IdeaMaker 2.5.1.785 - Change in startup Gcode?

Discussions about ideaMaker and other printing software.
shiftyjonno

IdeaMaker 2.5.1.785 - Change in startup Gcode?

Postby shiftyjonno » Fri Apr 14, 2017 1:42 pm

Newbie here with an N2+:

I noticed that when I upgraded Ideamaker to the latest version 2.5.1.785 that when I start a print the starting sequence is a little different.

On the previous version 2.5.0 before printing the extruder would home in on X0 / Y0, then home in on Z0 but would raise about 10mm just before the purge extrusion. Then the extruder would go to the start position of the print and then lower Z to the start layer height and start printing.

On version 2.5.1.785 after homing to X0 / Y0 then Z0 it no longer gives the extra 10mm before the purge extrusion. The purge extrusion commences and then goes straight to the print start position and starts printing at the layer height ...

This change in start up sequence came awfully close to the bed clips and would be possible to catch the extruder tip and cause some serious damage.
In a case where the heated bed may have warped or raised slightly, it would also be possible to hit the bed and cause damage.

My question is how can I revert back to the start up sequence that gave the extra 10mm or so before the purge extrusion / start print? ...
I haven't made any changes to the start Gcode since upgrading to the latest version, so I'm assming that something in Ideamaker has changed.
Can I assume that I can make a change to the start Gcode to add this feature? If so, how and what?

If there were ever any issues with extruder tip to bed heights, I'd prefer that it was immediately before printing rather than before the extruder moves over the bed and clips.

I am very new to 3d printing (this is my first 3d printer), so I'm still learning the basics ... If it is something so stupid basic that I'm missing, please feel free to not answer.

Kind regards
Jonno

Jetguy