Simplify3D Offset Issue

Discussions about ideaMaker and other printing software.
User avatar
rlballard
Posts: 181
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2016 2:07 pm

Simplify3D Offset Issue

Postby rlballard » Mon Mar 21, 2016 5:46 pm

I wanted to follow-up and thank everyone for their support on trying to resolve my raft offset issue. I received the tech report response this morning and wanted to pass it along to the group, I will try it tonight to see if and how well it solves the problem and report the findings...

Thank you for contacting Simplify3D support. I'd be happy to help with your Printer's toolhead offsets. We have many printers here in office that require toolhead offsets and have many users who've set their own custom toolhead offsets when the firmware values don't work and they don't want to reflash their firmware. To do this, in the Scripts tab of the G-code under the Starting G-code, you simply need to add the offset.

Assuming you have two toolheads, there is a T0 and T1 toolhead, these are their identifiers in the firmware. T0 should be your right extruder, this holds true for 95% of printers.

The first line M218 T0 X0 Y0 sets your right extruder(T0) as the origin, so that the second line M218 T1 X20 Y0; can be set for 20 mm offset in the X-direction. If you're interested in the subject, and would like more information, there's a great write up from MakerGear http://makergear.wikidot.com/dual#toc1

Please see the picture below for placing these two lines of G-Code into your Starting G-Code under the Scripts tab:

M218 T0 X0 Y0;
M218 T1 X20 Y0;

MikeWall
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2016 4:35 pm
Location: Las Vegas, NV

Re: Simplify3D Offset Issue

Postby MikeWall » Mon Mar 21, 2016 6:11 pm

@RL, I believe Raise3D's X offset is 25mm for right extruder.
And T0 is left extruder and T1 is right extruder, on Raise3d printers.
But please check with support@raise3d.com
N2 KS-Raise3d'er

User avatar
rlballard
Posts: 181
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2016 2:07 pm

Re: Simplify3D Offset Issue

Postby rlballard » Tue Mar 22, 2016 12:31 am

Well it may still be an issue I entered in the offset as recommended and the machine did not like that, I received a "Board Error Please Reset the Machine" ( See Picture) The Raise offset G-Code must must be different the what was given as:

Simplify3D:

Please see the picture below for placing these two lines of G-Code into your Starting G-Code under the Scripts tab:
M218 T0 X0 Y0;
M218 T1 X20 Y0;

Perhaps John may be able to shed some light on the start-up code....
Attachments
Board Error, N2.JPG

MikeWall
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2016 4:35 pm
Location: Las Vegas, NV

Re: Simplify3D Offset Issue

Postby MikeWall » Tue Mar 22, 2016 1:11 am

Incase you didn't know. to update firmware, you put the .firm file on a usb, plug it in the printer, and print it as if it were a print.
N2 KS-Raise3d'er

User avatar
Derek@Raise3D
Site Admin
Posts: 138
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2016 5:34 am

Re: Simplify3D Offset Issue

Postby Derek@Raise3D » Tue Mar 22, 2016 6:12 am

rlballard wrote:I wanted to follow-up and thank everyone for their support on trying to resolve my raft offset issue. I received the tech report response this morning and wanted to pass it along to the group, I will try it tonight to see if and how well it solves the problem and report the findings...

Thank you for contacting Simplify3D support. I'd be happy to help with your Printer's toolhead offsets. We have many printers here in office that require toolhead offsets and have many users who've set their own custom toolhead offsets when the firmware values don't work and they don't want to reflash their firmware. To do this, in the Scripts tab of the G-code under the Starting G-code, you simply need to add the offset.

Assuming you have two toolheads, there is a T0 and T1 toolhead, these are their identifiers in the firmware. T0 should be your right extruder, this holds true for 95% of printers.

The first line M218 T0 X0 Y0 sets your right extruder(T0) as the origin, so that the second line M218 T1 X20 Y0; can be set for 20 mm offset in the X-direction. If you're interested in the subject, and would like more information, there's a great write up from MakerGear http://makergear.wikidot.com/dual#toc1

Please see the picture below for placing these two lines of G-Code into your Starting G-Code under the Scripts tab:

M218 T0 X0 Y0;
M218 T1 X20 Y0;


Marlin doesn't directly support M218, so you need to mark the option 'Apply toolhead offsets to G-code coordinates.' to use dual extruder in S3D
Attachments
hardcoded-offset.png
=================
Derek@Raise3D.com
I'm a lazy engineer. So I want everything automated.
Image

User avatar
rlballard
Posts: 181
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2016 2:07 pm

Re: Simplify3D Offset Issue

Postby rlballard » Tue Mar 22, 2016 3:12 pm

Awesome, I will give it a shot tonight...
Thanks Derek

LonV
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2016 8:55 pm

Re: Simplify3D Offset Issue

Postby LonV » Tue Mar 22, 2016 10:11 pm

Hmm, I have another printer that uses Marlin and M218 works fine. What version of Marlin did you guys use for your firmware?

Sebastian
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 5:19 am

Re: Simplify3D Offset Issue

Postby Sebastian » Tue Mar 22, 2016 10:19 pm

My N2 ignores all lines with a ";" after the command. Try removing that.

