 on MacOS HighSierra (10.13.1).
Have not tried this with the older versions and have also not tried to print it to see
whether this is "just" a graphixs-problem.

I'll try to send you the files.

Note:
The model has been scaled to 200% in ideaMaker.

Btw.:
The Dual-Monitor-Bug (can not select models by mouse) is still there.
I recognized it only happens when ideaMaker is on the external monitor -
on the build in monitor (it's a MacBook Pro) it works.
Attachments
Bildschirmfoto 2017-12-04 um 22.36.32.png
...there's nothing like the smell of fresh ABS in the morning...

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 2775
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: Bugs in ideamaker 3.0.

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Tue Dec 05, 2017 4:20 am

Did you add the support before scale or after? If before scale, the support structure will still keep the quantity and size before scale. You need to create support based on the new scaled size one more time.

For the external monitor bug, we have not yet found out the root cause. So sorry about that.

Tinkerer
Posts: 175
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2017 8:30 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Bugs in ideamaker 3.0.

Postby Tinkerer » Tue Dec 05, 2017 11:14 am

Just checked.
I think the support was added before scaling, yes.
They look better when adding them after rescaling.

Always thought that a recalculation of the support takes place?
If not, why are there setting for the support in the slicing-preparation windows?

Reg. the external monitor thing:
It also works fine when putting the MacBook into clamshell-mode and then working on the external monitor.
You may would want to adress this from your side to apple.
Could be I am wrong but as far as I know from the past there are different ways to handle GUI-I/O within macOS.
...there's nothing like the smell of fresh ABS in the morning...

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 2775
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: Bugs in ideamaker 3.0.

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Wed Dec 06, 2017 5:47 am

We will consider to bring scaling the support structure together with model into reality in next version.

For the monitor, thanks for your information, we may need to test more.

Tinkerer
Posts: 175
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2017 8:30 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Bugs in ideamaker 3.0.

Postby Tinkerer » Wed Dec 06, 2017 7:59 pm

I'd say that's not critical - one just needs to know how it works.

What I feel increasingly critical is that one has to find out everything - be it the handling/maintenance of the printer or be it the handling of the software - by trial and error and/or asking "silly" questions.

Raise3D should really do something regarding the documentation of the N-Series Printers and the software!

It is some sort of annoying to have to dig through the depth of this forum and to ask questions on and on -
instead of reading a real manual or at least some up-to-date FAQ or Wiki.

I really appreciate the good and timely support you guys provide from Raise3D.
Good work and compliments for that.
But we all could save quite some time if we would be able to read real documentation/manuals...

You do have a lot of information available - please, take the time once to put it all together into one documentation.

It will save you a lot of time in the end and you can focus on the real problems and on the improvement of the system.
...there's nothing like the smell of fresh ABS in the morning...

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 2775
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: Bugs in ideamaker 3.0.

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Thu Dec 07, 2017 3:34 am

So sorry for the lack of documents. We are currently updating the ideaMaker User Manual from version 2.6 to version 3.0 to meet the official release of ideaMaker 3.0. Hope the updated manual can provide more help.

Tinkerer
Posts: 175
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2017 8:30 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Bugs in ideamaker 3.0.

Postby Tinkerer » Sun Dec 10, 2017 8:58 pm

Hope that manual contains a bit more information than the current one;-)
...there's nothing like the smell of fresh ABS in the morning...

Jab136
Posts: 93
Joined: Sun Jul 16, 2017 12:00 pm

Re: Bugs in ideamaker 3.0.

Postby Jab136 » Mon Dec 11, 2017 8:03 pm

bug that I found today while trying to fix an issue with dense support vertical offset (which could be it's own bug, but I made another thread about in printing settings) The indexing for layers in the Temperature settings tab starts at 1, but the indexing in the preview screen starts at 0, this can be worked around, but if indexing in other settings is also variable, then it could start to cause issues.

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 2775
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: Bugs in ideamaker 3.0.

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Thu Dec 14, 2017 1:27 am

If case anyone else has interest about this topic, further discussion is here: viewtopic.php?f=3&t=4154&p=22750#p22750

Tinkerer
Posts: 175
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2017 8:30 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Bugs in ideamaker 3.0.

Postby Tinkerer » Fri Dec 22, 2017 12:47 pm

Deleted - was a setting issue I resolved.
Last edited by Tinkerer on Fri Dec 22, 2017 5:52 pm, edited 5 times in total.
...there's nothing like the smell of fresh ABS in the morning...

Tinkerer
Posts: 175
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2017 8:30 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Bugs in ideamaker 3.0.

Postby Tinkerer » Fri Dec 22, 2017 5:46 pm

And here's a minor bug I just found.

Again, in ideaMaker Ver. 3.0.5.1438.

Bildschirmfoto 2017-12-22 um 18.38.40.png


In the dialog window it says:
Estimated Amount: 228.0g

In the top left info box it says: Left Filament 85.4g; Right Filament 131.1g.

Which sums up to 216.5 g.

You may say this is just an info, who cares.
But if you use this machine for commercial production (which I do not do yet, luckily), this information is crucial to calculate printing cost...
...there's nothing like the smell of fresh ABS in the morning...

User avatar
Casale8
Posts: 97
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2017 5:17 pm
Location: The Real Upstate New York

Re: Bugs in ideamaker 3.0.

Postby Casale8 » Fri Dec 22, 2017 7:06 pm

Tinkerer wrote:And here's a minor bug I just found.

Again, in ideaMaker Ver. 3.0.5.1438.

Bildschirmfoto 2017-12-22 um 18.38.40.png


In the dialog window it says:
Estimated Amount: 228.0g

In the top left info box it says: Left Filament 85.4g; Right Filament 131.1g.

Which sums up to 216.5 g.

You may say this is just an info, who cares.
But if you use this machine for commercial production (which I do not do yet, luckily), this information is crucial to calculate printing cost...


I have to respond to this. The estimated filament and/or time have not been accurate on any of my prints - prior to 3.0.

For anything over 24 hours, the time is noticeably an hour or so less than the estimated. And the material used is not even close to the amount estimated amount. Usually my prints take less... These are just for ballpark IMO.
-SCC
“One man's "magic" is another man's engineering. "Supernatural" is a null word.” -R.A.Heinlein

Tinkerer
Posts: 175
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2017 8:30 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Bugs in ideamaker 3.0.

Postby Tinkerer » Fri Dec 22, 2017 11:35 pm

Thanks for that insight, Casale8.

I thought so. I'd be okay with estimates "on the high side".

But it does not really add trust if the same program gives you two different estimates -
at least to my taste.
And - frankly spoken - it does leave some sort of feeling... about elaborateness of work...
But that might be some german thing again...
...there's nothing like the smell of fresh ABS in the morning...

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 2775
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: Bugs in ideamaker 3.0.

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Mon Dec 25, 2017 5:23 am

Tinkerer wrote:And here's a minor bug I just found.

Again, in ideaMaker Ver. 3.0.5.1438.

Bildschirmfoto 2017-12-22 um 18.38.40.png


In the dialog window it says:
Estimated Amount: 228.0g

In the top left info box it says: Left Filament 85.4g; Right Filament 131.1g.

Which sums up to 216.5 g.

You may say this is just an info, who cares.
But if you use this machine for commercial production (which I do not do yet, luckily), this information is crucial to calculate printing cost...


Never pay much attention to this section before.
Thanks for much for digging this out! Taken notes.


Return to “Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 6 guests