Simplify3D vs IdeaMaker3 - your opinion?

Discussions about ideaMaker and other printing software.
zemlin

Simplify3D vs IdeaMaker3 - your opinion?

Postby zemlin » Wed Nov 29, 2017 5:02 pm

I've been using S3D for my other printer for a couple years now ... so I'm quite familiar with it. So far I prefer S3D to IdeaMaker which I haven't used that much.

Familiarity is, no doubt, a large part of my preference.

We just picked up an N2 at work, and most of the folks who will be using it do not have 3D printing experience. I'd be interested in folks with more balanced experience with IdeaMaker, or perhaps more experience with IdeaMaker, regarding your opinion of the two programs. I have suggested we get S3D to use here, but if it's just my personal preference more than functionality, maybe we should just forge ahead with the IdeaMaker.

I won't contaminate the thread with the reasons for my preference at this point - I'd like to hear your opinions.

Thanks.

Michael.P@Raise3D

Re: Simplify3D vs IdeaMaker3 - your opinion?

Postby Michael.P@Raise3D » Wed Nov 29, 2017 6:09 pm

I believe that our community will be able to answer this best request best, I am not exactly a neutral voice in this matter. What I will say is that of all the slicers I have used on my other machines in the past I find that I can do a lot more with ideaMaker than I can with any other system (not including S3D, I dont use it).
Michael Petitclerc, Technician
Tel: +888 963 9028
Web: http://www.raise3d.com

jmp

Postby jmp » Thu Nov 30, 2017 1:26 pm

I have had S3D for over 4 years now and have used it on the Raise3D. IdeaMaker is actually a pretty good slicer. I find unless I am doing something pretty complicated that requires a specific feature of S3D I default to Ideamaker because it is both designed for the printer and the convenience of uploading straight from the program.
RL Name: Jason Preuss Thingiverse: JMP Youtube:http://youtube.com/c/patterntoprint Website: http://www.patterntoprint.com