User avatar
rlballard
Posts: 181
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2016 2:07 pm

Re: Simplify3D Offset Issue

Postby rlballard » Wed Mar 23, 2016 2:08 am

Derek,
You were 100% correct, checked the box, entered the offset and she printed like a charm...
Of course it took two tries to go in the right direction, we are there now and fully functional...
Thanks for the guidance!
Attachments
Alignment1.jpg
Alignment2.jpg

User avatar
rlballard
Posts: 181
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2016 2:07 pm

Re: Simplify3D Offset Issue

Postby rlballard » Wed Mar 23, 2016 2:11 am

Just an FYI, Tool Zero is set to +25.00

User avatar
Derek@Raise3D
Site Admin
Posts: 138
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2016 5:34 am

Re: Simplify3D Offset Issue

Postby Derek@Raise3D » Wed Mar 23, 2016 2:53 am

rlballard wrote:Just an FYI, Tool Zero is set to +25.00

You're welcome. However, I set mine with Tool 1 to +25 offset...
=================
Derek@Raise3D.com
I'm a lazy engineer. So I want everything automated.
Image

User avatar
Derek@Raise3D
Site Admin
Posts: 138
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2016 5:34 am

Re: Simplify3D Offset Issue

Postby Derek@Raise3D » Wed Mar 23, 2016 2:54 am

Sebastian wrote:My N2 ignores all lines with a ";" after the command. Try removing that.

There is some strange thing with certain S3D version. I guess should be some encoding or charset problem. Sometimes the comment works, sometimes not...
=================
Derek@Raise3D.com
I'm a lazy engineer. So I want everything automated.
Image

gyro
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2016 10:04 am
Location: Auckland NZ
Contact:

Re: Simplify3D Offset Issue

Postby gyro » Thu Mar 24, 2016 8:07 am

Hi Robert,
I have just printed my second test print since receiving my N2+ here in NZ.
I can't get Simply3D to communicate via a USB cable which I understand is it's on form of 2 way communication with a Mac, is that correct. Do you print via USB cable or from a memory stick?
Can you offer any advice please.

Also when I printed for the first and only time using S3D even though the model is placed in the centre of the bed it printed in the top right hand corner, hitting the side the top panel of the printer with the stepper motor and juddering as the motor stalled.
Do I need to add some code to give it it's correct start point, if so can you point me to some documentation.

Thanks in advance
Andrew Turney
Thanks in advance
Andrew@Gyro

www.gyro.co.nz

Sebastian
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 5:19 am

Re: Simplify3D Offset Issue

Postby Sebastian » Thu Mar 24, 2016 9:35 am

Hi Andrew,

you need to add some scripts to your profile. This is what I have right now:

Starting Script:

Code: Select all

; // Set extrusion factor for head 0 to 100%
M221 T0 S100
; // max accel print
M201 X1000 Y1000
; // max accel travel
M202 X1000 Y1000
; // default accel for normal moves
M204 S1000
; home all axes
G28
; move heatbed down a little before purging nozzle
G1 Z15.0 F9000.00
; zero extruder
G92 E0
; purge nozzle
G1 E25 F200
;move back to 0
G1 Z0 F130
; zero extruder
G92 E0
; Raise3D Job Start
M117 Printing...
M1001


Ending script:

Code: Select all

; Fan off
M107
; Raise3D job end
M1002
; // turn off extruder
M104 T0 S0
; // turn off extruder
M104 S0
; // turn off bed
M140 S0
; relative mode
G91
; lift 10mm
G1 Z10
; absolute mode
G90
; home X axis
G28 X0 Y0
; disable motors
M84
G90


The comments needed to be on a separate line for me, otherwise the entire command was ignored.

Jetguy
Posts: 1599
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 1:40 am

Deleted

Postby Jetguy » Thu Mar 24, 2016 1:38 pm

Deleted
Last edited by Jetguy on Thu Apr 07, 2016 5:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Jetguy
Posts: 1599
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 1:40 am

Deleted

Postby Jetguy » Thu Mar 24, 2016 2:24 pm

Deleted
Last edited by Jetguy on Thu Apr 07, 2016 5:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
rlballard
Posts: 181
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2016 2:07 pm

Re: Simplify3D Offset Issue

Postby rlballard » Thu Mar 24, 2016 6:13 pm

Simplify3D has gotten back to me with support on using the "Dual Extrusion Wizard". They created a profile for me and it works like a charm, so I am passing along to the users who are working with this package. I am enclosing the profile for your use...

From Simplify3D Tech Support:

Greetings!

Thank you for contacting the Simplify3D Support team. I would be glad to help you with this issue

I have attached Dual Extruder profile template. You could go to File > Import FFF and then Select profile in the Process Settings window. Once selected, update all the information for your printer such as Nozzle size, Bed Size, Firmware, Filament Diameter etc and Save as a New profile. You can also modify the Starting and Ending Scripts if required.

The Dual extrusion wizard should open when this profile is loaded.

~Simplify3D Support
Attachments
Dual Extruder Template.xml
(24.54 KiB) Downloaded 306 times

gyro
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2016 10:04 am
Location: Auckland NZ
Contact:

Re: Simplify3D Offset Issue

Postby gyro » Fri Mar 25, 2016 10:10 am

Thanks for the in depth answer to my question, it's much appreciated.
Beat Andrew

gyro
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2016 10:04 am
Location: Auckland NZ
Contact:

Re: Simplify3D Offset Issue

Postby gyro » Tue Mar 29, 2016 4:07 am

Hi there,
I'm not having any success with creating a profile that allows for the dual head offset, I have tried the <Dual_Extruder_Template.xml> that was posted but without success.
If anyone has a working template I can use for PLA printing it would be much appreciated. Ideally with the script that allow for purging both nozzles over the edge of the build plate.

Thanks in advance
Andrew@Gyro
Last edited by gyro on Tue Apr 05, 2016 9:28 am, edited 1 time in total.
Thanks in advance
Andrew@Gyro

www.gyro.co.nz

Jetguy
Posts: 1599
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 1:40 am

Deleted

Postby Jetguy » Tue Mar 29, 2016 2:56 pm

Deleted
Last edited by Jetguy on Thu Apr 07, 2016 5:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.


Return to “Printing Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests