First Layer Height not what I set - always 80% of layer height

Discussions about ideaMaker and other printing software.
ss1978
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2018 3:19 pm

First Layer Height not what I set - always 80% of layer height

Postby ss1978 » Tue Jan 22, 2019 1:22 pm

No matter what I set the "First Layer Height" setting to be, the gcode always outputs 80% of the "Layer Height". Why would that happen? I can't seem to find anything that over-rights the standard settings.

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 4815
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: First Layer Height not what I set - always 80% of layer height

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Wed Jan 23, 2019 4:59 am

Have you changed any settings in Per-group, Per-layer or filament override settings?
Would you like to share the gcode and data file with us to have a look?

ss1978
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2018 3:19 pm

Re: First Layer Height not what I set - always 80% of layer height

Postby ss1978 » Wed Jan 23, 2019 7:55 pm

I have not made any changes in the groups, layers, etc. Attached is the gcode and data files. Thanks.

I had to change the file extensions to .txt in order for them to upload. Not sure why the uploader would not accept the files with .gcode and .data extensions.
Attachments
Example data.txt
(31.58 KiB) Downloaded 9 times
Example Gcode.txt
(84.18 KiB) Downloaded 12 times

ss1978
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2018 3:19 pm

Re: First Layer Height not what I set - always 80% of layer height

Postby ss1978 » Wed Jan 23, 2019 7:58 pm

Also, here is the profile if needed.
Attachments
PROFILE-export.bin.zip
(10.48 KiB) Downloaded 4 times

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 4815
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: First Layer Height not what I set - always 80% of layer height

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Fri Jan 25, 2019 4:27 am

If the layer height of first layer is lower than 80% of general layer height, ideaMaker will adjust it to be 80% of general layer height.

ss1978
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2018 3:19 pm

Re: First Layer Height not what I set - always 80% of layer height

Postby ss1978 » Fri Feb 01, 2019 10:57 am

That seems an odd thing to lock down like that, perhaps a warning would suffice? I have tried to change it via layer settings and it works with one caveat - you must set both the LH and FLH to your desired lower first layer height in the profile and then use layer settings to change it to your desired LH after the first layer. If you have the LH and FLH set in the profile where FLH is less than 80% then it will be clamped at 80% by the software. If you try to change the FLH via the layer settings, it will not change.

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 4815
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: First Layer Height not what I set - always 80% of layer height

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Sat Feb 02, 2019 1:01 am

That should be a bug. We will see what is affecting that and debug it.


Return to “Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests